We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It's Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Comfort Inn was clean.

The front desk staff was accommodating to change our room from handicapped to regular.

That being said, the Inn needs to be refurbished. The fan in both bathrooms was noisy. Lampshades were cracked or water-marked. Front lobby was chilly. Breakfast was so-so. The HV/AC wall unit threw out cold air along with the warm. Toilet labored to flush.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    68
    56
    30
    41
See reviews for
99
83
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dumont, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel offered a great location, close to attractions, dining, etc. Check in was 3pm, but my traveling companion and I arrived 3 hours early from another location. Michelle was kind enough to check us in at that time, our room was ready without any wait. Clean rooms, great breakfast choices. Just be careful of all the state and city taxes that are added to your bill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I like to say that this is an Comfort Inn which is pretty much average accommodations. We stayed with our dog also over at the Super 8 which is probably a notch above, but pretty much the same type of chain type accommodations. There are better stays in Gettysburg, but they are dog friendly so we are limited b/c of this. The location is a short drive from town and close to US 15 and some budget shopping (Walmart for eg.). The place seems fairly clean, no bugs i.e. but our room had some musty? Odor but we always bring a Febreze spray and the ventilation we always put on 'constant', so within 10 minutes !viola! the smell is gone. Nice modestly large screen 42"? TV. The breakfast offering is standard or meh, has the waffles you can make, scrambled eggs were watery, good yogurt, muffins and juices (coffee was bland). Staff is average not rude, but not overly friendly. We asked for a late checkout @12 noon w/no problem. Recommended only if you have a pooch (charge is $20 per, Super 8 is $10 and it's next door same area). A 2-2.5 star hotel max.

Room Tip: Dog friendly, one or two nights max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

As a Choice Privileges member, my wife and I try to stay at Choice properties no matter where we go. Well, this was our second stay at this particular property and will certainly be our last. The last time we stayed here, we thought it was pretty average and left a lot to be desired - but, this time was just too awful to give them yet another chance. Here are the issues we've experienced: During our first stay, there was a maintenance company there for several days replacing carpeting and such in one of the rooms which was right by a side exit door. There was constantly a mess in the hallway between their equipment sitting around, their workers standing around, and the dirt/debris from their work. This time, that side exit door didn't lock (it didn't require your room card to be swiped) and seemed to have some kind of small electrical box just dangling on the inside of the door. Way to not make your customers feel safe and secure when they have rooms near that door. The staff hovers around the side exit door smoking cigarettes so that entire hallway always reeks like stale cigarette smoke (which says a lot coming from a smoker). On this visit, the front desk staff staff was rude and made me feel as though I was bothering him or impeding on his "private time" just to get checked-in. He told me that the room that I booked online - which was a handicapped accessible room - was no longer available due to "plumbing problems" so he had to switch us to a room with two queen beds vs. one king bed. He never even asked if there was anyone handicapped in our party! Holy cow! While our room looked and smelled clean upon first opening the door, that quickly faded away once we walked into the room and stepped in a big sticky spot on the carpeting, the bathroom light was very, very dim and took ages to get "warmed up" enough to even be able to see inside of the shower, there was mold to be found in almost every corner of the bathroom walls/ceilings, we were lucky if the toilet successfully flushed down toilet paper 50% of the time and the bathroom "fan" (if you want to call it that) which automatically came on along with the light had no plate around it so you could look right up into the ceiling where gigantic dirt and dust balls were just waiting to fall out. That was just creepy in and of itself. Last but not least, ceilings and walls must be pretty darn thin because it sounded like elephants were surrounding us during our whole stay and we really LOVED the constant machine gun sound of the janitorial cart that the cleaning crew pushed up and down the hallways at the crack of dawn! Did we complain to the front desk about any of this stuff? Nope, why bother? Not only was the front desk staff terrible, but we'll certainly never be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in a room with our family of 5 in room 243. I was concerned because we booked this hotel before seeing the reviews mentioning bed bugs. I did revise my reservation to say that we would be checking for that beforehand and there was no evidence of bed bugs in our room. We did see two stink bugs, but that is common in this area and difficult to completely eliminate.

Our room was comfortable and clean. I liked the decor - dark red, rich brown furniture, plush chairs, wall mount flat screen TV. It also had a large refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and blow dryer. The only problem with the room was a noisy refrigerator that made a clicking sound all the time, but we kept the air conditioner on and that white noise drowned out the sound. The sink was not in the bathroom, which was nice for putting on makeup while someone else could be showering. However, it made the bathroom really small so there wasn't much room for changing in private.

Although most of the exterior doors opened with your room key card, the door by our room was broken, so anyone could have entered/exited through here. It was not a concern for us, but I could see where it might be for another guest.

There is an exercise room, an indoor pool and a hot tub. The kids took advantage of the pool - it had WAY too much chlorine (could smell it from anywhere in the hotel), but the kids enjoyed it.

When we asked for additional towels, the staff quickly responded. The breakfast was kept well stocked with items like waffles, sausage, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries and cereals. The seating area was too small for the amount of people staying at the hotel so we waited until close to the end of breakfast and found seating then.

The hotel is not right in the town of Gettysburg, but is only a 5 minute drive to the town center.

I would have stayed somewhere else if the hotels hadn't been filled by the time we booked, but we found the stay adequate for our needs.

Room Tip: quiet on the back side of top floor - rooms 230 and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clatskanie OR
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Because of the apple festival the rates of the rooms were high. It was not our first choice but chose it for the name. It was OK, your typical Comfort Inn. The breakfast was outstanding with sausage and eggs for hot items as well as all the typical buffet items. The breakfast room is in the lobby of the hotel. We spent time visiting Gettysburg and the apple festival so was not in the room that much. The new lady at the desk was not much help with the apple festival driving direction, etc. and the bus schedule to Gettysburg Information Center which I think the staff should know this information as it would be a typical question.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My daughter's class stayed here for one night on a field trip. Many kids woke up with bites and rashes the next morning. One student found a bug and the Science teacher chaperoning the trip confirmed it was a bed bug! My daughter's room didn't appear to have bed bugs, but it had several large beetles (alive and dead) and she said their room was dark, musty and it had a moldy shower. One of the beetles was crawling up the wall in the morning! It was the size of a quarter!

When the class returned from the trip, we were given bags to put all their clothing and suitcases in. Had to wash everything in hot water and dry on hot for 2 hrs!

Contacted Choice Hotels, who referred my complaint to the manager of the hotel. I have received NO RESPONSE!! Called the Health Dept and was told they have no jurisdiction over bed bugs since they don't spread disease!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Address: 871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gettysburg
Comfort Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.