We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property in Downtown Gettysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brafferton Inn to your Saves list
Brafferton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Eden, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Property in Downtown Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Brafferton Inn for three nights and really enjoyed the experience. The room was very nice and very comfortable. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was expertly prepared each morning and very tasty. the property is downtown making it very convenient to walk to shops and restaurants. This is a B&B that I would be very happy to stay at again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lincoln Room and found it had easy access and a parking spot was assigned to us dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    42
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
55
202
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As this is our third time to Gettysburg and third stay at the Brafferton I can honestly say "simply the best". The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast choices, that's right choices were all fantastic. Location is the best for walking. We have always stayed in the Eisehower room and will try one of the other gorgeous rooms next time. Parking is not an issue! We have stayed in numerous Hotels where parking is twice the price. All I can say is if you are going to Gettysburg and you want stay at the best B and B then the "B" is for the Brafferton!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival to the historic Brafferton Inn. Our multi night stay in the attic loft suite was comfortable and we had the entire third floor to ourselves. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were outstanding with fruit, pastries and multiple dishes to choose from. Afternoon cookies and tea/coffee hit the spot after a day of sightseeing. Parking was easy as the public garage was conveniently located near the rear of the Inn. Plenty of room in the Inn and on the back deck to relax. The neighborhood is easy to navigate and we had no problems walking around at night. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking forward to staying at the Brafferton Inn since it was located in town and and walking distance to many of the shops and restaurants. I was also excited about staying in an inn built in 1786. Being a history fanatic, I had to stay in the original part of the inn. Both my husband and I were completely enamored with the Loft Suite. The exposed brick and stone walls and the original floorboards were amazing along with the high ceilings and exposed rafters. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the bathroom, especially the shower. Being in the attic, I was expecting small bathroom. It wasn't huge but larger than I expected. This suite takes up the entire third floor of the attic, which made it completely private. There is no other guest room on the third floor. Also being in the attic, I was concerned about the temperature. Both rooms of the suite had an air conditioner (rooms are connected by a foyer) and we kept the doors closed to each room. We were completely comfortable with the temperature. Joan and Brian and all of the staff were so friendly. Brian's breakfasts were delicious and so were Joan's afternoon cookies. We enjoyed sitting on the back deck with our morning coffee and relaxing inside in the comfortable common areas in the afternoon. Parking was a nonissue. The public garage was very close to the back of the inn. You get to it by walking out of the back of the inn and it is a very short walk outside. We totally enjoyed our stay at the Brafferton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneytown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband booked our stay in the suite behind the main building as a birthday surprise for myself. Upon arriving we got a tour of the grounds by the inn keeper and were escorted to our suite where there was a King sized bed with kitchen, living room,spare bedroom, and bath with jacuzzi tub and large tiled shower. Also, the suite had its own private garden in the rear with its own key for entry. The next morning we enjoyed homemade lemon poppy seed Danishes and breakfast that followed. We loved the Danishes so much we made it the top layer of our wedding cake the following year! I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone! (Suite was about $350 for the night)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At check in we were met and given a tour that included interesting information on the history of the inn, as well as everything we needed to know for our stay. The owners were both friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Lincoln Suite which had two rooms. The sitting room had a gas fireplace and TV. The bedroom had an extremely comfortable a king size bed. These rooms were divided by pocket doors. The double sink in the bathroom, the multi head shower and, the Keurig with a selection of coffees made the stay even better. It far exceeded our expectations in decor and the attention to detail. The breakfast was the best I have ever had at a hotel or bed and breakfast. It consisted of fresh fruit, homemade pastry and a freshly cooked meal. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The friendly staff, clean room (with a view from the deck!), amazing breakfast (my belly is still full!) and great location made our stay at the Brafferton Inn B&B a memorable one. We stayed in the Deck Suite in the original stone house. It's a small room, but that didn't matter because it was: 1) clean; 2) had a deck; and 3) we were busy enjoying all that Gettysburg has to offer...our suite was a place to relax and unwind before, in between, and after all of the fun we had!

Innkeeper Brian was top-notch - as friendly and helpful as anyone I've encountered while staying in a hotel/resort/B&B. We enjoyed the Brafferton breakfast twice...and it puts the cereal I'm going to have for breakfast tomorrow to shame. The breakfast was the perfect way to start off the day, and it rivals any breakfast I've had anywhere.

We had an awesome weekend! Our next trip to Gettysburg is very likely going to include a stay at the Brafferton.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brafferton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.