We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Inn, Close to Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brafferton Inn to your Saves list
Brafferton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taneytown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Inn, Close to Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We celebrated my husband's birthday at the Brafferton Inn. The Lincoln Suite was tastefully decorated and very spacious. Our king bed was so comfortable I barely remember pulling up the covers. Our Kuerig coffee went well with Joan's delicious cookies as we read our morning paper. Breakfast was a feast of fruit, pastries, bacon and blueberry pancakes created by Brian and oh so tasty. We live only 18 miles away, but will be back for the relaxing ambiance and yummy treats.

Room Tip: We loved the Lincoln Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    48
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
59
230
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zion
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Can't tell you how much my wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Brafferton Inn. We were lucky enough to get in with last minute reservations and enjoyed our stay so much we extended an extra day.

Pros - Comfortable, quiet room
- Best home-cooked breakfast at a B&B I've ever had
- Staff is OUTSTANDING in all aspects. We think of Joan (the owner) as more of a friend than an Innkeeper.

Cons - Could use a slightly larger TV in the room. Hard to see from the bed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the Inn are quieter and easy access to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a lovely B & B. We stayed in the Garden Room in the Carriage House and it was so lovely. The place is immaculately clean, everything is comfortable, and the food is fantastic. It is in a beautiful setting in downtown Gettysburg, very charming, within walking distance to many restaurants and quaint shops. Joan and other members of the staff (Emily) were absoluately wonderful. We truly enjoyed our time here. Parking in historic downtown is not always readily available, however, and that was not something we really thought about. There was a nice parking garage (paid) behind the inn that had plenty of spaces available and the staff were very helpful about parking information. We would absolutely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I needed to find a unique Christmas present (surprise) that was relaxing, enjoyable and fun too. I found the Inn on BedandBreakfast.com did some research and booked right on their website. Upon arrival we were given a choice in the room we wanted to stay in.. the Lincoln Suite or our original Catherine's Cove. While the Cove was beautiful we decided to stay in the Suite. It was spacious and absolutely beautiful. Joan and her son were so warm and welcoming! Breakfast was delish and I couldn't have asked for anything better.. We will def be back :)

Room Tip: pick whats best for you... they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I along with another couple spent the weekend after Thanksgiving at The Brafferton Inn. We will be going back again in the spring. Extremely relaxing, clean, friendly and phenomenal breakfast. We stayed in the Brafferton Suite and our friends stayed in Dorothy's Hideaway. When we went to check out we were asked if we actually stayed there because they never saw us except for breakfast. Yes, we stayed. Yes, we enjoyed. Yes, close to everything. The only suggestion I would make is if you go to the Inn at Herr for dinner plan on a 4 hour experience. We had planned on dinner and a ghost hunt. Missed the ghost hunt because service is extremely slow there. We will go back. No questions asked.

Room Tip: Parking is extremely difficult unless you have it included with your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Codori Suite for his birthday weekend. We just got home to Long Island and I'm already missing the Inn. It was the best b&b my husband had stayed in and this was my first. Joan and Brian were so wonderful and we felt very welcomed. The town was decorated beautifully for Christmas and we had the chance to see the Christmas Parade at night from the warmth of our livingroom! The suite was very comfy cozy and beautifully decorated. We felt it was our home away from home. Brian is an AMAAAZING cook!!! I want to live there! Our experience was so great! I had to buy 2 mugs from them so that when I'm at home sipping on my coffee/ hot chocolate, i can remember the absolutely wonderful time we had there. HIGHLY recommend going there!!! Thanks to everyone at the Brafferton Inn especially to Joan and Brian :0)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We decided on the Brafferton because if its central location in the historic area of Gettysburg. With a brother-in-law who was a history teacher and major interest was the Civil War, we were not disappointed! We stayed in the main building. If you need a TV in your room, be sure to check the before you book your room. Also, remember it was built in 1786, so floors squeak and it is hard to be quiet walking down the halls. Our breakfasts were quite good. Brian and Joan actually gave us 4 choices and her muffins were tremendous!

Room Tip: Two front rooms are absolutely beautiful, but noisy street outside and squeaky halls inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brafferton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.