We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Maryland
1 review
“Lovely, romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about the Battlefield B and B. From the moment we drove onto the property until the time we departed, we were overwhelmed with the kindness and calmness of a highly organized, professionally run inn and staff.
We were kept entertained outdoors by the farm-like quality with the residents kitty cats and the horses. The scenery is breathtaking, and truly a hidden jewel.
We will be going back and one more thing....the food they served EVERYDAY was absolutely fabulous. We especially loved the Lincoln dinner and could not believe how realistic and entertaining the re-enactor was. Thanks to Bill, Florence, David and the rest of the friendly staff for making our weekned so memorable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are decorated so tastefully and period appropriate. We loved our room, on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    28
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
74
80
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindenwold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This was our second stay at the Battlefield B&B. It was just as much fun as the first time.
The breakfast was delicious and beautifully plated.
The host or hostess are so helpful with directions and special events.
Each morning they have someone speak about different aspects of the Civil War. They make their topic very interesting.
My husband and I took a walk along one of the paths in the back. The groundskeeper told us of two trees in the distance that were there during the war.
We went on Miss Betty's ghost tour which ended back at the barn of the B&B.
My hubby's favorite amenity was when you walk in the door of this establishment they have a Keurig !
We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older part of the Inn which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast and could not have been any happier! The room was comfortable and decorated beautifully. The breakfasts we had were SUPERB and fun and relaxing. Good start to our adventures in and around Gettysburg! The hostess was pleasant and accommodating to our every need. We felt right at home! Loved the Friday night ghost stories and the morning activities. We especially enjoyed the man who played the piano and sang songs from the Civil War era. It gave us an insightful look back in time.
The grounds are beautiful and we took several walks, accompanied by a couple resident kitties to watch over us. We would stay there again in an instant and HIGHLY recommend the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast!

Room Tip: ANY of the rooms are great!!! We were upstairs and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was one of the most relaxing and entertaining experience we have had in lodging experience. We have traveled across the USA from Ohio. Our visit to Gettysburg was so fun and educations. And our experience at the Battlefield B&B was above our expectations. The staff is friends, they activities they provide are interesting and the place is immaculate. Very homey and comfortable. We will definately be back when we visit Gettysburg again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We've stayed at Battlefield B&B twice now. It is a great place to stay. One morning I went for a walk and met Horace Greeley on the front walkway. The B&B has people come and do presentation before breakfast. The actor playing Horace was in character the whole time. Rooms were nice. One trip we had the "haunted" room. Didn't see any ghosts though. The Inn is just a mile or so south of the battlefield so is close but not too close.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMd
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had a delightful visit here. We came to spend 2 days and really see Gettysburg and the new visitor center. This was the perfect place to stay on the ede of the battlefeild in an historic home and sweeping grounds. The owner talked history with us over beakfast after a delightful hour talk from a civil war union soldier in full uniform. Rooms very nice, food good but for us it was the sense of being right there--a part of the history we came for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My paddymac from Ireland and myself spent 2 lovely nights at this B & B [20 Nov 2011 - 22 Nov 2011]. We found the B & B and grounds very charming and the staff very hospitable. Not to mention, the breakfast spread was awesome. I'd give the French Toast served on our first day rave reviews. The house had a very cozy atmosphere, despite the rumors of ghosts! The Harts Artillery Room was very nice and had a great canopy bed (also very comfortable). To our surprise, we were the only guests on our first night (Sunday night). The host offered to stay on site if we were uncomfortable with this, but we thought we might catch some ghosts so were fine being on our own. Unfortunately no sightings to report.... The gentleman who gave us our history lesson in the morning was fantastic and even let my paddy fire a blank from a musket. I would definitely stay at this B & B again as the experience was unique and authentic. The location is good as well, just a short drive to downtown and the visitor center. Our visit to Gettysburg was made more memorable because we stayed at this B & B! Highly recommed and be sure to say hello to the animals in the barn. The donkey was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#11 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
4.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#6 of 25 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.