We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to soak in the Gettysburg history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a nice place to soak in the Gettysburg history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked the room online, we did not have any problems checking in or with the room itself. About a 10 min drive from downtown Gettysburg and the military park We(boyfriend and I) came to town to enjoy Gettysburg and learn some history. The indoor pool/hot tub was really nice and for the most part we were surprised we were the only people in it when the hotel was packed. Breakfast was awesome I loved the waffles, and since then I want to buy a waffle maker, haha. If we ever come back into town, we will stay at the comfort inn again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice review on our hotel. We were happy you enjoyed the hot tub and pool during a packed night at the hotel. It is nice and refreshing after a day of sightseeing and learning history in Gettysburg. I was amused you were so impressed with our homemade waffles that now you want a wafflemaker. They are very addicting waffles! I get so many inquiries where to buy the waffle maker and mix. Thank you again for your nice review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! We will have the waffle irons on for you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    69
    57
    30
    41
See reviews for
99
84
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is located just a tad (1-2 miles) outside of "downtown" Gettysburg. The rooms were clean, the TVs were new, wall-mounted flat screens (which was nice). The bed was comfortable, room temperature was comfortable throughout stay (easily regulated). This hotel was worth the money I paid, but can be pricey during the summer season. I only deducted a cleanliness star because the hotel is supposed to be non- smoking, yet someone was smoking in their room near the lobby and I smelled it. I deducted a star for service because the check in process was a little slow. Overall I deducted a star because the breakfast ends at 9:30 am everyday- and since we stayed on a weekend I was not up and dressed before 9:30 am so we missed breakfast. It irritates me when hotels stop serving breakfast so early on a weekend- I think they do that because they know half of the guests will not be up in time to eat it.
Overall, I would stay again if the price was fair.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you deducted us a star for smelling smoke. We do have a 100% smoke free hotel however once in a while someone does decide to smoke in the hotel. We do have a $150 smoking clean up fee for those who do smoke in the rooms to eliminate this problem. We are very sorry that this happened during your stay with us. We are glad you did come in our off season as the rates are lower then plus the shops and museums are less crowded. We were happy you enjoyed our new 42 inch flat screen televisions. We have over 60 channels available to our guests. We are also glad you thought the rooms were very clean. We have the finest cleaning staff at our hotel as well as one of the most knowlegable front desk staff on area attractions. Thanks again for the nice review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We wound up staying here longer than we had planned and the staff made our extended stay just wonderful.. The entire staff is very customer service oriented and know how to make the guests feel right at home. Having coffee available all night in the lobby is a real plus for those who arrive late in the evening. Always made fresh. Wish other hotels would do the same.

Carolyn K.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and treat it as our home too. Our guests we treat as our extended family and encourage them to stay as long as possible. We have developed many lasting friendships with our guests. Our new staff of three months have been great. They have went out of their way to make everyones Gettysburg experience rewarding. They compltete ongoing customer relations training as well as study the Gettysburg Civil War so they are extremely knowlegable on the area. Coffee is made fresh 24 hours a day at the hotel unlike alot of other hotels plus we also offer coffee makers in all rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

When we arrived we were checked in promptly. The staff during our short stay was friendly and helpful.The hotel is showing its age however all areas were clean and well maintained, All and all a nice place for a good price. We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. Your comments about the staff and rooms were great! We are constantly maintaining our facilities to like new condition. Our staff are all customer service oriented. We have also been remodeling rooms with painting and new carpet during our winter months. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel has super helpful staff. They go out of their way to help you out. I recommend this hotel for the extra effort they put in to help. If you are looking somewhere to stay that it a good value and great service, this place would be a good bet in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you felt our staff was helpful and we were a good value hotel. We try our best to make everyones stay perfect! The new staff are more customer oriented and do go out of their way to help. We have ongoing training programs in customer service and have been using the winter months to become more focused on the battlefield attractions so we are geared up to help more in 2013. Again thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a nice stay here...But...,SOME staff needs to be schooled on customer service!! B-rast were o.k.Rooms were clean and maintained.I do feel i was in the right place at the right time! The feeling i got from here is o.k., And i would stay here again......

Room Tip: DO check your travel locations......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were pleased with your room and had a nice stay. We look forward to seeing you again. We are unhappy you were not pleased with the staff that much. We recently hired a new staff. We have chosen friendly, more customer oriented staff. They undergo continuous training in customer service. They also are more knowlegable on Gettysburg. If you check the reviews after your stay you will see that staff service has improved. Again we look forward to having you stay again and meet the new staff. Thank you again for your nice comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We reserved connecting rooms here more than a week before our visit. When calling the day before our planned visit to confirm, we found out that only one room had been reserved. Not a big deal, and we reserved a second connecting room at that time.

We arrived at the hotel at 2:15 to pay and hopefully check in. I am a freelance writer and often do articles on hotels and restaurants as we travel, and 95% of the time, we can check in anytime after 2 at the 3:00 check-in hotels. Again, not a huge problem, just annoying and we drove around for 45 minutes.

But then the "biggie" that WAS a problem happened. After making us wait not a minute sooner than 3 to check in, they found out we were paying with cash (as we always do without a problem.) They tried to charge us $150 deposit to pay with cash. I am well aware that some places do this with debit cards, but we have been traveling numerous times a year for more than 20 years and never once until now was there any kind of deposit required to pay with cash, let alone such a seemingly unreasonable deposit.

We found another pet friendly hotel in Gettysburg that ended up costing a considerable amount less, said not a word about paying with cash, and saved our vacation that could have been a horrible memory if we'd not remembered that they were pet friendly as well.

As a side note, we used to stay at this Comfort Inn on York Road often... the most recent being just a few years ago. Never had a problem and always had a great stay. I have no idea what changed, but it was not a positive event. I see that some of the reviews seem to be mixing this up with the Comfort Inns and Suites also in Gettysburg. Two very different establishments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for any mixup with your reservation, however this may or may not have been the front desk associates error as there are many booking agents and reservation sites. It appeared they made all efforts to please you at checkin. The main problem you encountered was the security deposit request. Up until this year we never requested a security deposit. With the new televisions and upgrades we have had to make changes on the deposits if you do not have a credit card. Alot of hotels lately will not even take cash anymore so you must have a credit card.The main reason we did it is because in the beginning of the year I had a room destroyed with over $3000 in damages. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the security deposit. If you are in the area again I hope to see you. The other hotel you stayed at that allowed pets I'd call ahead to make sure they still don't charge a security deposit because I heard it's changed. Thank you agaain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Address: 871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gettysburg
Comfort Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.