We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Promotion
Ranked #14 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for the first time on Jan 18th thru 21st and i highly recommend this place. the staff from the front desk Sara, housekeeping Jessica/Karen were so friendly and very helpful. I am planning on staying everytime i visit Gettysburg. I already made reservations at the end of March. The place is clean and the breakfast was good. Highly recommended. Thanks Keep up the great hospitality. See you soon

Jim

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It is always nice to know that we helped make your visit an enjoyable one. I will pass your kind words on to the staff. I am very proud of our staff. They take pride in their work and it shows. Thank you again for the review. We hope you will join us again if you have a chance to visit our beautiful little town in the future!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    139
    56
    26
    7
See reviews for
135
156
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg! I began staying there when it was the Holiday Inn. Since the switch to independent ownership, the 1863 Inn has done nothing but get better! I have never had a bad stay. The rooms are well kempt and the staff is outstanding from Housekeeping to the Front Desk. The Inn is located in a place that is within a short walking distance to the National Cemetery, the square, local shops and activities, as well as having a Freedom Transit stop located just outside. I gave the "restaurant" 5 stars, although it is only open for breakfast and is included in your stay. The selection is good - cold/hot cereals, breakfast sandwiches, hardboiled eggs, waffles, french toast, hot bisquits/sausage gravy, juices, coffee and tea! If you are a frequent visitor to Gettysburg, please be sure to sign up for the Loyaty program. It is outstanding and really makes frequent trips more affordable, which is what we are all looking for in this economy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoy your visits with us. We decided to drop the Holiday Inn franchise in 2009. We can now concentrate on exceeding the expectations of our guests! Our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a big hit. You mentioned our "Loyalty" Program. This program was put in place to show our appreciation to our repeat visitors. The savings are great! The location of the hotel can not be beat. You can park the car and walk to most of the attractions. The traffic and parkling in Gettysburg can be an issue at times. Thank you again for telling us about your stay. We hope you will continue to visit us!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This was my first visit to Gettysburg and thanks to 1863 it was an awesome experience even in the cold rain. The hotel was in a perfect location, has a wonderful, friendly staff, great prices, beautiful, clean, comfortable rooms. I will definitely join the loyalty program and will make this my hotel of choice on all oft upcoming visits!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We love hearing that our visitors want to come back to see us! Our "Loyalty Program" is great! Can't beat the savings. We have over 1700 members. We hope that you will be back to see us. It would be our pleasure! Have a wonderful Holiday season!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed here several times and I have always found it to be a very comfortable and convenient hotel within easy short walking distance to everything in Gettysburg. It is run more like a bed & breakfast as opposed to a hotel. That's a good thing. With an awesome breakfast included and free parking, the Inn of 1863 is my first choice for visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit! We certainly appreciate the wonderful comments! Our staff is very dedicated. They do a great job. We want all of our visitors to enjoy their time with us. We hope that you will come see us again if you are ever in the area. It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the review!

Happy Holidays!

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh. Scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I picked this hotel as I liked where it was in Gettysburg. Location wise it was a good choice. There's a good few restaurtants and places to get a drink nearby. There's also plenty of
tourist shops and a garage opposite to buy water etc.

The staff were very friendly and there's a buffet breakfast - I only popped in for coffee once but it looked fine.

There's coffee all day in the reception area

Plenty of parking at the near of the hotel (free)

I was a little worried about the double bed in the room as it was really squeeky when I first sat on it - but during the nite it was fine - and I got a good sleep

Good value. I would stay here again



.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We love to hear that our guests are happy! We hope that you will visit us again if you are back in this area. It would be our pleasure! Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at 1863 Inn during our first trip to Gettysburg in July. It also coincided with the 149th anniversary of the battle. The room was comfortable for a family of four, with large a bathroom which was really handy. The swimming pool was wonderful, especially if you want to cool off after a days sightseeing. Plenty of parking space and friendly front office staff. The position of this hotel could not be better, right in the middle of town. This made it really easy to access the shops, museums and restaurants all by foot. The breakfast was ok, but we weren't expecting a five star breakfast anyway, just enough to start us off in the morning. The room wasn't noisy, as we had a room at the back of the hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel, and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: High floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our goal is to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. I will pass your comments along to the staff. It is nice to know that their hard work is noticed! We hope that you will stop to see us again if you are back this way! It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the review. Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We primarily selected this hotel because of it's proximity to both the Gettysburg Battlefield and the town itself and were not disappointed. Given the downtown location the large car park was welcome.
The hotel itself is a little tired and in need of some upgrading. However, the front desk service was friendly, helpful and efficient, and our room was comfortable and clean.
The self-service breakfast room was a little over-crowded at the peak time, although we managed to find an adjacent overspill area. The breakfast fare was fairly basic but perfectly adequate, and in keeping with what we found at several other motels during this US trip.
Considering everything, I feel the price was a little on the high side; however, the town seemed very busy and I suspect this was a peak time for tourism.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your visit with us. We were happy to see that your room was clean and you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass your comments along to our Housekeeping and Front Desk staff. Our rates are higher during our peak season. The rates normally drop around the middle of November thru March except for any special event week ends. Our Maintenance Crew does a wonderful job when it comes to the appearance of the building and the grounds. It is very difficult to do major renovations during our busy time. Those projects are usually done in the off season. Every Winter we deep clean each room as well as the public areas. Gettysburg slows down in the Winter but we are kept very busy sprucing things up for the upcoming busy season! The end result is well worth it-fresh and shiny for our visitors the next year. Thank you again for the review. I hope you will be able to visit with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn
Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.