We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our overall experience was wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the service and the staff exceptional.The gourmet breakfasts along with the history discussions over coffee while waiting for breakfast made this very special place even more special. The fact that we could bring our dog along made it perfect. We plan on returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardengirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are just starting to experience B&B's so we don't have too many places to compare, but we were very happy with our experience at the Battlefield. The room was comfortable and very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and served right on time. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSC104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 days in August 2011 at the Battlefield Bed & Breakfast at Gettysburg , P.A and were thrilled with the experience. We are returning there in November 2012. The accomadations exceeded our expectations and the breakfast was outstanding. The staff is courteous and attentive. They display the knowledge of the Inn and the Hospitality that enhances your time there. Surrounded by the period antique furnishing, the warmth of the rooms, immaculately clean, and the property itself leads to a very restfull stay. I highly reccomend this establishment and my thanks to Florence, the Inn Keeper, for providing the setting for a wonderfull time. We are returning in 2012 with 9 of our friends so that they may share this beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: They are all excellent rooms but if you have mobility issues there are those that are available on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My daughter and I just got back from a weekend in Gettysburg and stayed a night in the beautiful Tack room of the Barn. The exposed beams & stone wall of the barn along with the most comfortable bed made this place my new favorite comfy luxurious getaway spot.

The staff is what makes the place so special. All were accommodating and made you feel right at home. The full breakfast was delicious. And the morning history lesson with Gerry was fascinating.

The grounds were beautiful and well kept. I liked feeling like we were away from it all when actually just a few moments away from all Gettysburg attractions. I plan on returning as soon as possible and look forward to seeing the staff once again.

My only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanfrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our recent trip to Gettysburg was my first and my companion's 15th. When travelling we always enjoy staying at a bed and breakfast. Battlefield B & B was a wonderful experience! The history of the home parallels the history of the area. The grounds and walking trail are beautiful and lush with native vegetation. Our room was roomy and comfortable, staff knowlegable and most concerned with our comfort. There was a 'living' history speaker each morning before breakfast that we especially enjoyed. While we did not have children with us, I did appreciate how family friendly Battlefield B & B was. I saw stacks of games, period costumes and acres to play on for children. The breakfasts served were varied and tasty, loved the raspberry muffins. We were asked if there were any dietary restrictions/preferences upon arrival. This will most definitely be a travel destination in our future!

Room Tip: Several rooms have two beds for those accustomed to not sharing a bed but enjoy travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our trip to Virginia and Pennsylvania included as many Civil War Battlefields as we could fit into one weeks time. Battlefield Bed & Breakfast truly added a great ambiance to this "bucket list" trip. Swan Cottage was divine and accommodated the three of us perfectly. The gourmet breakfasts were beautifully presented and some of the best I have ever eaten. However, the biggest surprise was the Civil War stories told daily by the very knowledgeable speakers. This included sharing ghost stories on Friday night as well as firing a vintage rifle musket for the first time. An extraordinary visit to a magical place,
thanks, The Silva's

Room Tip: If you enjoy a little privacy then Swan Cottage is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okbyeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My Husband and I had never been to Gettysburg before. We had planned on staying at 3 different locations during our visit, but ended up extending our stay here at the Battlefield Bed & Breakfast. We loved it so much! From the moment we walked in the door, we felt welcome. The staff were all so nice, and the breakfasts were amazing! The morning history presentations before breakfast were quite interesting and informative. The rooms were well kept and the place was very clean. We would highly recommend the Battlefield B&B for anyone that is wanting a relaxing vacation in a warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmacleod0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,923 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing