We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baladerry Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baladerry Inn to your Saves list
Baladerry Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Hospital Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Hardwick, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was here with my husband and son for a weekend to absorb as much as we could about the Battle of Gettysburg. The Baladerry Inn is remarkably clean, and the grounds are tranquil. The main house is spacious, and they gave us access to the refrigerator in the kitchen. Free coffee, bottles of water, and snacks. We were on the second floor in the carriage house, and it was fine. We were really only there for sleeping and showering. The staff is very friendly. You can literally walk to Gettysburg National Park from here--a very convenient location, and only a 5 minute drive into historic downtown Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
111
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife Kristine and I stayed overnight for our anniversary and a subsequent ghost hunt tour and had a really nice visit! Staff was great and the grounds are beautiful! Highly recommend! This was a first B & B for me and I was thoroughly impressed!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I returned to the Baladerry with most of our extended family during the first week of May. We booked 4 of the 5 rooms in the Carriage House. We had a wonderful time. Judy helped us plan in room massages and gifts of flowers, wine and chocolates for everyone. The grounds are so beautiful and peaceful. The rooms are spacious and so well maintained. We enjoyed wine on the patio and walks throughout the property. The family loved feeling tucked away while being so close to town and the battlefield. Breakfast each day was so delicious and the staff met the needs of my elderly parents, making them feel so special. I simply cannot say enough good things. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was really impressed with Judy and her staff with their hospitality and helpfulness. Judy even lent me the audio tour CD's of the battlefield. It was very informative. The three course breakfasts are out of this world! Also the complimentary home made cookies and other goodies, plus bottled water, juice and soda, available in the guest refrigerator. This inn used to be the union hospital during the civil war. I chose the Marigold room, as it attracts ghost hunters often. (All though the whole property has that potential). I thought I would try it out and wow, a phantom voice on my recorder, a loud popping sound like a champagne cork (which I didn't hear, but was recorded), two knocks that I asked for that I heard, plus recorded, washroom door closed while I was out and couldn't make it do that myself. There could be more, as I haven't listen to all of the recordings (EVP's) as yet. I recommend the Baladerry Inn and hope to return one day. It is far enough away from the main part of town, so it is nice and quiet. This place has everything going for it. Couldn't be better! If you are afraid of ghosts, don't worry, just tell them to stop and they usually do.
Stephen M.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

At the last minute, we drove up from DC for the day to see Gettysburg. Once we were there we decided to stay the night. We were lucky and were able to get a last minute reservation over the phone. The Baladerry Inn is beautiful inside and out. Our host Judy was warm and friendly, showing us around the Inn and making us feel right at home. After settling in, we enjoyed the quiet patio and planned out the rest of our day. Judy recommended that we use her Audio CD to tour the battlegrounds – a wonderful suggestion for us first time visitors! After spending most of the day at the battlegrounds, we returned with a bottle of wine and enjoyed the peacefully surroundings. The three course gourmet breakfasts with fresh orange juice are not to be missed!!! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights during our first visit to Gettysburg. The Innkeepers are friendly and the place is very clean, quiet, and well organized. The breakfasts were DELICIOUS and elegantly served. This would make a great place for a family or group gathering, the great hall and patio are lovely and inviting. A more elegant version of home...!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ken and Judy were so welcoming, smiley, and made us feel right at home as soon as we stepped in. We were travelling with two young girls ages 11 and 7, and they we greeted equally. While we were having breakfast on the patio on morning, in the corner of the property, we saw three deer grazing in the dew-laden lawn. It was so serene and restorative. The rooms were SO CLEAN and comfortable. I personally enjoyed the 24hr. access to the Keurig in the foyer. One detail I will never forget is the housekeeper arranged my 7 year old's stuffed animal and special blankee in a special way on her bed. That meant a lot to me as a Mom, and was a surprise to my daughter. It made her feel special.

Room Tip: I liked the Carriage House, but I would have been happy anywhere at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baladerry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baladerry Inn

Address: 40 Hospital Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baladerry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baladerry Inn is an ideal choice for your visit to historic Gettysburg and the surrounding area in Pennsylvania’s Adams County. With its unique country setting at the edge of the battlefield and minutes to the restaurants and attractions in town, the Baladerry Inn offers Gettysburg’s most charming blend of comfort and convenience. Open year round, the property features spacious landscaped grounds, romantic terraces, a majestic great room, and finely furnished and tastefully appointed guestrooms, all including private baths. Our guests also enjoy a full country breakfast each morning. The inn is a distinguished member of the Forbes Travel Guide (formerly Mobil Travel Guide) and AAA. Please accept our invitation to make the Baladerry Inn your lodging choice in Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baladerry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baladerry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.