We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temperature controls were impossible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Temperature controls were impossible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The rooms were clean and reasonably comfortable, with the exception of the temperature. The room had not been heated when we checked in, and the hallway was cold as well. It was impossible to heat the room without adjusting all settings to the highest levels. After a couple of hours, the room became overheated. Turning the temperature down even a little eventually led to a return to the cold temperatures. The only way to get the temperature right is to get up every few hours to change it.
The breakfast buffet is uninspired and pretty tasteless. The location is near the highway, away from the attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymont47614, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all comments. Recently we switched brands to a Baymont Inn & Suites. We are happy you were happy with your room except for the heater controls. We are unhappy and sorry to hear that the heater you had problems controling the temperature. The hotel is in the process of updating all guest rooms to newer heaters. Thank you for your comments and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    81
    68
    36
    46
See reviews for
118
92
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The first room they gave us did not have heat and we promptly got a new room. The new room was dusty,smelled bad and had black mold around the tub and bathroom nobs.. Quite gross.
We stayed because we had gather hear with friends for a wedding in the area.
I would not ever stay here again if it was warm I would of slept in my car!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Comfort Inn was clean.

The front desk staff was accommodating to change our room from handicapped to regular.

That being said, the Inn needs to be refurbished. The fan in both bathrooms was noisy. Lampshades were cracked or water-marked. Front lobby was chilly. Breakfast was so-so. The HV/AC wall unit threw out cold air along with the warm. Toilet labored to flush.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel offered a great location, close to attractions, dining, etc. Check in was 3pm, but my traveling companion and I arrived 3 hours early from another location. Michelle was kind enough to check us in at that time, our room was ready without any wait. Clean rooms, great breakfast choices. Just be careful of all the state and city taxes that are added to your bill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I like to say that this is an Comfort Inn which is pretty much average accommodations. We stayed with our dog also over at the Super 8 which is probably a notch above, but pretty much the same type of chain type accommodations. There are better stays in Gettysburg, but they are dog friendly so we are limited b/c of this. The location is a short drive from town and close to US 15 and some budget shopping (Walmart for eg.). The place seems fairly clean, no bugs i.e. but our room had some musty? Odor but we always bring a Febreze spray and the ventilation we always put on 'constant', so within 10 minutes !viola! the smell is gone. Nice modestly large screen 42"? TV. The breakfast offering is standard or meh, has the waffles you can make, scrambled eggs were watery, good yogurt, muffins and juices (coffee was bland). Staff is average not rude, but not overly friendly. We asked for a late checkout @12 noon w/no problem. Recommended only if you have a pooch (charge is $20 per, Super 8 is $10 and it's next door same area). A 2-2.5 star hotel max.

Room Tip: Dog friendly, one or two nights max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Address: 871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gettysburg
Comfort Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.