We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Brickhouse Inn is a wonderful B&B. My wife and I brought my mother-in-law to Gettysburg for her birthday and to see the battlefields. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were outstanding. We even purchased The Brickhouse Inn Cookbook to try some of the recipes at home.
The owners and staff were very friendly and even arranged a tour guide of the battlefields for us. They also recommended dinner at the Dobbin house which really captures the historic feel of Gettysburg and was a wonderful dining experience. The Brickhouse Inn is located within walking distance to many shops, the Dobbin House, and the Gettysburg National Cemetary. I highly recommend a stay at the Brickhouse Inn and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Warm hospitality
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    100
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
137
764
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

this is an exquisite hotel, perfectly maintained with a wonderful atmosphere. The gourmet breakfast adds an extra special touch.

This is a great place to stay if you want pampered luxury, like going to grandma's. Very highly recommended.

The only downside is that, considering the entire point of visiting Gettysburg, it seems maybe a little too touristy. If this B&B were located at a resort or some other scenic small town, I would only have great things to say about the Brickhouse.

But it's less than a mile from the most important battlefield in North America, where tens of thousands of soldiers were killed or wounded and where our nation managed to keep from splitting in two. There is a very well-oiled and tightly meshed tourist machine at work in Gettysburg these days, and in many ways the Brickhouse is just an entry point into that machine. The proprietors are very helpful in arranging tours and dinner reservations, true. But it seemed that they were maybe a little too eager to funnel their guests into that machine.

If you had made your own arrangements for touring the battlefield (i.e. you'd already read up on the battle and could find your own way around) and spending the evening hours (especially if you spent them in a nearby town instead of Gettysburg itself)...the proprietors really weren't prepared to handle that, it was totally out of their comfort zone. It wasn't PROPER.

It was subtly clear that you are expected to enjoy their breakfast (exquisite, but only one seating at PRECISELY 8:30, two hours after sunrise in the warm season so you burn a lot of daylight), then spend your day partaking of the many fee-based attractions in town, then enjoy a long dinner at a nearby restaurant. Then there are the "ghost tours" at night.

Overall it seemed like more of a theme park atmosphere than as a way to honor the courage and sacrifice of the troops who fought the battle. Obviously businesses have to be there to handle the swarm of visitors, and there's nothing wrong with making a living doing that. But it's pretty obvious that making a buck off the tourists has become the priority, instead of helping them learn about the battle and most importantly, what it means to our country.

Recommended for casual tourists who just want to "do" Gettysburg, mainly through the museums, 2-hour tours and some driving around to the key points of the park.

Not recommended for historians or those more interested in the backpacking or less glamorous aspects of battlefield tours. Not a great place to come back to after you get your cardio in for the day...

  • Liked — wonderful atmosphere
  • Disliked — resort mindset overpowers the history of the place
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

I stayed three nights @ The Brickhouse Inn in May and was absolutely delighted with the Inn and its owners. Traveling alone one never knows the reception you may get but the owners here Brian and Tessa could not have been nicer. They made sure I was comfortable and had the information needed to tour Gettysburg & it's attractions. They know tour guides, restaurants and places not to be missed! The rooms are super clean and beautiful. Tessas breakfast can not be missed! I did not need to eat again until dinner!
If you are looking for an inn with personality, warmth, great food and great owners stay @ The Brickhouse Inn---you're in for a real treat!

  • Liked — Friendly, warm atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Brickhouse Inn to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. This was our second stay at the Brickhouse Inn. This is the place to say in Gettysburg. The Inn is spotless, the accommodations are so very comfortable and Tessa cannot do enough to welcome guests and make your stay relaxing and most enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Afternoon cookies were great.

The battlefield is a short walk from the Brickhouse Inn. You can walk to restaurants and shopping.

We stayed in the Kentucky Suite. The suite was large, very comfortable and spotless. Our suite had a balcony which overlooked the garden area in back of the Inn.

I highly reccommend the Brickhouse Inn. We plan on staying at the Brichouse when we visit Gettysburg again. You will not be disappointed

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was great.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

We spent a delightful Friday and Saturday night on a warm April weekend. The garden and fountain were lovely and a very nice place to read a book and relax on a Saturday afternoon. We stayed in the Texas Room which fronts the street. It was a little noisy until about 10:00pm when traffic virtually disappeared. The room has a fireplace that took the chill of in the morning. The breakfasts were very good and the inn keeper very pleasant and helpful. We will stay at the B&B again.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — noisy room on street
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Our daughter gave us a Christmas present of three nights at the Inn and we looked forward to it all winter. We finally arrived there on April 18th with the first really nice days of Spring and we had a glorious time. The Brickhouse Inn was a special place to be from the moment we arrived. Tessa, one of the owners, greeted us along with Aimee on her staff, and they were helpful anf friendly from the very beginning. We stayed in the Alabama room of the Welty House next door and we loved the historic feel of the room and its furnishings. Everything was extremely clean and modern where you wanted modern. The brick patio outside our door with its round black metal tables and chairs got a lot of use since the weather was so nice.

Gettysburg is a very interesting town. Tessa gave us two great tips that really made our trip. She advised us to arrange for a private tour guide of the Battlefield and made those arrangements for us. He was unbelieveably good and added so much to our knowledge. She also made a reservation for us to the Cashtown Inn just out of town and we had a superb meal there.

We would advise staying at the Brickhouse Inn to anyone. Our experience could not have been better.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

As strange as it may sound to B&B lovers, my wife and I generally prefer the impersonal atmosphere of large chain hotels, having travelled for many years across the U.S. and around the world. But based on the advice of a long-time friend, we booked the Tennessee Room at the Brickhouse Inn during an 11-13 April historical tour of the Gettysburg battlefield.

It proved to be excellent advice. The Brickhouse Inn excels in the following areas: (1)Cleanliness---It was perfect, rivaling any hotel we've experienced in Germany, Austria or Switzerland. It was plain to see the extra attention that was paid to details. (2) Friendly, accommodating service--Brian Duncan and Tessa Bardo were wonderful hosts. (3) Food--Those terrific breakfasts! Everything was fresh and homecooked, again with special attention to details. This hotel gets a 5-star rating in our book. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and it will be our first choice for any future stay in Gettysburg..

  • Liked — charming, historic atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.