We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brafferton Inn to your Saves list
Brafferton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Brafferton Inn. It was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and we were not disapointed! The room was spacious and clean, the bed and breakfast conviently located and walking distance to everything, and breakfast every morning was delicious!! Thank you for a wonderful experience. You guys brought history to life. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    49
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
246
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folcroft, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We loved the setting, the accommodations were wonderful, the staff of the Inn was very helpful and pleasant, and the Inn is right in the center of town. Walking distance to so many things in the city, and centrally located to all the major attractions. Of the many B&B's we have stayed in this is the one we feel is the complete package. Atmosphere, food, friendliness, accommodations. Will definately be back!

Room Tip: Utilize the free over-night parking around back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Inn is exceptionally managed with full attention to the needs of guests. Rooms are spotless and the staff is welcoming and sincere. Brian's breakfast will get you off to a great start, and provide enough nourishment to last most ofthe day as you make your way around the many sites and activites Gettysburg has to offer. The location is ideal for touring the battlefiedl, shopping and dining. High quality restaurants and shops are steps away. Don't let the lack of parking sway you, because parking is available at a very reasonable rate (even free if you time it right). Hope to return soon and again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algona, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our family loved the Brafferton! Our rooms were great and there was plenty of room for the 5 of us. We really loved that it's the oldest house in Gettysburg and the breakfast alone was worth the trip. It was incredible! Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer, at the Brafferton and in Gettysburg. The Brafferton staff gave us great tips on a bus tour of the battlefield, which turned out the be perfect. Our stay in Gettysburg was one of the best things of our 18-day trip. We will never forget it and plan to visit again next summer. We stay at A LOT of hotels throughout the year and this is one of our best ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were very pleased with our weekend stay at the Brafferton Inn. The Hoke and Deck rooms were very nice and comfortable. The homestyle breakfast was delicious and very filling. Two teeny gripes, which weren't a huge deal at all, but worthy of mention since I am taking time to write a review. The owner pretty much trashed our selection of the Farnsworth Inn for dinner, telling us the food was "terrible" and that we should go to the Dobbin House. That strong opinion immediately made us wonder if there was some sort of undisclosed connection between the Brafferton and the Dobbin House. We decided to go to both and draw our own conclusion. Needless to say, we completely disagreed (more on those in the restuarant review section). Anyway, we thought it was odd that there was such a STRONG emotion to another local establishment and we actually told the people at the Farnsworth that they had been trashed by the Brafferton. It just didn't seem fair. The second point is that there was no milk for the morning coffee before breakfast. There was only that nasty powder stuff. When my husband asked for some milk (as the owners were preparing breakfast), they seemed put out. And then, when he poured it into his first cup of coffee, it was whisked away as if it was gold. It's not so tough to leave out a pitcher of milk for an hour and if you're worried it will go bad (which it won't) , it can be placed in a bowl of ice. Anyway, it was just a bit rude and as a result, we went out for our pre-breakfast coffee the next morning. Anyway, those are minor gripes for a place that was very nice overall.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but find it very comical about the restaurant opinions. We are very happy you had a good meal at a local establishment. When our guests ask us our opinions on restaurants, we will give our opinions with no bias. All we can go by is our guest feedback over the years, ( 7 years and about 40,000 guests), and reviews right here on Tripadvisor. We do not have any affiliations with other restaurants, escpecially one that is our competitor!
Thank You,
The Hodges Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Good day to every one who reads this review. I travel a lot and when I need to go to Gettysburg, I stay here!!!!!!!. I just love the way they make you feel and the food, what can i say, its better then my moms was. sorry mom. I think its one of the best in Gettysburg. One or Two others are good, but not as good as this one is. Thanks for a good stay.
Ted

Room Tip: Room in the back are very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Thank you Ted. We have loved getting to know you over the years, and truly appreciate the kind words!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is our second time staying at the Brafferton Inn. The Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was awesome. We stayed in the Eisenhower Suite which is on the 3rd floor at the front and still found it quite peaceful.
My only complaint would be that the bed was a little hard on the back and maybe time for a change. Overall it is an excellent B and B and would definately stay there again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#11 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#13 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brafferton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.