We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This was my first visit to Gettysburg and thanks to 1863 it was an awesome experience even in the cold rain. The hotel was in a perfect location, has a wonderful, friendly staff, great prices, beautiful, clean, comfortable rooms. I will definitely join the loyalty program and will make this my hotel of choice on all oft upcoming visits!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We love hearing that our visitors want to come back to see us! Our "Loyalty Program" is great! Can't beat the savings. We have over 1700 members. We hope that you will be back to see us. It would be our pleasure! Have a wonderful Holiday season!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    160
    68
    27
    6
See reviews for
161
182
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed here several times and I have always found it to be a very comfortable and convenient hotel within easy short walking distance to everything in Gettysburg. It is run more like a bed & breakfast as opposed to a hotel. That's a good thing. With an awesome breakfast included and free parking, the Inn of 1863 is my first choice for visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit! We certainly appreciate the wonderful comments! Our staff is very dedicated. They do a great job. We want all of our visitors to enjoy their time with us. We hope that you will come see us again if you are ever in the area. It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the review!

Happy Holidays!

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh. Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I picked this hotel as I liked where it was in Gettysburg. Location wise it was a good choice. There's a good few restaurtants and places to get a drink nearby. There's also plenty of
tourist shops and a garage opposite to buy water etc.

The staff were very friendly and there's a buffet breakfast - I only popped in for coffee once but it looked fine.

There's coffee all day in the reception area

Plenty of parking at the near of the hotel (free)

I was a little worried about the double bed in the room as it was really squeeky when I first sat on it - but during the nite it was fine - and I got a good sleep

Good value. I would stay here again



.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We love to hear that our guests are happy! We hope that you will visit us again if you are back in this area. It would be our pleasure! Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at 1863 Inn during our first trip to Gettysburg in July. It also coincided with the 149th anniversary of the battle. The room was comfortable for a family of four, with large a bathroom which was really handy. The swimming pool was wonderful, especially if you want to cool off after a days sightseeing. Plenty of parking space and friendly front office staff. The position of this hotel could not be better, right in the middle of town. This made it really easy to access the shops, museums and restaurants all by foot. The breakfast was ok, but we weren't expecting a five star breakfast anyway, just enough to start us off in the morning. The room wasn't noisy, as we had a room at the back of the hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel, and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: High floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our goal is to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. I will pass your comments along to the staff. It is nice to know that their hard work is noticed! We hope that you will stop to see us again if you are back this way! It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the review. Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We primarily selected this hotel because of it's proximity to both the Gettysburg Battlefield and the town itself and were not disappointed. Given the downtown location the large car park was welcome.
The hotel itself is a little tired and in need of some upgrading. However, the front desk service was friendly, helpful and efficient, and our room was comfortable and clean.
The self-service breakfast room was a little over-crowded at the peak time, although we managed to find an adjacent overspill area. The breakfast fare was fairly basic but perfectly adequate, and in keeping with what we found at several other motels during this US trip.
Considering everything, I feel the price was a little on the high side; however, the town seemed very busy and I suspect this was a peak time for tourism.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your visit with us. We were happy to see that your room was clean and you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass your comments along to our Housekeeping and Front Desk staff. Our rates are higher during our peak season. The rates normally drop around the middle of November thru March except for any special event week ends. Our Maintenance Crew does a wonderful job when it comes to the appearance of the building and the grounds. It is very difficult to do major renovations during our busy time. Those projects are usually done in the off season. Every Winter we deep clean each room as well as the public areas. Gettysburg slows down in the Winter but we are kept very busy sprucing things up for the upcoming busy season! The end result is well worth it-fresh and shiny for our visitors the next year. Thank you again for the review. I hope you will be able to visit with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

As always staying in the 1863 inn was a pleasure. The staff is friendly and couteous,the room was very clean and you can't beat the location in town able to walk to all the shops in the square and surrounding. Another pleasant expierance at the 1863 inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We certainly appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoy your visits with us. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable room at a resonable rate. Our location is great and the staff is wonderful. They are always there to help make your stay an enjoyable one. We hope that you will come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure. Have a wonderful Holiday Season. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the first time that we have stayed in town when we have come to Gettysburg. We were thinking that becuase of it being the off-season for them that it would be a diffrent experence. Such as lack of making sure everything is top knoch Boy were we wrong! First it is in a great location for walking to almost ALL of of the shopping. The rooms were very clean! I am very picky with this issue. To the point that I will actually take all the covers off the beds and look for what I call "Ickys" I totally am grossed out by others hairs ect. NOTHING! not one! We were blown away. You could tell the linens were fresh as they had creases in the sheets still. Staff was very frendly and opening. Breakfast was delish, so many things to choose from. I could keep going on and on how good this hotel is. We will def be using that membership in the future. No more staying out of town for us.

Room Tip: It depends on how much noise bugs you. The street is a little noisy, but dies down. Its more the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit! We are glad that you enjoyed it! Our housekeeping staff does a wonderful job. They take pride in this hotel and it shows. I will make sure that they know how pleased you were with the cleanliness of the room. Our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast offers a great variety. There is something for everyone. I am glad that you joined our Loyalty Program! It provides our repeat guests with a huge savings and there are no black out dates! Thank you again for the wonderful review! It is nice to know that we have a happy customer that wants to keep coming back to visit us! Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.