We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Yearly retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Once again our trip to Gettysburg and staying at the Brickhouse is something that Charlie and I look forward to every year. It is such a pleasure to return to the Brickhouse and get reacquainted with Brian and Tessa. The Brickhouse is such a beautiful and welcoming home. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    928
    90
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
119
691
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our stay was much more than I expected. Tessa and Leigh were gracious and very friendly. We arrived in a PA blizzard after a 3 hr trek from Halifax PA and was warmly greeted with hot beverages and cookies. Our accommodations were excellent and the total atmosphere felt like the 1860's with modern conveniences. The room was cozy, warm and very inviting. They recommended a few restaurants within walking distance and we choose the Dobbin House (excellent food and atmosphere in the downstair pub The morning breakfast of fruit, apple pancakes, bacon and dessert was well prepared and delicious. We can't wait to visit Gettysburg again and renew our new friendship at Brickhouse Inn. It was an unforgettable stay.
Rochester NY Patti and George

Room Tip: The Maryland room was in the front of the main building (facing the street). The Alabama room was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to have both of you come to see us, even though you had to brave that weather! Please do visit again soon and, hopefully, the drive will be smoother for you. We have many more great breakfasts for you to try! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in the Kentucky Suite, which was spacious and bright, yet cozy, with two fireplaces. The bed was super-comfortable. The linens were beautiful, the furniture very comfortable, and the breakfasts were 5-star. Fresh coffee and home-made cookies hit the spot in the afternoon. Lee and Tessa were very helpful in getting us reservations at the restaurants we wanted and in securing us an excellent guide to drive us on a tour of the battlefield. The location is ideal, close to the center of town, but not far from historic sites and restaurants. We would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Glad to hear the bed was super comfortable! We hope that all of our guests have a relaxing rest during their stay with us. We highly recommend that Battlefield tour and are pleased that you enjoyed your time in the Field as well. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Take care until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first stay in Gettysburg and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. We stayed in the carriage house. It was clean, cozy, quiet and just perfect for us! The breakfast was amazing on Sunday- I think my husband now expects a three course breakfast every weekend :).

Owners Tessa and Brian are very kind and sweet, they are wonderful. Melanie was very resourceful and helped us feel as if this was our home too.

Thank you and we will be back in the summer/fall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Carriage House! Many guests enjoy the privacy that the room has to offer. Don’t hesitate to ask us for any recipes (cookbook in the works!) if you’re feeling ambitious on the weekends. See you upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Brian, Tessa and the entire staff always extend a warm greeting to each guest. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfasts are always filling. We have been staying here now for several years and have not been disappointed. In fact we have already booked our stay for the end of July when then the garden is in full bloom and breakfast is served on the patio when the weather permits. Thank you again for a wonderful stay. The Millers, York, PA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for coming back to see us so many times! The summer and winter are certainly different, but each has a different side of Gettysburg to offer. We look forward to seeing you in warm summer months once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Brickhouse Inn January 16th-18th 2013. We arrived in Gettysburg and did not have a place to stay. We called a couple of places because we wanted to stay at a Bed and Breakfast. I spoke with Tessa on the phone and she was very friendly. She said she could meet us within 30 minutes to check us in. Which was great because it was a little on the late side. Every other inn we spoke with was rather rude and seemed like we were troubling them. Not Tessa and Brian! Once we arrived at the beautiful inn we were shown to out quaint room on the second floor. I was blown away with the cleanliness and charm of the Tennessee room. It is on the front side of the house by the main road, but it was perfect. We did not even notice the traffic, and it was very quiet. Breakfast was wonderful both days and they were more than happy to accommodate any and all requests (I recommend the stuffed apple pancakes. Delicious!) It is very centrally located to all the attractions and convenient for the battlefield lover. All in all it was a wonderful place to stay. My wife and I feel refreshed and relaxed and ready to head back to the hustle and bustle of the real world. We would recommend the Brickhouse to any and everyone. We cannot wait to return again! 11 out of 10!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We were happy to come in and meet you – it wasn’t a problem at all and you were a joy to have in house. Those pancakes tend to be a favorite of both staff and guests! It is a very simple and delicious recipe so let us know if you would like a copy. And we are very glad that you liked the Tennessee Room, but feel free to try some of the others when we see you next! Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a wonderful 2 nights at the Brickhouse! The room was comfortable, quiet and simply beautiful. Tessa & Brian were more than helpful. They made a dinner reservation for us at the Dobbin House (spectacular and an easy walk from the Brickhouse). The breakfast was delicious and consisted of three courses -- including dessert! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello again! Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and that you will be back! Having couples return year after year is the ultimate compliment. We are also very pleased to know that you enjoyed the Dobbin House, one of our favorites! And feel free to email us about for any breakfast recipes you may want to make on your own!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.