We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Active Duty Discount
Ranked #13 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Indianapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our all-too-brief visit to the Battefield B&B. The morning breakfast was delicious and the preceding history lecture very informative. The staff was very friendly. The place is pet friendly and it was nice to see the other guests who had dogs being treated with such welcome. I would definitely see myself staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Innkeeping Assistant at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    26
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
62
70
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Beautiful house, we got to gettysburg with no plan in mind on Memorial Day weekend. Lucked out when a family had to leave and they had an opening. Journals are great we stayed up all night reading them. Staff was amazing. Can't wait to cone back again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Innkeeping Assistant at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Battlefield B&B. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Beautiful house and property! Wonderful staff! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a great B&b in Gettysburg and it's even a civil war house. Love it! They also have amazing cookies :) can't wait to visit there again! Also the innkeeper was wonderful booking my room at the last minute when my plans out of town fell through And staying late to get me in and settled! Thanks so much!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Innkeeping Assistant at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Battlefield B&B. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I, along with our dog stayed here in early April 2014 and we found a lot to like. Part of the B&B dates to the early 1800's and was a witness to the battle. There are monuments and historic markers on and near the property mostly commemorating the cavalry engagement that occurred here at the southern edge of the battlefield. Additionally, there's a talk most mornings before breakfast covering Gettysburg and Civil War topics. We really enjoyed the talk about the owner of the property at the time of the battle. He was apparently an abolitionist and was actually captured briefly during the battle! Regarding less historical matters, the breakfasts were top notch, the rooms were clean, and you're a short 5-10 minute drive from most of the sites. If there's one quibble with the place it would be that some if it's historical aspects tend to get in the way of modern day comforts, but you can't have it both ways I suppose. Lastly, we were also really pleased with their pet policies. As I mentioned, we stayed with our dog and there were no additional pet fees and there was lots of green space where we could take her for a walk, though there were quite a few outdoor cats which may have intimidated her, but in general she was made to feel like a very welcome guest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Innkeeping Assistant at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Battlefield B&B. We are glad that you (and your dog) enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a very beautiful and historical B&B located on a beautiful (still working) farm. Everything is beautifully furnished beds are very comfortable, and every morning you are served a lovely breakfast by people in authentic costume followed by a wonderful historical discussion by a "soldier".
When i visited i stayed in their newly renovated "Tack Room" because i was traveling with my Corgi. OMG IT WAS GORGEOUS! Bare walls showing the barn and stone, and a beautiful blue paint with a gorgeous bathroom (wish i cold have utilized the Jacuzzi!). Since the hold weddings this was obviously the brides suite, and boy! Whatever brides get to use this were in heaven!.
I have no complaints regarding this establishment, but i do warn people who are Allergic to animals as there are many (friendly) barn cats running about as well as two horses a donkey, goats, and some other farm animals.
Will be coming here every time i visit!

Room Tip: The tack room is the best room to stay in. Very romantic, secluded and gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I decided to surprise my sister with a grand weekend in Gettysburg at the end of February. My husband and I and stayed there back 2006. Since then the inn has added the "Tack room", I cant say enough about this room. It was a magical oasis surrounded in the rich history of Gettysburg. We arrived on February 21, 2014, just after a big snow storm. We had an early check-in and our room was ready and did not disappoint. The tack room was the original barn used during the battle at Gettysburg, the renovations transformed this old barn back to its original glory by incorporating the original beams, trim and post throughout the room. My sister and I explored the grounds and enjoyed our breakfast which was amazing, fresh squeezed orange juice, pancakes, homemade muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, tea.... Oh, Did I mention the never ending coffee/teas and home made cookies (still warm). We are planning our next in the fall. I highly recommend this bed & breakfast. They have so much to offer for families, specials events (family reunion, wedding, anniversaries) and you can even bring your four legged children.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This B&B was a standout due to its proximity to the Gettysburg battlefields and its pet friendliness. Accessed by a bumpy road off the highway, you first see the 19th century barn and quickly find out that this is still a working farm. Our suite was everything we'd hoped for - beautifully furnished and comfortable, with a view to the large pond in the grounds. There is a beautifully furnished living room where we entertained cousins on our second day. The most unique service occurs at 8 AM every day when there is an hour-long history lesson with a local expert before breakfast. Each breakfast was superb and tailored to our dietary needs. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;