We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History before breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$130.00 January Special
Ranked #12 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“History before breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Battlefield B&B regularly has an historian speak to the guests on topics related to the battle of Gettysburg for an hour each morning, before a delicious breakfast is served at 9 a.m. How cool is that? Breakfast is huge and varies each day, and there is always something special from the cook. We had the most wonderful tart made from fresh pears. There are several acres of ponds and grassy paths and a big field on the property, which my dog, who accompanied us, enjoyed. There is fresh coffee early in the morning, and a breezy place to sit in the shade off the porch, and quiet tables scattered around a comfortable garden, where you can rest and read with cats for company. The room was charming, spotless and stocked with materials orienting you to the town and various ways to tour the battlefield. The town is steeped in its history, eager to educate, and the B&B makes both a good point of entry into this somewhat scholarly vacation spot, and a welcome retreat from touring. I lacked for nothing here, and was utterly comfortable during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    27
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
73
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 3 had a great stay at this historic, comfortable inn located on the southern part of the battlefield in Gettysburg. The staff are very welcoming and the breakfast was hearty and delicious. Best of all, the inn is so close to the battlefield and the Visitor Center. We feel we fully experienced this amazing national park.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a great time at the B & B. The historians were great and gave you a history lesson before breakfast. Breakfast was fantastic with fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice. They will customize breakfast if need be. Loved the grounds and being so close to the battlefield. When we were there they had a wedding in the barn and it was decorated beautifully make sure to visit it.

Room Tip: If you go with your family stay in the Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite. It will accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and taking time to let us know you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Three of us stayed at the Barttlefield B and B . and we all were in agreement that it was one of the best one's we've ever stayed at. Right from the first phone contact you feel their personal interest in making you're vacation as great as possible . The historical presenters are a real unique bonus to their already peaceful setting .They all were so entertaining and every history buffs dream with their wealth of information .Being right on the battlefield you can feel the history right there with you . We were so happy to find our new Gettysburg home away from home .

Room Tip: The Swan Cottage was a great way to share a vacation with Faimly and friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We do enjoy sharing information about Gettysburg's history, museums, the national park, and all the galleries and shops that feature Gettysburg's unique place in history. You can never see it all in one trip so we have more to share when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at The Battlefield Bed and Breakfast over a Halloween weekend. The property is so beautiful. I was greeted by the owner, Flo, like I was a close family member. She is so nice. She gave me a tour of the house and told me of the history of the house and property. The rooms were very comfortable and the room I stayed in was very large. The bathroom was double the size of most hotel bathrooms. After getting settled, I could smell fresh baked cookies, so I went downstairs to find cookies and beverages being set out for the guests. Everyone that stayed there that night were friendly and we had a lot of fun playing the piano and singing. The property itself is very historical and I had a great time exploring the yard and trails. I definitely would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone spending time in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. You have captured what we are all about. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

They were very accommodating and gave good brief history of the property when we arrived. It's nice to be left alone. They were available if you needed them. The bed was a bit uncomfortable but I've defiantly slept in worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate knowing that our guests enjoy our morning history program and our breakfasts. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville,georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and just returned from a three day trip to Gettysburg and the Battlefield. We stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast and could not have found a more friendly and quaint place to stay near the Battlefield. Each morning they provide a hour historic discussion with a very informed individual...these discussions were a prelude to an exciting day at the battlefield. Next the B&B served a fabulous breakfast
The rooms where very clean and quite. Again the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the entire area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hart's Artillery room, which consisted a very comfortable double bed with a can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.