We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent food and Hospitality. . May be Haunted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$130.00 January Special
Ranked #12 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excelent food and Hospitality. . May be Haunted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

I have nothing but high remarks for this B&B. Florence the owner is very hospitable and breakfast is bar none the best! We stayed in Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite and the rooms was spacious for my family and in-laws. The grounds are beautiful and lotus pond is breathtaking like a living Monet painting. The farm animals were such a nice welcome and we enjoyed petting them. The outside cats are also great companions! We also thoroughly enjoyed the morning history demonstrations.

On the haunted side, we did put out a voice recorder at 1:30 AM on the old Piano when the house was very quite and guests were asleep. I didn't listen to what was recorded until we got home and was surprised to hear there was a man talking on the voice recorder at great lengths however could not make out what he was saying. I’m a believer and a skeptic. Not sure what to make of it but it was compelling to say the least! Would be interesting to hear of others who also use a voice recorder at this location.

  • Liked — Historical era home, Hospitality, Food & Farm Life
  • Disliked — Cant say there was anyting I didn't like
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    27
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
73
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

We decided to run away and get married last year. We had stayed at another B & B in Gettysburg previously that was lovely but the breakfasts were a little too "frou-frou" for my husband's tastes so we searched the Internet for another B & B. The pictures of the Battlefield B&B caught our eye. We read on the site that a wedding could be arranged through the owner and decided to commit, sight unseen, to letting her arrange that for us. We could not have been more pleased.

In the meantime we decided to include some friends from Ohio as our witnesses and booked them a room, also. The minister was the most wonderful "man of the cloth" we have ever met. Our wedding was intimate and special in front of the fireplace in the parlor. Florence stayed up late the night before and made a cake of our choosing (carrot) from scratch and decorated it with real flowers from the garden. Her staff, who are all wonderful, also made heartshaped apple pancakes the morning of our wedding for all of the guests.

The rooms were beautiful and spotless, beds are comfortable and grounds are peaceful and quiet. One of the reviews made mention of the dark parlor...well, gosh it's in the part of the home that was built in 1809! If someone wants new and fancy, they shouldn't be looking at B & B's in a historical place. Food is excellent and the historians are fascinating. We have already booked a return trip for our anniversary...we can't wait!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything we didn't like
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

This was my second visit to Battlefield B & B, this time under a different owner. Again, I was pleased with the accomodations (civil war era themed rooms), the food (delicious breakfasts plus homemade cookies and lemonade in the afternoons), the company (owner and staff are very friendly and accomodating), and setting (peaceful farmhouse location with lots of cats--some lap friendly and other people-shy). I look forward to spending time there again on my next trip to Gettysburg.

  • Liked — Warm, friendly staff, food, cats.
  • Disliked — Thin walls in our room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

We have stayed at the Battlefield twice and will be back many more times. First of all the breakfast they cook up every morning is incredible. My buddy Van will entertain you with his history narations at 8:00 am before breakfast, you must attend those.
The owner Florence is so kind and really is concered about your stay. I love this place!!!!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, NJ
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

Me and my husband stayed here for the "Dinner with President Lincoln" weekend.
Upon arrival, we were very warmly greeted and shown to our room, which was awesome and spotless.
There was a history talk every morning at 8:00 a.m. before breakfast that was expertly presented. Breakfast was delicious and the service was great. The other guests all seemed to be history buffs which made for some very interesting conversation.
The house as a whole gave one the feeling of actually being in the 1860's, complete with costumed staff. This was a very unique experience for us and one that I would recommend very highly.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2005

This B&B is made up of a new section and an old section. I splurged and stayed in the old section - and it was great. The bathroom & room were clean, the bed was comfortable and the place was very inviting.

I went to Gettysburg for the History Meets The Arts weekend and I'm so glad I chose this place to stay instead of a newer hotel.

The food was great and the period presentations at breakfast by the host were a blast. I'll stay here the next time I go to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed April 2002
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2005

The Battlefield Bed and Breakfast is far and away one of the best inn experiences I've had - hands down. Florence wakes her guests each morning to an optional hour talk by a local CivIl War expert which is followed by a two or three course breakfast, which is beyond great. Her friendly staff insure that all guests are taken care of and Florence herself joins in the inevitable after breakfast conversation with the guests. For Civil War buffs the optional hour long morning program is the perfect way to begin a day on the battlefield. You grab a cup of coffee or tea sit back and are amazed by the breadth of knowledge and passion these folks show about this seminal event in the nation's history. I could not recommmend the Battlefield B & B any higher. It's the best! 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.