We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We wound up staying here longer than we had planned and the staff made our extended stay just wonderful.. The entire staff is very customer service oriented and know how to make the guests feel right at home. Having coffee available all night in the lobby is a real plus for those who arrive late in the evening. Always made fresh. Wish other hotels would do the same.

Carolyn K.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and treat it as our home too. Our guests we treat as our extended family and encourage them to stay as long as possible. We have developed many lasting friendships with our guests. Our new staff of three months have been great. They have went out of their way to make everyones Gettysburg experience rewarding. They compltete ongoing customer relations training as well as study the Gettysburg Civil War so they are extremely knowlegable on the area. Coffee is made fresh 24 hours a day at the hotel unlike alot of other hotels plus we also offer coffee makers in all rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    72
    38
    48
See reviews for
126
93
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

When we arrived we were checked in promptly. The staff during our short stay was friendly and helpful.The hotel is showing its age however all areas were clean and well maintained, All and all a nice place for a good price. We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. Your comments about the staff and rooms were great! We are constantly maintaining our facilities to like new condition. Our staff are all customer service oriented. We have also been remodeling rooms with painting and new carpet during our winter months. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel has super helpful staff. They go out of their way to help you out. I recommend this hotel for the extra effort they put in to help. If you are looking somewhere to stay that it a good value and great service, this place would be a good bet in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you felt our staff was helpful and we were a good value hotel. We try our best to make everyones stay perfect! The new staff are more customer oriented and do go out of their way to help. We have ongoing training programs in customer service and have been using the winter months to become more focused on the battlefield attractions so we are geared up to help more in 2013. Again thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a nice stay here...But...,SOME staff needs to be schooled on customer service!! B-rast were o.k.Rooms were clean and maintained.I do feel i was in the right place at the right time! The feeling i got from here is o.k., And i would stay here again......

Room Tip: DO check your travel locations......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were pleased with your room and had a nice stay. We look forward to seeing you again. We are unhappy you were not pleased with the staff that much. We recently hired a new staff. We have chosen friendly, more customer oriented staff. They undergo continuous training in customer service. They also are more knowlegable on Gettysburg. If you check the reviews after your stay you will see that staff service has improved. Again we look forward to having you stay again and meet the new staff. Thank you again for your nice comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We reserved connecting rooms here more than a week before our visit. When calling the day before our planned visit to confirm, we found out that only one room had been reserved. Not a big deal, and we reserved a second connecting room at that time.

We arrived at the hotel at 2:15 to pay and hopefully check in. I am a freelance writer and often do articles on hotels and restaurants as we travel, and 95% of the time, we can check in anytime after 2 at the 3:00 check-in hotels. Again, not a huge problem, just annoying and we drove around for 45 minutes.

But then the "biggie" that WAS a problem happened. After making us wait not a minute sooner than 3 to check in, they found out we were paying with cash (as we always do without a problem.) They tried to charge us $150 deposit to pay with cash. I am well aware that some places do this with debit cards, but we have been traveling numerous times a year for more than 20 years and never once until now was there any kind of deposit required to pay with cash, let alone such a seemingly unreasonable deposit.

We found another pet friendly hotel in Gettysburg that ended up costing a considerable amount less, said not a word about paying with cash, and saved our vacation that could have been a horrible memory if we'd not remembered that they were pet friendly as well.

As a side note, we used to stay at this Comfort Inn on York Road often... the most recent being just a few years ago. Never had a problem and always had a great stay. I have no idea what changed, but it was not a positive event. I see that some of the reviews seem to be mixing this up with the Comfort Inns and Suites also in Gettysburg. Two very different establishments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for any mixup with your reservation, however this may or may not have been the front desk associates error as there are many booking agents and reservation sites. It appeared they made all efforts to please you at checkin. The main problem you encountered was the security deposit request. Up until this year we never requested a security deposit. With the new televisions and upgrades we have had to make changes on the deposits if you do not have a credit card. Alot of hotels lately will not even take cash anymore so you must have a credit card.The main reason we did it is because in the beginning of the year I had a room destroyed with over $3000 in damages. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the security deposit. If you are in the area again I hope to see you. The other hotel you stayed at that allowed pets I'd call ahead to make sure they still don't charge a security deposit because I heard it's changed. Thank you agaain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Gettysburg on York Road for 2 nights while visiting the area. The hotel parking was fine, we found a spot near the door every time. The check-in was smooth. Our room was on the first floor (we asked and they delivered) and it was clean and tidy. The TV was a big flat screen and was very nice to watch. The a/c worked perfectly fine. The bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom and it was well-kept. We had enough towels too. The fridge was a big one, bigger than I've ever had at a hotel. It also had a microwave and a coffee maker.

Now the breakfast had more to be desired. The breakfast was typical of a Comfort Inn with hot food items being waffles, scrabbled eggs and sausage patties. The cold items were hard-boiled eggs and yogurt. Plus it had the normal items like coffee, tea, cereals, toast, muffins, and fruit. Unfortunately, it was not the best food around. The yogurt was soupy (near expiration), the blueberry muffins had a funny taste and not something we would eat again; we were too afraid to try what looked to be cinnamon muffins next to them. The bananas were nearly totally brown, but people were eating them, myself included. The individually wrapped butters/margarines in little tubs, although stored in the mini-fridge, had their lids partially off already when you took a few from the fridge (were they frozen and re-frozen, nobody knows). One of the two waffle makers were out-of-service (never to be fixed while we were there) which caused confusion and longer lines for the only waffle maker there. And they ran out of food/milk, etc on one day and it was in the middle of the breakfast time frame. The eggs were cold and tasteless, not to be eaten a second day.

If we stay here next time we will have to go out for breakfast, although the Perkins Family Restaurant across from the parking lot didn't give us much hope as we ate there one night for breakfast and the sweet potatoe fries had a strange taste.

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the 1st floor, you may get the room next to the front desk and you will here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you were pleased with the room, with the new flat screen televisions and fridge and microwave. We were unhappy to hear you were not that satisfied at breakfast. We implimented the new "Your Morning Breakfast" and we have recieved rave reviews. The food quaility seems to be much better. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future and trying the new breakfast selections. Again thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel was fabulous! We stayed there for 11 days and I feel I picked a great one! The staff was very friendly, very helpful and just pleasant to chat with. The housekeeping was excellent. Our room was very clean and smelled fresh the day of our arrival, and was kept that way throughout our stay. The housekeeping staff was friendly and happy to provide us with extra towels or whatever else we needed. Breakfast was delicious - many hot items included (such as sausage, eggs, waffles) and a great variety!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We feel our breakfast is the best of the three hotels surrounding us. This is the new "Your Morning Breakfast" program, which we have been getting outstanding comments about. Thank you for your comments about the staff in general. They all complete extensive ongoing training in customer service. The rooms we try to give the like new look. We were complately remodeled a year ago but we try to maintain the look. Again thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg

Address: 871 York Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gettysburg
Comfort Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.