We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great family friendly B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had a quick getaway to Gettysburg and throughly enjoyed our stay here. It's so nice staying in a bed and breakfast where children are welcomed! Even my very busy 4 year old son was entertained. Friday night ghost stories is a must... and the history lessons in the morning should not be missed. I found the pricing to be very reasonable considering what was offered and also the delicious breakfast!

The highlight of my childrens stay would definately be when the innkeeper took them on a personal tour of the barn and all the animals... they were thrilled!

This was our second trip to the Battlefield B&B and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    27
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
76
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We decided at the last minute on New Year's Day to stop in Gettysburg on our way back to New York. When we called the Battlefield, they were so helpful and professional on the phone. They had the perfect room for us - a suite with two bedrooms, one for me and my husband and one for my two young daughters. The suite had a lot of character and the furnishings were of good quality. The inn itself is charming and there are many animals on the property which my children loved. In the morning, we heard the most fascinating retelling of the Civil War era by Mike. Breakfast was fabulous. No skimping on quality - e.g. fresh fruit and real maple syrup. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I, along with our two dogs, stayed here while visiting the Battlefield. The welcome could not have been friendlier with coffee and cookies waiting for us. The room was exactly as promised with plenty of floor space for sleeping for the dogs. The grounds were lovely and walking the dogs in the early morning fog in the fields was a added treat. The breakfast was fantastic and we (including the dogs) enjoyed the history talk about the life of a Union private. The location was perfect: on the southern edge of the Battlefield. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Our family stayed in General Merritt's Suite from November 8-11, 2010. We could have not asked for a more perfect place to have spent our time in Gettysburg. The rooms were immaculately clean, and the ambiance of the decor was like stepping back in time. The breakfast each morning was nothing short of spectacular, and there was always something to please even the fussiest of pallets. The history lessons each morning were phenomenal, and the historians were very well-rounded with knowledge. It was well worth the trip just to experience the lessons at the start of each day..

Battlefield Bed and Breakfast has a barn with two beautiful horses, one donkey, goats and sheep which were great fun for the children. Not to mention all the lovely cats that roam the 30 acres and are more than happy to spend some quality time being petted. Florence and her staff go beyond the meaning of hospitality and made certain every comfort imaginable was met. The children delighted in the cookies and lemonade every afternoon and the Civil War attire that could be used for photos.

We look forward to our next stay and if you are looking for a perfect place to stay in Gettysburg, this is the place!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This was a great place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and the homemade breakfasts were fantastic.

Visit the web site for detailed information about the rooms, the property, and the daily events - it's all very accurate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I chose this B&B based on TripAdvisor recommendations. To all the positive reviews that mention the breakfast, ghost stories,and morning history talk, helpful staff, I simply say "ditto". The positive comments already mentioned cover all the "pluses" of staying in this B&B. Great place to bring your children to try out the B&B experience. Very homey and comfortable, and we enjoyed walking the grounds and chatting with the other guests. On the town of Gettysburg itself, everyone should come and learn what a pivotal place this was during the Civil War...solemn and moving.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Just stayed four days at the Battlefield Bed & Breakfast! Wow!! Beautiful grounds (love the cats, horses and donkey), lovely rooms. Stayed in Rush's and was very pleased. Breakfast was incredible. Everyday something different and enough food to satisfy you till dinner. Morning history programs are excellent. Cookies and lemonade great! Don't hesitate to say here. Florence the owner makes you feel welcome and at home. We will NEVER stay anywhere else. I could go on about this place forever...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.