We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ernie's Texas Lunch

Ernie's Texas Lunch
58 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1101
717-334-1970
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

If i would visit Gettysburg again.i would spend a afew more bucks and go to acleaner and more social restaurant .i think they live of the fact that they have been there a while.it was a one time deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cute old school”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Very old school nothing fancy but hardy & satisfying! We sat at a large family table with another couple. Food was tasty, hot & fast. Onion rings are a must hand battered and whole cuts of onions. Order the large because all will want at least one...so share nicely. We all ordered hot dogs. The chili was perfect on top for a cold day! The buns were soft and the hotdogs were split down the center plus had a great crunch when bit into. A little too much grilled onions on top for my taste but easily fixed. Great simple food almost comfort style. Go you won't be disappointed. Very clean inside & out. Cute decor with old style booths with table service. We didn't order any dessert but they looked great. We all agreed when we are in the neighborhood we would come back again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Snack extrodinaire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Get over it folks, its a diner. The food is diner food, not gourmet but it's quick, it's good, its well served.

The staff is friendly. The onion rings and fries just greassy enough, the sandwiches appropriately hot (egg sandwich) and the chili beany with some meat, hearty but not spicy.

The coffee was good and plentiful. Did I mention the staff were attentive, quick and chatty.

Overall a nice stop.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
“We fell in love with Ernie's!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Gettysburg twice a year for the past 20 years, and had never stopped into Ernie's, even though we had walked by it numerous times. We were in G'burg a few weeks ago and finally stopped in!!! The food was excellent and the service was great, too!! The hot dogs are fantastic!! We'll definitely be stopping in from now on whenever we're in town!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ran In!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I read the review on this joint and had to make a stop. I parked illegally, ran in, grab one with onions and chili. Devoured it in 30 seconds. One of the best dogs I have ever eaten. Don't pass up this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Texas Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Ernie's Texas Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernie's Texas Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.