We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brafferton Inn to your Saves list
Brafferton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I and our two children ages 13 and 17 were warmly welcomed at the Inn. We stayed in The Loft room on the top floor and thoroughly enjoyed the historic surroundings perfectly coupled by luxuries such as a modern bathroom, comfortable beds and excellent air conditioning.

Breakfast was delicious and the care that was taken to observe the needs of our children (plain scrambled eggs and orange juice) was appreciated.

Don't let the lack of parking scare you away. The hosts offer plenty of advice as to where to park and even offer to "feed the meter" if need be.

When we find our way to Gettysburg again, there is no place we'd rather stay than The Brafferton Inn.

Room Tip: The Loft room is on the top floor and may not be a good option for someone who is challenged by stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    46
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
211
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boswell, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This by far is the BEST Bed and Breakfast in town!!! We will not stay anywhere else! The best bang for your buck! The Brafferton Inn is very cozy and the service is great! And the food is delicious!The rooms are very clean and wonderfully decorated, we could go on and on. We sayed in the Codori Suite, and also in the Pear Tree Suite. They are both very spacious and lovely suites. The Inn is well appointed in the center of town, shops and restuarants just steps outside the door. If you are looking for an amazing get-away retreat, this is the place to stay! We are looking forward to our next visit at the Inn.

Room Tip: We highly reccomend staying in the Codori Suite and the Pear Tree Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We have truly enjoyed hosting and getting to meet you! It is guests like you who make us really love what we do here at the inn. We cannot wait to see you again soon!
The Hodges Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I have actually been to a number of inns. The authenticity of the Brafferton cannot be denied. This time we were not pleased with the stand-offish atmosphere. As other reviews have stated the breakfast offerings could not be beat. The room we had was nobodies fault but my own. I was not impressed at all. If I had had the nerve I would have asked to change. Probably will not go back. Parking is another issue. The parking is not free but rather you have to feed a meter every 2 hours or use the garage that caps off at $10.00 but only if it's left there all day. It is, however, very centrally located so we were able to walk wherever we wanted to go but not possible if you are unable to do that much walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avenel, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and myself just spent 2 nights here celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary.
We stayed in the Brafferton Suite and I must say what an absolutely wonderful time.
Large spacious room with hot tub sitting room and shared outside porch !
Absolutely spotless !!. Brian is a awesome cook and offers several breakfast choices, all which are fantastic. My wife and myself loved the apple cinnamon muffins !! Home made by Joan the owner.

Room Tip: Large spacious suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your room and our breakfasts! Hopefully we can host you again sometime soon!
The Hodges Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson,NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Really can't think of anything negative to say about the Brafferton Inn!! It was a VERY pleasant stay. We have been to Gettysburg countless times, but have never stayed at the Brafferton Inn, which is conveniently located in the center of town. We now know where we'll always stay!
The breakfasts were incredible. The owners and staff couldn't have been any nicer. Our room, the Brafferton Suite, was large, beautifully decorated, and we slept soundly in the comfortable king-size bed.
Definitely looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: The Brafferton Suite has it's own parking space behind the Inn, which was a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I spent this past weekend at the Brafferton Inn. The Inn was so very nice. The staff was friendly, the room very clean and the breakfast was delicious. They have a choice of 3 or 4 entrees for breakfast. We stayed in the Brafferton Suite which is very large. The bed was very comfortable, the room was extremely clean and decorated beautifully. I think the Brafferton Inn will become our regular place when we come to Gettysburg. I can't imagine staying anywhere else now.

Room Tip: The Brafferton Suite includes a parking spot for your car, although the municipal letbisnright behin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We would love to host you again on your next trip to Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I just stayed for 2 nights at the Brafferton Inn. We stayed in Dorothy's Hideaway and we loved it. This room was in a separate building, 2 doors down from the main house so it felt like we had our own entrance. The room itself was a very nice size, the bathroom was very large and also had a nice large jacuzzi tub. We also had our own huge balcony, however it was WAY too hot outside to use it which was a bummer. The room was also very modern and updated. Breakfast both mornings was fantastic. They give fruit, a pastry and then we got 4 choices each morning for the main course. And it was all delicious! There were 3 seating times for breakfast which was also convenient.

The Inn itself is right in downtown so when it isn't over 100 degrees out, it is very nice to be able to walk to shopping and food. The only downside is the parking meters, but we thought it would be worse than it was and it turned out to not be a big deal at all. Parking is free 8pm-8am and if you are driving through the battlefield during the day, or are in and out, it isn't a huge inconvenience. There was a parking lot around the corner that was $.25 an hour which was a nice deal.

Joan showed us around when we got there and didn't leave out a single detail. We got a tour of the main floor and she showed us around the ins and outs. She walked with us to our room and even gave us suggestions for ghost tours (Ghosts of Gettysburg--really cool!) and dinner (Garryowen's Irish Pub--excellent).

Overall, we had a great, relaxing time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brafferton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.