We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Winter Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Valentines Day Tea
Ranked #12 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Groveville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Winter Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in Graham's Artillery (or Battery as indicated on the door of the room) which is on the first floor in the 1809 house. Not a large room but cozy with a gas fireplace, comfortable queen bed and private bath with standard tub/shower combination. This room was the original parlor of the house complete with original ceiling beams and floor boards.There is a flat screen TV, ice bucket, wine opener and stemmed glasses provided in the room. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. I loved the beautiful tableware! All the guests sit together at the same tables in the lovely dining room.There were hot beverages, ice, lemonade and water always available for self-serve as well as afternoon treats. The common areas were comfortable and uniquely decorated.The atrium was absolutely magnificient! All the staff were very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed the ghost stories on Friday evening.The grounds are very large with a barn and a pond. Loved all the friendly cats roaming around the outside. We'd like to come back in the warmer weather. Great family and pet friendly B&B but even if you don't have a pet and travel as a couple as we did, this is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: This room is right off of the common areas and there is a room directly above. Although this is a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Graham's Artillery room. I hope to see you on your future trips to Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    27
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
73
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for the long MLK weekend and enjoyed our stay immensely. They are not kidding when they say dog-friendly! Our husky Issola had the run of the place, playing on the lawn and hanging out with us in the cozy parlor. The breakfasts were delicious, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a great time. Look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
I am glad that you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our facilities so enjoyable. I look forward to seeing you and your dog on future stays here in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast on numerous occasions now, but this was our first time staying at Swan Cottage. It is a separate property at the entrance to the road leading up to the bed and breakfast. My husband and I, along with our two teenage daughters, stayed in the cottage for New Year's Eve. It is a beautiful cottage with very lovely decor, and an ample amount of room that we didn't even feel like our daughters were only across the hall from us. As with every room at the bed and breakfast, the cottage was immaculately clean. It has a lovely kitchen area, dining room, living room; which makes into a comfortable sofa bed the girls slept on, two large bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs, and massage chairs in the master bedroom. Everything you could need for a wonderful vacation along with the fantastic morning history lesson and breakfast at the bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay in Swan Cottage. Your description really does the cottage justice, it is a very spacious property. The perfect space to bring family and celebrate the New Year! I hope top see you on future family trips to Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here because they allow dogs and and had a great experience. We stayed in the Tack room, which is separate from the house and even nicer than the pictures show. The bathroom was incredible! The breakfasts were great. We got a free historical lecture in the a.m. before breakfast. The B & B is very close to the battlefield and we enjoyed seeing horses, donkeys and goats right outside our room. I'm glad that we didn't get the Swan Cottage because it is quite a hike from the main house (but very nice, I'm sure).

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the Tack Room. You are correct, Swan Cottage is removed from the immediate area of the farm house and barn. Most guests use their vehicles to commute between the farm house and the cottage, especially in the winter. I hope you and your dog stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the Battlefield B&B with plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children in the Reilly's NC Artillery Suite. Kitties and farm animals and a delicious breakfast in a historic home and farm just a short drive from Liberty Ski Resort and the attractions at Gettysburg.

Room Tip: The Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite is ideal for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2014
I am glad that you and your children enjoyed your stay here. To clarify, we are 20 minutes from Liberty Resort and 5 minutes from the town of Gettysburg. I hope you visit us on your future trips to Gettysburg and Adams County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stayed for only one night, and wish it had been longer. Staff were so friendly. Our room was so charming, and we slept very well. In the morning we were giving an hours talk about the terrible battle at Gettysburg. After, we had an excellent breakfast. Our little dog was made most welcome. Would definitely return to this lovely historic Inn.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very proud of our morning history programs. I am happy to hear that the historic ambiance of our establishment was enjoyable for both of you. I hope to see you again on your future trips to Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

My husband and I arrived at the B&B Monday evening (11/10/14) and planned to leave on the 12th. We were so impressed by the accommodations, the historical talks every morning and the amazing service that we extended our stay another night. We learned about the history of the Cavalry battle on the south field which is never discussed even at the National park. The location is beautiful and rural, but it's just a short drive to downtown. We stayed in Graham's Artillery Room which was in the old section of the house. Our room was great. We loved that we were allowed to bring our 6 month old dog as we had almost decided against taking the trip. Everybody was wonderful and inviting and very helpful with recommendations. The breakfasts were so delicious and well-presented. We will definitely stay here again when we return

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
I am glad that you had such a wonderful experience staying with us! We are very proud of our morning history talks and I am flattered that you drew a comparison to the National Park Service's presentations. We have had other guests tell us similar things about our history programs. I hope to see you and your dog the next time you stay in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.