We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge
205 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Belvidere
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for our recent visit to Gettysburg and will stay there again whenever we return. Clean, comfortable, safe and a very helpful, friendly staff. Great location within walking distance to everything. Excellent price . Not disappointed in one thing. I recommend you check it out when looking for an economical place to "hang your hat" while visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    115
    29
    9
    14
See reviews for
77
93
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Colony, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

You can't get much closer to the battle field at Gettysburg than staying here - really you're right across the street and up the street both ways - shopping galore - there's something for just about everyone within walking distance - the room was clean, the property clean and safe - the beds were comfortable - the towels not so much but hey for the room I had it was $65 plus tax compared to twice that much for a room about a block away - unless you want to go real fancy and get an expensive bed and breakfast - speaking of breakfast - about the only disappointment here was the ads all say continental breakfast I believe - breakfast consisted of coffee, juice and a danish - not much for continental but it worked to get us out the door and on the road

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a night on a long road trip and to try to save $. I doubled checked TripAdvisor reviews several times due to the "motel" label. And it was true what people reviewed it as...a fine place to stay. The desk clerks were very kind and helpful, so far as upon hearing my husband and I talk about the Gettysburg car tour and wondering about it, he told us that someone was using their cd copy presently but to stop by in the morning and we could have it for the day. The room was basic but clean. The bed was comfortable. The towels were a bit scratchy. The only real "hesitant" complaint was the air upon arrival. Our window was open for fresh air...ok...but the air inside was not fresh smelling. Not bad, but not fresh. Running the air conditioner helped. It had to run all night and was a bit noisy. That all said, we would stay here again if we were passing through again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

First impression is of a great price. Seriously. This has got to be one of the most - if not the most affordable - lodgings in the area.

Second impression: Friendly. The owner is on site and very personable (not pushy just friendly).

The room itself was clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. I think they may be new mattresses (recollecting conversation with owner?) but I do know they were on par (actually better) than mattresses at both Hilton Garden Inn and Holiday Inn, respectively. I would go as far as to say it was probably the best mattress I've slept on in a hotel. Bathroom was spotless.

Location is easy to get in and out of, parking is free, and the motel is located within minutes of everything Gettysburg has to offer.

Breakfast is continental served in the lobby and *homemade* banana and pumpkin bread were an unexpected treat.

This was our first "motel" experience and we were very pleasantly surprised. I am super picky and normally a "Hampton / Hilton Garden Girl" and can say that I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 127 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avis, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Since most of the reviews I read were positive, I decided to give this motel a chance. I booked for the Memorial Day weekend. The motel was really very nice. Just like it has already been said, my room was very clean although the furniture is dated. The a/c and fridge worked well and the drainage in the tub and sink was good. The signal for the Wi-Fi was very good. The office attendant was very friendly and check in was fast. Also, the lobby had a stack of brochures and menus for businesses in the area, which was very convenient. The motel is situated in a great location with many sites within walking distance. Some reviewers had mentioned a problem with noise. Yes, the motel is located right on a main road, and motorcycles seem to be a norm in this area, so expect that kind of noise. Otherwise, the only other noise I heard was the occasional car in the parking lot. Remember, it is a motel. Bed sheets were clean and the bed itself was comfortable. A couple of things I’d want to point out: 1) this property still uses keys (like others have reviewed) so you have to lock your room door yourself, it does not lock automatically. I had to get used to that again; and 2) there is a small museum right in the middle of the motel parking lot and pulling in/out can get tricky if you park near it with a large vehicle. I would stay here again for sure, the price can’t be beat, especially if you don’t plan on staying in the room often.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here in the past, friendly owner, great location on Steinwehr ave. close to a lot of shops, food and attractions including the battlefield. Room was comfortable, alittle old but for what you pay, can't complain. Small fridge, hairdryer, nice tv with hundreds of channels. within walking distance of all things on Steinwehr. Breakfast consists of donuts or danishes, with cofee or oj. If you want something more go to the Lincoln diner on Carlisle street, great food and prices. They have an outdoor pool.

Room Tip: You park at your door so any room will work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here three times and will go back every year if possible, Mark is a great host and makes us feel like family, the location can,t be beat, you can walk to all attractions and restaurants, it is quiet clean and great room rates, we would highly recommend this motel to anyone, thanks for a great time every time Mark , we are going back this aug, can,t wait

Dianne & Jim
Canada

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge

Address: 205 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host 3 Crowns Motor Lodge
Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Budget Host Three Crowns Hotel
Budget Host Three Crowns Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.