We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay when Visiting Gettysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$130 January Special
Ranked #12 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
St. Inigoes, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay when Visiting Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

The Battlefield B&B is the perfect place to stay while visiting Gettysburg. The grounds are beautiful and their history compelling. Before we went to sleep for our one-night stay, we had the pleasure of taking a guided ghost tour of Gettysburg with the captivating Miss Betty. Although we could only stay for one night, we thoroughly enjoyed the morning presentation by a local historian and the fantastic breakfast. Rumor has it that the B&B is haunted and, although we stayed in what we were told was the most haunted room at the Inn, we neither saw nor heard any spirits that evening.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    27
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
72
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast. It was very quiet and peaceful. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The daily history talks before breakfast were very interesting and entertaining. The breakfast was delicous. We traveled with friends and enjoyed having rooms in a private section of the house. While, I'd probably pick a new inn to try out on my next visit, I do recommend a stay at this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsville WV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

If you think you will enjoy a 200 year old field stone farmhouse and its civil war history, you will appreciate what this unique B&B offers. We appreciate that Florence absolutely welcomes children as we want ours to experience and value history. There were also two other families with children there, with attentive parents, and all of the children were exceptionally well-behaved and were enjoying themselves in a relaxed atmosphere.

Our family enjoyed walking the grounds and visiting with the goats, donkey, horses, sheep and cats. A much needed break from the noise and crowds of the town.

We enjoyed the Friday night ghost stories, which had a lot of history lesson, the morning speaker, and the delicious breakfast. There are civil war era clothes for the kids to try out, artifacts found on the property on display, and civil war related videos to watch in the comfortable common room. We even had a parnormal experience which convinced my skeptical husband!

At first, I thought we could not afford to stay here, because it is more expensive than other B&B's, but now I feel like I have given my family something very special, and we cannot afford to miss those opportunities!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

My dog and I both enjoyed the hospitality, the cordial folks, and the beautiful rooms and grounds. Well-behaved dogs are welcomed as long as they won't chase the cats. The history lessons in the morning before the breakfast, the afternoon lemonaide and cookies, and the general ambiance make this a place I will return to often.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Florence and her staff made us feel welcomed and valued. Staying over Passover/Easter holidays at the B&B with 6 yr. twins and 80+ grandparents was delightful. Amazingly everyone's needs were met during this relaxing and fun weekend. Florence was an inclusive host and taught my children how to die Easter eggs, shared ghost stories, and scheduled interesting morning historical talks that set the stage for later touring. The grounds were so much fun for my 6 yr. old twins, and the entire battlefield grounds kept them active and involved. Not only was breakfast lovely to look at, it was terrific to eat. We want to make this a holiday tradition.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

My husband , my ten year old son, and I recently stayed at the Gettysburg Battlefield Bed and Breakfast . What a treat! The rooms were spotless, comfortable and decorated with beautiful touches from a past era. The dining room where breakfast was served was elegant. Breakfasts were preceeded by a different history lecture each day. It was a great send off to go out and get the most out of the Gettysburg National Military Park and the surrounding area. It was very convieniently located near fine restaurants and interesting shopping. My son developed a much deeper interest in the Civil War and wants to go on to learn more about this era of American History. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

My partner and I debated whether to stay at a Gettysburg motel or spend a bit more and stay here. We decided to stay at the B&B and were glad we did. The breakfasts are truly gourmet quality, and the folks were most helpful, with lots of suggestions about how to make the most of our Gettysburg visit.

The historical presentations were the high point: special praise to Rick Garland, who's the only person I've ever seen get a whole room of adults singing in unison without feeling like idiots! He spent a couple of hours here, and provided lots of in-depth material on the battle in Q&A.

This place is a cat lover's paradise: if you sit outside and look friendly, chances are you'll have a cat in your lap soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.