We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$130 January Special
Ranked #12 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Spotsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast on March 18-20, 2011. This made our fourth visit there since our first visit in November, and our second time staying in Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite. It has a lovely queen-sized bed with the backdrop of a stone wall from the original 1806 farmhouse. It had an adjoining bedroom with two twin beds; which was perfect for our pre-teen daughters.

This was our first time experiencing the Friday night ghost stories, and it was a very enjoyable and entertaining experience. The entire experience has been absolutely perfect every time we have stayed there. If you are looking for a relaxing experience with immaculately clean rooms, an incredible morning history lesson, delicious breakfast and wonderful, dedicated staff, this is the place to stay! We will certainly be going back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    27
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
72
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Junction City, Kansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My wife and I only stayed one night here but I wish we had stayed longer.

Just in the house alone there is so much to do. There are pianos, games, costumes you can try on, a nice dining area, cats, books, artifacts, ghost stories, history lessons, etc.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating (they'll ask you if you have any food allergies or any other preferences during your stay).

The property is well-situated location-wise, as well. It's far enough off the road that you don't hear any traffic going by and getting back on the main road to go to Gettysburg and all the other sights is convenient as well.

Some of the rooms look a bit dated--as they should! This is after all, an OLD HOUSE, not a Marriott hotel built in 2010. It never fails to irk me when people complain about how old or worn a B&B or house is when they obviously never take into consideration the history of the place. It's hard enough getting a 1960s house up to year 2000 standards, one can only commend the efforts at doing the same for a house built in the 1800s.
Anyways, the room was comfortable, as was the bed. The gas fireplace worked and was easy to turn on and off. Despite the B&B being almost completely booked for the weekend, full with dogs and children, there was plenty of peace and quiet in our room.

I really felt at home and relaxed here and would definitely recommend this B&B to others who are going to Gettysburg for the first time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My teenage son and I went to Gettysburg for a bonding trip and chose the Battlefield B&B because the building was there during the battle and the history lessons at breakfast sounded like fun. The Friday night ghost stories set the tone for a great weekend. It was awesome to wake up, grab a cup of strong coffee, and have very knowledgeable people come and talk about the battle, or the effect on the town, or what it was like to be a soldier of the era. My son had a blast! He even got to fire a musket! Because of the history talks, we met all the other guests and looked forward to catching up with them at the end of the day. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts served were delicious and filling. We wished they could serve dinner, too. The staff is really impressive. There are large common areas and with the size of the property you get that homey feeling like you are visiting grandmas farm…which just happens to be right next door to a great battlefield. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had a quick getaway to Gettysburg and throughly enjoyed our stay here. It's so nice staying in a bed and breakfast where children are welcomed! Even my very busy 4 year old son was entertained. Friday night ghost stories is a must... and the history lessons in the morning should not be missed. I found the pricing to be very reasonable considering what was offered and also the delicious breakfast!

The highlight of my childrens stay would definately be when the innkeeper took them on a personal tour of the barn and all the animals... they were thrilled!

This was our second trip to the Battlefield B&B and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We decided at the last minute on New Year's Day to stop in Gettysburg on our way back to New York. When we called the Battlefield, they were so helpful and professional on the phone. They had the perfect room for us - a suite with two bedrooms, one for me and my husband and one for my two young daughters. The suite had a lot of character and the furnishings were of good quality. The inn itself is charming and there are many animals on the property which my children loved. In the morning, we heard the most fascinating retelling of the Civil War era by Mike. Breakfast was fabulous. No skimping on quality - e.g. fresh fruit and real maple syrup. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I, along with our two dogs, stayed here while visiting the Battlefield. The welcome could not have been friendlier with coffee and cookies waiting for us. The room was exactly as promised with plenty of floor space for sleeping for the dogs. The grounds were lovely and walking the dogs in the early morning fog in the fields was a added treat. The breakfast was fantastic and we (including the dogs) enjoyed the history talk about the life of a Union private. The location was perfect: on the southern edge of the Battlefield. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Our family stayed in General Merritt's Suite from November 8-11, 2010. We could have not asked for a more perfect place to have spent our time in Gettysburg. The rooms were immaculately clean, and the ambiance of the decor was like stepping back in time. The breakfast each morning was nothing short of spectacular, and there was always something to please even the fussiest of pallets. The history lessons each morning were phenomenal, and the historians were very well-rounded with knowledge. It was well worth the trip just to experience the lessons at the start of each day..

Battlefield Bed and Breakfast has a barn with two beautiful horses, one donkey, goats and sheep which were great fun for the children. Not to mention all the lovely cats that roam the 30 acres and are more than happy to spend some quality time being petted. Florence and her staff go beyond the meaning of hospitality and made certain every comfort imaginable was met. The children delighted in the cookies and lemonade every afternoon and the Civil War attire that could be used for photos.

We look forward to our next stay and if you are looking for a perfect place to stay in Gettysburg, this is the place!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden and barn weddings are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate cottage for honeymooners with a jacuzzi and full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.