We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Nice Owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brafferton Inn to your Saves list
Brafferton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Nice Owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our plans changed and my wife and I decided to stay overnight in Gettysburg. We asked around and the oldest place we were told was this B&B. We called and they had an opening. We liked the place because it was near the town center and it was an original house. The owner's son was very nice- as well as the son's mother (the owner). The son was very helpful with our questions. They do not have parking- there is a parking garage behind their place. I would recommended this as the town is a bit annoying with their parking. A dollar an hour for a meter and you cannot overnight in the street; and spaces are metered until 2100 (8:00 pm). The room we had was OK, although the bed was loose and squeaked everything you move the slightest bit. The other room offered had a separate bathroom, which made our decision for us. There is a front room that still has a bullet lodged in the fireplace mantle. The place is near the main square- granted there is not much to do in Gettysburg at night.... Their breakfast was very good and the wait staff was very nice. All in all, they could be a bit more attentive to the rooms, but we felt we got our money's worth. They do have Keurig after hours and a sitting area. Our room was hot because they had the heat on (cold night) and we could not find any way to control the heat in the room so we opened a window. For a night we thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    46
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
211
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centereach, New York, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my husband stayed her for two nites. It was very nice room. The breakfast was also very good. The owner is a mother and son, didn't really talk with mother, but did talk to son, he was a very nice man. We would go back there again. We stayed in room named after his grandmother.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third time staying at the Brafferton and we'll be back. The lemon poppyseed muffins at breakfast are AMAZING. The entire breakfast is always very good. And the rooms are clean and the inn is very conveniently located. I don't think it's handicap accessible, so if you have mobility problems, it might not work for you. But we love it.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall City, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of our requirements is a king size bed, as my husband is 6'5. The Lincoln Suite at the Brafferton had one. We wanted to stay at a historic B&B, walking distance to historic district, restuarants, pubs, shopping, etc., and the Brafferton fit our requirements and is impeccably clean and well appointed. The Lincoln Suite is quiet, closer to back of house, large, with a sitting room, fireplace, large bathroom, and Keurig coffeemaker, small refrig. We use honey for our coffee in the morning and asked for some - which they didn't have. But, that evening we returned from all day sightseeing to find a small jar in our room. Great personal service. Parking is a problem as noted above - but where I'm from $10 bucks a day is a great deal! Come on - this is historic Gettysburg!

Room Tip: One of our requirements is a king size bed, as my husband is 6'5. The Lincoln Suite at the Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Parking is a major problem. There is none except meters from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.or a garage which will cost you $10 for the day. There was no way to lock the window in the front room and radiator in the bedroom never turned off. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable but, not sure I'd do it again.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time out to review our inn. We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable about Gettysburg. As far as parking, we have discussed in depth on our website and in other reviews that being located in the center of downtown Gettysburg, we do not have private parking for all our guests, just like many other inns and hotels in the historic district. Street parking is metered from 8am-8pm, and you can also use a public parking garage located directly behind the inn. The garage has a fee of 75 cents per hour, with a maximum of $10 per 24 hours. DUE TO THIS, we do purposely keep our rates more than $10 below our competitors rates. Being downtown affords you the opportunity to walk to all the shops, restaurants, museums, ghost tours, and all that the historic district has to offer.

Thank You Again for your review.

Brian Hodges
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were greeted immediately, offered fresh baked cookies, and taken on a tour of the main house and garden; then we were personally escorted to our room which was in a separate building. We stayed on the second floor in the Brafferton Suite and enjoyed our view of the bustling street below. It was the size of a one bedroom apartment with a four poster bed, a gas fireplace, a jacuzzi for two, and a shared balcony. The main house had a comfortable parlor room with books and refreshments, and the garden and courtyard was huge with several seating areas and beautiful landscaping. The breakfast was fabulous: fresh fruit, delicious homemade pastries, and a choice of three entrees. Joan, the innkeeper, was gracious and knowledgeable and gave us excellent advice and recommendations on touring Gettysburg. We were delighted by the first class service at this historic gem in downtown Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummels Wharf, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back yesterday from another wonderful stay at the Brafferton Inn. This is the best bed and breakfast in Gettysburg. The owners Joan and Brian are the greatest host and hostess. Best breakfast and rooms ever.
Kathy Young
Hummels Wharf, PA

Room Tip: Make sure you book early they fill up very fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us again! We have relished hosting you on each of your visits throughout the past few years, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Hodges Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brafferton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.