We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$130 January Special
Ranked #12 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We simply booked the room but then the staff called us to make sure we did not leave tours to chance. They booked the tours for us and we didn't miss out. Each morning the B&B brought in a Gettysburg historian for a presentation before breakfast lending more meaning to some of the areas we visited. Food was delicious, ambiance excellent. We'll be back since there is still so much more to see in Gettysburg and we will return to Battlefield B&B.

Room Tip: We toured the honeymoon suite in the "barn". If you can afford it, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    27
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
72
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family can not say enough good things about the Battlefield bed and breakfast. The staff was so welcoming and kind and the accommodations were fantastic. The breakfast was amazing. This is the place to stay in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn earlier this month and had a wonderful experience. The B&B is quaint and homey with staff that goes out of their way to be accommodating; the room we stayed in was the Hart's Artillery Room and was incredibly romantic. We asked for a suggestion about where to have dinner and they suggested the historic Dobbin House Tavern, which was exactly what we were looking for. Breakfast the next morning was a tasty diet-buster and so filling that we weren't hungry for lunch! The only negative was that the people staying in the room next to us came in late and were very very loud - but any hotel/motel/B&B can have loud guests. Would I recommend this place and go back - absolutely!

Room Tip: All the rooms look lovely but the Hart's Artillery room was quite romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Battlefield B & B in mid July. This actually is a very historic house from the Civil War and at one point, troops set up camp on their property during the battle of Gettysburg. You can see the artifacts left over on the property after the troops left!
We were so impressed with the hospitality, the room & the food. However what sets this B&B apart from others, is the educational value it adds by bringing in speakers to teach the guest on some aspects of the Civil War in Gettysburg. Each morning we had a different gentleman come in authentic dress to share with us their vast insights. This really added to our vacation in this area of the country.
A fun addition to this B & B, was the Civil War costumes they had on hand for you to dress up in to take pictures :)
Loved seeing the many kitties that roam the property (farm).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Plainfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013, and had a wonderful trip. We had our large dog with us, and the staff was so accomodating. We stayed in the Georgia 7th Infantry room, which is off the dining room and very private. The only other room up there is a massage room, which is not used at night. The linens were clean and crisp, the room was spotless and the bath towels where fluffy. Breakfast was amazing; omlets, potatoes, and apple cobbler one morning, french toast, potatoes and blueberry muffins the next and for our last breakfast we had scrambled eggs, potatos, cranberry muffins, tradidtion sausage gravy and biscuits. Then there were homemade cookies, iced tea and lemonade every night! The one hour history talks each morning were fascinating, and my husband was thrilled to be able to shoot a musket. There are 30 acres to walk your dog, which you need to clean up after (garbage can with bags is on the porch. There are 30 outdoor cats, so if you are bringing a dog, you need to be aware of this. You can bring your dog to the talks and keep them with you at breakfast as long as they are on a leash. What a wonderful place to stay, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korumburra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Can't say enough about this property had a great stay. My room was out of this world living in history. The speakers before breakfast amazed me with their knowledge of the battle and the Civil War. The staff were friendly and always on hand to help. Breakfast was plenty and good traditional fare. This Inn is also close to all attractions, a stay here is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Battlefield B&B regularly has an historian speak to the guests on topics related to the battle of Gettysburg for an hour each morning, before a delicious breakfast is served at 9 a.m. How cool is that? Breakfast is huge and varies each day, and there is always something special from the cook. We had the most wonderful tart made from fresh pears. There are several acres of ponds and grassy paths and a big field on the property, which my dog, who accompanied us, enjoyed. There is fresh coffee early in the morning, and a breezy place to sit in the shade off the porch, and quiet tables scattered around a comfortable garden, where you can rest and read with cats for company. The room was charming, spotless and stocked with materials orienting you to the town and various ways to tour the battlefield. The town is steeped in its history, eager to educate, and the B&B makes both a good point of entry into this somewhat scholarly vacation spot, and a welcome retreat from touring. I lacked for nothing here, and was utterly comfortable during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.