We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Severn
1 review
“Wonderful weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were given this stay as a gift and it was wonderful! The Inn is beautiful, comfortable, and very inviting. Our room was very clean and cozy. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We asked if they had scones and they made them special for us! The staff were exemplary and were always available to help. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
That's so nice that you enjoyed you stay with the Gift Certificate. The first time we stayed in a B&B in the US was with a Gift Certificate, and we then realized what a great present it is. It was lovely to meet you, and we're very glad that you might come back one day. Thank you for writing the review.
Our best wishes, Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    906
    90
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
117
678
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Honestly, I wasn't a Bed and Breakfast fan until my stay at the Brickhouse. Tessa and Brian go out of their way to make your stay complete. If you need something, they are there to help. Our room was beautifully decorated with many antiques and had all the amenities you could want or need. Breakfast was delicious and snacks and drinks were available all day. The Brickhouse location allows you to walk to many stores and restaurants. In addition, there is ample parking in the rear. My next trip to Gettysburg will include a stay at the Brickhouse now that I know how wonderful a Bed and Breakfast can be.

Room Tip: We stayed in the North Carolina suite which was quiet and had a lovely porch overlooking the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks so much for coming to stay with us, and for writing a review. We're glad you liked the North Carolina Room - probably the nicest room in the Victorian house. The balcony porch is a lovely feature, at least for most of the year. We always enjoy showing it to guests because they are usually awed at the view of the garden and the thought that they can sit and relax on the rockers.

We really enjoyed meeting you, and it's good to know that you might come back.
Take care of yourselves.
Our best wishes, Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been coming to Gettysburg for over 21 years. Everyone at the Brickhouse has become our extended PA family. We have been staying at the Brickhouse since before Tessa & Brian became innkeepers. They have made staying here very enjoyable and we will keep coming in years to come. The breakfasts are fabulous and the afternoon snacks are delightful. We recommend it to everyone who is coming to Gettysburg. Thank you for so many great stays!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much for being such loyal guests. It's very good to know that you like the Inn enough to come back to it so regularly. It's one of our greatest pleasures to see guests returning that we've come to know.
We look forward to the next time. In the meantime, look after yourselves!
Our best wishes,
Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Received a warm welcome from Brian who had all the typical characteristics of a British innkeeper.
Breakfasts were tasty, varied and somewhat unexpected - we really enjoyed the sweet aspect. Our room was in the main house, it was comfortable, quaint and met all our needs.
We appreciated the fact that drinks and cake were available throughout the day and evening.
Brian and Tessa were clearly experienced hosts and regularly checked whether there was anything else we needed. This approach was instilled into their staff and this made us feel important.
The guided tour of the battlefields arranged through Brian was comprehensive and though there was a government shutdown we still felt that we were given the best possible tour with an experienced guide.
We cannot think of any negatives and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Some reviews mentioned that rooms at the front were noisy - We didn't find this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing the lovely review. We're glad you had a good time and enjoyed your Battlefield tour. Taking a licensed guide, as you did, is definitely the best way to tour the Battlefield, and the have the services of a specialist historian for two or three hours is quite economical.
We're glad you enjoyed the sweet dishes at breakfast - sometimes a strange experience for British visitors, who are more accustomed to fried eggs and bacon!
We very much enjoyed meeting you. Take care of yourselves, and
our very best wishes,
Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I have been going to the Brickhouse Inn for the past 10 years for our anniversary. Our stays have always been enjoyable and special. Great place to stay. Brian and Tessa are wonderful hosts and the staff is topnotch. The Brickhouse is within easy walking distance of downtown and the battlefield. We just made our reservations for next year.

Tony and Mary Ann W.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It was great to see the two of you again. We really appreciate that you come back so regularly and it's always a pleasure to have you to stay - you are the ideal guests. We're looking forward very much to your next visit. In the meantime, take good care of yourselves.
Best wishes,
Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my second stay at the inn - the first with family. My husband and 11 year old grandson came with me. My grandson Ethan positively loved it. It was his first experience at a B&B and he loved having his own room and everyone treated him as an adult. Also he got seconds at breakfast. What 11 year old boy doesn't love that. We adults especially love the location and the warm welcome. We would definitely come back and I have recommended the inn to many other Gettysburg visitors. Thank you again for your warm hospitality especially to our grandson who now wants to stay at B&Bs all the time!

Kathy Riley and Steve McHenry

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I wanted a special get away for our 13th Anniversary. We love Gettysburg and history, and searched among all the B&B s in the area. We are very glad we picked The Brickhouse, staying at the Welty House. The weekend hostess greeted us warmly and showed us all the amenities. The house and room (Illinois) exuded history, with all the charm and warmth. The bed was very comfortable. Note to Illinois room guests...the front sink by the bed is not a functioning sink. Next morning, went to the breakfast provided, which was a wonderful apple pancake strudel pie served with bacon. Wonderful!

The grounds are awesome as well. A quaint back yard court yard with mini waterfall, surounded by several Adirondack chairs for you to enjoy morning coffee or evening libation. Loved the English boxwood bushes on the property. We will be back. We will probably pick either Delware or Alabama rooms because of the porches.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.