We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battlefield Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Battlefield Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Absolutely outstanding. By far the most enchanted, calming and relaxing atmosphere I've ever encountered. I don't think I've ever met a friendly staff. I felt like I was in my own house. We stayed here only two nights, but would've stayed a MONTH if we could. We brought our german shepherd along with us and he took FULL advantage of the free-land all around the B&B and got plenty of exercise there. This place is in the perfect location. It was clean, and the food was remarkable. Everything was done with such care. My fiance and I got engaged during our trip here which made it just that much more wonderful for us. The friendly barn cats were a perfect added addition. I don't think I've ever come across such a lovely, quaint and profound place to stay during a vacation.

Sarah
Pittsburgh, PA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    21
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
54
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

There is something for everybody here. A beautiful and convenient location adjacent to the Battlefield that was occupied by cavalry during the war! Each day we enjoyed a historical presentation by incredibly knowledgeable and entertaining interpreters that came dressed in uniform. Breakfast was different each morning and absolutely delicious, served on tables set with period-style candelabras and dishes. The staff was warm, friendly, helpful and we could not have asked for more in making us feel welcome and comfortable. My kids really loved all the cats, the sheep, goat, horse and especially the donkey! What a beautiful property and great experience! We will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed in the Tack Room. It was very very comfortable. No Ghosts....lol. No complaints at all. The staff was very friendly, the guest historian every morning with breakfast was fun to listen too, and the barn cats were very cool. Staying in the tack room gets you very close with Jacob the donkey and the two horses, as you step out on your patio, and their fence is right there! The off key rooster is good for a laugh too!

When I return to Gettysburg, I will def be staying here again!

Room Tip: The tack room is located in the barn, away from the main house, so you get your chance to get away a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We simply booked the room but then the staff called us to make sure we did not leave tours to chance. They booked the tours for us and we didn't miss out. Each morning the B&B brought in a Gettysburg historian for a presentation before breakfast lending more meaning to some of the areas we visited. Food was delicious, ambiance excellent. We'll be back since there is still so much more to see in Gettysburg and we will return to Battlefield B&B.

Room Tip: We toured the honeymoon suite in the "barn". If you can afford it, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family can not say enough good things about the Battlefield bed and breakfast. The staff was so welcoming and kind and the accommodations were fantastic. The breakfast was amazing. This is the place to stay in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn earlier this month and had a wonderful experience. The B&B is quaint and homey with staff that goes out of their way to be accommodating; the room we stayed in was the Hart's Artillery Room and was incredibly romantic. We asked for a suggestion about where to have dinner and they suggested the historic Dobbin House Tavern, which was exactly what we were looking for. Breakfast the next morning was a tasty diet-buster and so filling that we weren't hungry for lunch! The only negative was that the people staying in the room next to us came in late and were very very loud - but any hotel/motel/B&B can have loud guests. Would I recommend this place and go back - absolutely!

Room Tip: All the rooms look lovely but the Hart's Artillery room was quite romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Battlefield B & B in mid July. This actually is a very historic house from the Civil War and at one point, troops set up camp on their property during the battle of Gettysburg. You can see the artifacts left over on the property after the troops left!
We were so impressed with the hospitality, the room & the food. However what sets this B&B apart from others, is the educational value it adds by bringing in speakers to teach the guest on some aspects of the Civil War in Gettysburg. Each morning we had a different gentleman come in authentic dress to share with us their vast insights. This really added to our vacation in this area of the country.
A fun addition to this B & B, was the Civil War costumes they had on hand for you to dress up in to take pictures :)
Loved seeing the many kitties that roam the property (farm).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Also Known As:
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg
Battlefield Hotel
Battlefield b&b Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.