We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Active Duty Discount
Ranked #13 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
West Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at The Battlefield Bed and Breakfast over a Halloween weekend. The property is so beautiful. I was greeted by the owner, Flo, like I was a close family member. She is so nice. She gave me a tour of the house and told me of the history of the house and property. The rooms were very comfortable and the room I stayed in was very large. The bathroom was double the size of most hotel bathrooms. After getting settled, I could smell fresh baked cookies, so I went downstairs to find cookies and beverages being set out for the guests. Everyone that stayed there that night were friendly and we had a lot of fun playing the piano and singing. The property itself is very historical and I had a great time exploring the yard and trails. I definitely would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone spending time in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. You have captured what we are all about. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    26
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
62
70
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

They were very accommodating and gave good brief history of the property when we arrived. It's nice to be left alone. They were available if you needed them. The bed was a bit uncomfortable but I've defiantly slept in worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate knowing that our guests enjoy our morning history program and our breakfasts. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville,georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and just returned from a three day trip to Gettysburg and the Battlefield. We stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast and could not have found a more friendly and quaint place to stay near the Battlefield. Each morning they provide a hour historic discussion with a very informed individual...these discussions were a prelude to an exciting day at the battlefield. Next the B&B served a fabulous breakfast
The rooms where very clean and quite. Again the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the entire area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hart's Artillery room, which consisted a very comfortable double bed with a can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We made a last minute decision to visit Gettysburg over the spring break and wanted a fun place to stay. This place was perfect for us as it was especially kid and pet-friendly. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel right at home. After a long day of driving and touring, we had fun taking pictures as we tried on the Civil War era clothes in the family room. Our room, the Tack Room, was beautiful! What a treat to wake up to horses at our porch door! The history lesson before breakfast was an extra that made the experience even more meaningful. Breakfast couldn't have been more delicious. It's a little out of the downtown area but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay! The property is beautiful. Lots of room to roam. The rooms are comfy,clean & well equipped. The staff is awesome! They're very friendly & went above & beyond to make sure we were happy. The breakfasts were yummy & almost too pretty to eat. Morning history programs are a great touch. We wil definately will be returning on our next visit to Gettysburg

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in General Merritt's Suite on the night of 30 March, and had a wonderful time. The suite is huge and has two separate bedrooms, with a very large bathroom too. Our small dog had plenty of room to move around, and she really enjoyed seeing the horses and goats on the property. Our morning discussion was about civilians on the battlefield at Gettysburg, peppered with plenty of amusing anecdotes about the townspeople in the early 1860s. Other guests who had stayed here previously had stories of ghost encounters in and around the house. The only spirits that accosted us were of the red wine variety...maybe next time.

Room Tip: Get the Merritt Suite if traveling with children. You'll have two rooms, a shared bathroom, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

As a Civil War Buff and lover of old, old historical Inns, I couldn't have found a better place to stay while visiting Gettysburg. This 1809 farmhouse has been added on to, creating a bit of a irregular shaped structure and interior but the Union Cavalry officers stayed there on the night of July 3rd, 1863!! Well that's enough for me! I'm sold!! The decor was great and the innkeepers very sociable providing their own stories of past visitors and past history. The family and I stayed in the Merritt suite which is comprised of two separate rooms. Both room were comfortable and provided a restful night. In the morning, I woke up early to come down to the dining room to listen to what I thought would be just another re-enactor. Instead, I spent a good hour clinging to every word of a former curator of a Gettysburg museum who took his rapt audience though the history of the war before and after the battle. Dressed in period costume and with a soldiers "kit" to boot, his reasoning was that we'd hear all we needed in the park itself that day and he was right! A most excellent talk which you should not miss.
Breakfast was delicious served by very sweet ladies who served your every need. I will stay nowhere else on my future trips to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.