We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for just one night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
West Bath, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok for just one night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

When entering this hotel I could immediately smell the mildew, but we had been traveling all day and were very tired so we let it go. The room was ok, definitely needs a renovation though. The AC unit was the only bad thing with the room, it had mold on it as well as in the window above it. The worst part of our stay was the pool. As soon as you walked it you could see mold everwhere and condensation was dripping from the ceiling. It was like it was raining inside the room, all the pool furniture was soaked so you couldn't sit without wiping them down. My friends just wanted to go in the hot tub, but upon closer inspection we found a used band-aid floating in the water. This hotel in conviently located near shops and restaurants, but if you are staying long term I would look elsewhere. Also when we arrived there was nobody at the desk, we waited for awhile before we saw a sign and number to call. The girl was outside smoking and took her time coming in to help us. We also went to the desk to get more towels and again the girl was outside smoking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. I am very sorry for the problems with the pool area. We remodeled the pool area in March 2013. There appeared to be a problem with our Desert Aire system to remove condensation and the company that repaired it was having problems finding the parts so it took a while. Our guests did not want the pool shut down so we kept it open until the parts arrived, since we had the only usable pool out of the three hotels in this area. Then we shut it down for two weeks to remodel and repair. I am also sorry for the staff member who was working during that time. She was new and is no longer with us. Our staff is trained to put the guests first and be professional. Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future so you can check out the changes in the pool area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    42
    19
    32
See reviews for
78
64
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We only had a chance to stay just one night here at the Comfort Inn. While it is a simple, out of the way, standard type hotel - great for skiers or history buffs taking advantage of the local culture and fun - it was well worth the cost for the night.

The room was nice with good beds and great cable options. The property has a nice little indoor pool and hot tub. The breakfast in the morning was just about perfect.

This pet friendly hotel went out of their way to reassure me my pet would be ok in the room, despite his initial barking. "That happens all the time, your baby will calm down." I offered to stay back and let my friend go to ski for the day but the staff at the Comfort insisted I go as planned. "We will call you if we need to. No one has checked in down that hall yet...etc."

They were great. I suppose you can go wrong with this hotel for the simple ammenities offered, they blew me away.

Room Tip: Ask for something at the end of the hallway if you have a traveling pet. Less noise to disturbe your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I'd like to thank you for your great comments regarding the staff. As a pet friendly hotel we try to treat your pets like they are ours too. Most of the staff have pets and we are one of the few hotels in Gettysburg that have pet friendly rooms. We are happy you thought our staff was super friendly. We undergo continous training on improving guest services. Our breakfast is the new improved "Your Morning Breakfast' through Choice Hotels and we have had nothing but great comments about it. Thank you again for your nice comments and we look forward to having you and your precious pet back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel seems old but rooms are ok... They should fix the ac unit in the room... Even when turn off works on and off and very noisy... Water noise and fan doesn't stop!!! Tried to unplug it but cable is fixed too strongly to the wall...

The shower head was also defective...

There was a nice huge flat screen tv and good wifi Internet...

Fridge and microwave in room and big spacious king bed room...

Service was good, breakfast was decent...

Not the best Comfort Inn I've been to but not the worst either... Looks more like a Quality Inn....

Good for one night when travelling...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments regarding the hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed our new 32 inch flat screen televisions and new high speed internet access. We just upgraded our internet to the best we could find with a new provider who has been awesome at providing guest service for some guests that are not so computer literate.Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

too many sports teams staying on weekends. these children are un supervised many times roaming hotel and pool area. Good lodging if no youth teams are staying. The kids where loud, cramming into hot tub, one even had on a diaper. The parent need to really supervise the kids and respect the peace other adults are seeking after 8:30 pm. On short they need a quiet hour and no kids in spa area after a certain hour. The staff told me some folks just let the kids run wild while the adults go eat and get drunk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately there are probably 5 weekends a year we have soccer/baseball groups at the hotel. These groups are to be supervised. We have drawn up a contract for sports teams to read and obey during their time here to eliminate any future problems. Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean and safe hotel please don't stay here. The pool and pool area is disgusting! Mold all over, debris floating in the pool. Rooms probably had a recent remodel/revamp, but the bathroom sink water lines were reversed and after using the bathroom I burned my hands. As if our nights rest wasn't bad enough, we were approached by the staff member on duty and were asked about our service. Upon our conversation the staff member began to escalate a hostile situation and she promptly called the law authority. Staff member continued to verbally assault us. We were very glad to leave and I will be finding a place to post the absolutely disgusting and horrid pictures of the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. Unfortunately you neglected to mention the pool area was under renovation. The pool area floor was just painted and the filters were cleaned that day.. Processes of working on the renovation can only be done a section at a time. You failed to take a picture of the note posted at the front desk. The pool is now completed and the spa is being painted. Instead of the front desk assaulting you she was the one who called the police on you for verbally assaulting her and causing a scene in the lobby disrupting guests. Everything is on camera plus we have the names of the five people in the lobby when this transferred. Unfortunately due to this incident and the police report you are never to return to this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently ran a band festival in the area which included 137 students. I chose to stay at this hotel because the group price they quoted couldn't be beat! In addition, throughout the entire process the managers were extremely cooperative and organized which made my job a lot easier. And during our stay, the hotel was clean plus when all of those kids came down for breakfast, there was plenty of food ready for everyone. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are planning a group event in the Gettysburg area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always enjoy have school, bands and tour groups at the hotel. We have plenty of seating in our hotel to accomodate for groups as well as plenty of bus parking. We have had larger groups than yours at breakfast time but we always make sure there is plenty of good food! Your group was great! They were well behaved and chaperoned. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Room was large and clean with good wifi reception. The breakfast was much better than simple continental with waffle station along with scrambled eggs and sausage. The front desk folks were very accomodating too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We recently upgraded our hi speed internet with a faster internet. Everyone is impressed with our upgrade. We consider our breakfast better than others due to the new Truly Yours breakfast for Comfort Inn. We offer two different flavored homemade waffles, sausages, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, assorted breads, assorted cereals, assorted muffins and danishes, assorted oatmeal and assorted juices and fruit. We offer coffee and tea 24 hours a day for our guests convenience. Our Front Desk personnel are always pleased to help with all your lodging needs. They undergo continuous guest service training. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel Gettysburg
Comfort Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Comfort Inn
Address: 871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.