We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location and beautifully restored Civil War era inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brafferton Inn

Save Saved
You added Brafferton Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Vashon, Washington, United States
1 review
“Super location and beautifully restored Civil War era inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in the Pear Tree suite. What a surprise luxury. Spacious, beautifully appointed, private entrance and dedicated parking spot. Can't beat the location. A half block from the center of town. Breakfast was gourmet, high quality. Each morning we had a choice of three entree options,fresh baked pastry, fresh fruit.
It was recommended to us and we are glad we stayed there!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    41
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
52
195
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in the garden room. We have been to Gettysburg several times and each time we try to stay at a bed and breakfast. While we have never had a bad experience, this time was better than most. Rather than the usual breakfast fare Bryan goes out of his way to provide multiple options and actually did cook to order for us each morning. The inn is within easy walking distance of several restaurants and stores and is directly in front of the parking garage making the lack of a parking lot less of an issue than we had expected. Overall, we had a great stay and plan to return again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start out by saying that my husband surprised me with this trip to me Gettysburg and staying the night at the Bafferton Inn . When I guesses where we were going I wanted to stay another night at the Inn . Joan , Brian and Brian 's wife were very nice to work with . It was the best Bed & Breakfasts we have ever stayed at . The breakfasts they gave choices of what to have and the other B&B 's we stayed at did not do that . We will recommend this place to our family friends and anybody else that is looking for B&B 's or Inns to stay at . Thank you Joan Brian and Brian 's wife for making our stay amazing!!

Room Tip: The General 's Quarters where we stayed was a very nice room also quiet . The main house was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My cousin and I were looking for a place to visit midway between our homes in Maryland and New Jersey for a few nights for a mini-family reunion. We hit upon Gettysburg PA, which we knew nothing about. The Brafferton Inn was a delightful and perfectly successful choice. Located by Lincoln Square in the heart of town, we were able to walk and enjoy the shopping. We were still quite near the battlefield and National Park Visitor Center so our husbands were happy. We spent a full day driving/walking our own Civil War re-enactment! Despite a full house the inn was as quiet as could be. Beautifully decorated and wonderful food, helpful innkeepers and we had a lovely living area where we could sit and catch up on our family doings, as well as a beautiful secluded backyard garden when the weather cooperated. Breakfast included the lightest muffins I've ever eaten -- I just hope they are as light in calories. I give it two thumbs up!

Room Tip: We loved the Eisenhower suite but it's up steep stairs -- many rooms have little decks on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this inn last night. Everyone was super friendly and our room was really clean and nice. Only thing I would recommend is getting a room away from the busy street.. The loud motorcycles driving up and down woke me up a couple times.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent a few days at the Brafferton. The breakfasts are home cooked and are 5 star quality. The Inn built in the 1700s is in very good condition with original floorboards and some are a little uneven. We stayed in the Loft and other than the A/C having trouble keeping up with the heat, found it a wonderful suite with up to date amenities but very nostalgic considering the area. We would recommend this Inn also because the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just came back from a delightful 2 nights at this charming B&B. Joanne and Brian are welcoming innkeepers who have perfected the B&B experience. Breakfasts are fabulous, rooms are clean, quaint but spacious and well appointed. Innkeepers are knowledgeable about the area and Inn is right in the center of town within walking distance to lots of great restaurants. The Inn itself does not have parking but there is a garage directly behind it and free street parking over night. Defiantly will be back.

Room Tip: Two rooms (BattleRoom and Old Master Room) are on front of Inn and street traffic can be heard at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brafferton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.