We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Gettysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Special
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Tiltonsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay in Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

This was the third stay in 2010, never stay anywhere else. Our family always has a good stay here, the rooms are clean and staff friendly. My daughter LOVES the pool. Location is in the center of everything, walking distance to fantastic restaurants, Ghost Walks, Attractions and shopping. . First trip reservations made for May. Staff is welcoming and go out of their way to help you in any way how they can. Worth the money, WELL worth the money. Stay here you will NOT be disappointed. Alicia and Sarah at the front desk are the tops!!!!!!! Their management really trains the staff well in hospitality, guests really are first. Perfect place for families, couples or business.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review you gave us! We are very proud of this hotel. The staff does everything they can to make sure that every guest feels like family! We want all of our visitors to enjoy their stay. Our rooms are nicely furnished and equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards and a coffee maker. The pool is a big hit after a day of touring the beautiful Gettysburg Battlefield! Our FREE "Rise and Shine" breakfast is a favorite! You cannot beat the location! Park the car and walk to most of the attractions! We are honored that you have decided to stay with us on your future visits! It is our pleasure to have you for our guests! We look forward to seeing you soon!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    169
    69
    27
    6
See reviews for
170
195
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Only place we stay in gettysburg,great central location,friendly staff,clean rooms,couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate your loyalty. Our staff has one goal and that is to make sure that every guest has a great experience! We realize that you have many options available to you when it comes to lodging in Gettysburg and we are so glad that you come back to visit us! If you have not yet joined our "Loyalty Program" for repeat guests you may want to do that on your next visit! Great savings!! Thank you again for your patronage! It is an honor having you with us!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I have nothing but good words to say about the Inn. The hotel itself is centrally located in the heart of Gettysburg and many attractions are within walking distance. There is ample parking in the rear of the building, so it's great to be in town and yet not have to worry about parking. We traveled here in the middle of the week and during the off season, but still were quite impressed with the rate. We planned to spend more per night and were thrilled to be below budget. I was impressed with our room, which was neat as a pin and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and quite clean. We enjoyed using the in-room coffee maker, ironing board, and hair dryer. Also, there was a mini-fridge which we found useful. Our bed was very comfortable and we found extra pillows stashed in a dresser drawer so we had no problems sleeping. I found our room to be quiet and we could not hear anyone else. Our room faced the back of the building so there was no noise from the main street. Finally, the breakfast is impressive with many items. Although it does not apply to me, I was happy to see that pets are welcome. Overall, a great inn for a great price! We shall return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted regarding your stay with us in March. We take great pride in this hotel. Our goal is to make sure that each visitor has an enjoyable stay. The housekeeping staff does an awesome job! Our FREE "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a wonderful way to start your day! We offer a nice variety of hot and cold items. The location of the hotel cannot be beat! Park the car and walk to most of the major attractions. We realize that you have many lodging options in Gettysburg and appreciate your patronage! We hope that you will visit us in the future! If you do visit us again you may want to ask about our Loyalty Program for repeat guests! Great savings!
Thank you again! Have a wonderful Summer!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The 1863 Inn of Gettysburg is where i stay almost everytime i come to Gettysburg.Hotel is nice and clean and serviced daily.which is always a plus to have a clean room/hotel.The people are always friendly and kind hearted and always willing to answer any questions u may have on gettysburg during your stay.We love the location it is on one of the main streets in Gettysburg which makes it a plus because it helps your sense of direction better.1863 inn of Gettysburg is a "great escape" in its own words its nice,clean,and pretty cheap.Its a great getaway for anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Thank you so much for the great review! We realize that there are many lodging options in Gettysburg and many of them are well known chains. We appreciate your loyalty and hope that you will continue to visit with us! We are very proud of our hotel. The staff works very hard to keep up with the bigger names! Our main concern is to make sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay. Thank you again for the wonderful comments! It is a pleasure to have you as our guest!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I love Gettysburg and this hotel is in a perfect location, the room was very nice and we would stay here again but next time I'll have to be sure to bring earplugs due to the fact that whoever the brilliant person was, that built this hotel did not soundproof the rooms at all. We were on the first floor and we heard the people above us as if they were in the same room. We heard every word, every step and ahem, unfortunately alot of other things that even with the tv turned up, we heard.. we are still disturbed...I probably got about 4 hrs sleep per night which doesn't make for a good vacation. The beds also were not very comfy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I do apologize for the sleepless nights. The room you reserved is located in our Annex Building which is connected to the main building. That building is stick built, unlike the main building which is poured concrete. When the building was built it was built according to code with the proper insulation and sound proofing applied. On your next visit you may want to request a room in the main building. The rooms in the Annex Building are very nice-new carpet, bedding and a refrigerator in each room. We have guests that request those rooms every time they visit. Due to your comments we will check into having more sound proofing put in that building. We now realize that it is an issue for some guests and will do everything we can to correct it. Again, I apologize. I checked the Front Desk Log and noticed that nothing was reported to the Front Desk. If you have any problems while you visit with us please report it to the Front Desk. We will do everything we can to correct the situation. I was very happy to see that the room was otherwise satisfactory. You are right-our location can't be beat! We take pride in our hotel and do our best to make sure that every visitor has an enjoyable stay. If you do decide to visit us in the future-which I sincerely hope you do-please feel free to call me direct on our toll free number-1-866-953-4483. I will be happy to reserve a room for you in the main building. We appreciate the feed back. It helps us improve our service.

Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed two nights in late February and the hotel was nearly empty. It is a basic motel with exterior entrances and very basic accomodations. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was in good shape. The staff were nice and helpful and breakfast was available. The location is good - walking distance to the battlefield and the town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review you posted regarding your stay with us this past February. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit! February is a very slow time here in Gettysburg. That is the time of the year when we do our deep cleaning and catch up on things that we really don't have time to do in peak season. We are very proud of our hotel. We were a Holiday Inn until May of 2009. We decided to drop the franchise. But we still offer all the extra's of a name brand hotel. All rooms are equipped with an iron and ironing board, coffee maker and hair dryer. We also have a fitness room and guest laundry on site as well as an outdoor pool!! Each room has high speed internet service as well. Our FREE "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is always a hit!! The location is wonderful-within walking distance to most of the attractions and only 1 mile from the new Visitors center. I do hope that you will visit with us in the future. You may want to ask about our "Loyalty" Program for repeat guests! Great savings!! Thank you again! Have a wonderful Summer!!

Norma Herring
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

we had booked a trip last October to Gettysburg and due to unfortunate circumstances we had to cancel the trip on the same day we were due to arrive. When i called the internet site i used to book the trip, they put me on hold to contact the hotel and explain our situation as to why we were canceling on the same day. Needless to say we were fully refunded for our trip and the hotel did not charge us any sort of fee to do so. We are planning a re-do, so to speak, of our trip but unfortunately we will not be staying at the 1863 Inn because of budgetary circumstances. Maybe one day in the future we can book our stay with them as i was looking forward to do so back in October. I wish i got the person's name who so generously did not charge us a cancellation fee but i was so thankful that i forgot to ask. I just know that it was greatly appreciated and very professional of them.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
I am so glad that we were able to help you out when you had to cancel your reservation. I am so sorry that you were not able to visit with us. I do hope that you will be able to stay with us at some time in the future. We are very proud of our property and take great pride in providing each guest with an enjoyable stay. It will soon be 2 years that we decided to drop the Holiday Inn franchise. I know that people can be very hesitant when it comes to staying at a non-franchise property but we do everything possible to make sure that we exceed each guests expectations. Our rooms are equipped with the same goodies that those big name hotels offer-hair dryer-iron and ironing boards-coffee makers-free internet service. We can also provide any toiletry items that you may have forgotten such as shampoo-toothpast-toothbrushes-shaving creame. Located on site we have a Fitness Room and Guest Laundry as well as a beautiful outdoor pool. The location cannot be beat-within walking distance to most attractions and only 1 mile from the new National Park Visitors Center. And the FREE "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a great way to start your day!! I do hope that you will plan a trip to our beautiful little town soon. Please feel free to call us at our toll free number if you are interested in staying with us-1-866-953-4483. It will be our pleasure to assist you!!

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.