We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF W/PROMO CODE:TRIP
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have wanted to stay at the Gettysburg Hotel for some time and finally decided to do so on the tail end of Valentine's weekend. The price for a Jacuzzi, King bed room was very reasonable and the experience was top of the line all the way around. We arrived about 90 minutes ahead of check-in time and the front desk gladly check us in ahead of schedule. We asked for a late check-out so we could enjoy a little more time there and again the front desk obliged without question. The three clerks that we interacted with were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious, clean, and while I think the two-person Jacuzzi needs widened a little to comfortably hold two people (and we are not big people), it worked very well and the water was always hot. The hotel is rich with history but holds a very modern charm as well. It is truly the best stay we have ever had in Gettysburg. The view overlooking the square from our upper room was very scenic as you look down upon the houses and area where Lincoln and other great men have resided. We did not try the adjoining restaurant so we cannot say how that rates but there are plenty of options around town. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you stay facing the square of Gettysburg, you may get some street noise. My wife minded it a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    92
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
78
105
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was a spur of the moment 24 hour getaway since we only live about 35 miles away from Gettysburg and love to visit this area. It was Valentine's weekend and our usual places to stay were booked. We've never considered the Gettysburg Hotel mainly due to high prices in season. One of our requirements when going away is a 2 person jacuzzi. We found a suite (Eisenhour suite 210) for around $150/night w/ fireplace and 2 person jacuzzi at the Gettysburg Hotel and booked it. The suite was very spacious as was the bathroom (jacuzzi located in bathroom). Very nicely decorated, prime location and great view of the heart of Gettysburg. Lots of great pubs, wine shops, antique shops and other shops to browse, all in walking distance. The two main things we did not care for was the fact that we did not have hot water for showers in the morning. Front desk said to let water run for a while... I think after 10" we should have had hot water. Both of our showers were lukewarm, not comfortable to us. The front desk did offer to send up a service man, but we declined as we were not decent to have a repair call! The front desk did then offer 2 free breakfasts in their restaurant (the food was decent). The second was that this beautiful room did not offer a mini refrig. We bring some water with us and had no easy way to keep it cold. I did have to clean the jacuzzi as there were grey smears on sides (residue??) and black fuzzies (?) throughout the tub. (I always carry bathroom spray cleaner and clorox wipes). Another turnoff for me was the few long dark colored hairs that I found in the clean folded towels. Yuck! In fairness, this is not the only hotel I've found this at. The front desk failed to tell us anything about the hotel upon check in. There is no free Continental Breakfast since they have a restaurant attached (One Lincoln). They also failed to tell us that you had to pay to park. We were told "park in our garage around the corner". The garage was about half a block away, its a public parking garage and no assigned parking spots according to reserved hotel room. If this would be in season I have to wonder what parking would be like. Parking fee is $10.00 per 24 hours. I would not consider the 2 person jacuzzi to be for 2 people. Maybe if you sit upright and do not care to relax at all. Only one end has a slope w/ neck rest, the other end is straight up and down with the spigot right in the middle. Not impressed with this feature. The bed was very comfortable, the pillows to thick and firm for our liking. There was a nice sitting area, but when lying in bed to watch TV is is about 15+ feet away and a little difficult to view. I take my reviews on Tripadvisor very serious and I find this site to be 100% helpful when making decisions. This very well could have been a one time thing with the water for us. But knowing the area as we do we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, Usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Impromptu visit overnight in Gettysburg. This hotel was right in Lincoln Square. Clean, reasonable, and comfortable.

Many shops, restaurants, and bars in walking distance! Lobby has fireplaces and tables and very welcoming.

We did not eat in restaurant but did stop in bar. Neither of the bartenders were particularly friendly and then asked us to take drinks into lobby because they were closing.

We would definitely stay there again and I recommend it to anyone looking for a great hotel in town center!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to say that we are a school with 53 students and we got stuck in a snowstorm and our one turned to two. The hotel actually accomodated 53 unplanned stays, without a complaint. They are awesome!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay, and the winter rates are a bargain. The lobby is spacious and pretty and has lots of seating areas to relax and enjoy the view of the bustling town square. The décor isn’t “historic,” if that is what you are looking for, but its bright contemporary freshness appealed to my tastes. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The lobby bar was a welcome respite after exploring all the quaint shops and restaurants in town. There is convenient and inexpensive parking behind the hotel (no valet). Note that although the rooms facing the square give you a fantastic view, the street noise (traffic and human) goes on all night long. I was warned of this at check-in, but chose not to sacrifice the view for a quiet room at the rear of the hotel. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to opt for the latter. An all around pleasant stay and I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington , Pa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here overnight. Modern clean attractive hotel. No room service. No lobby coffee in the morning. Do not eat breakfast in the restaurant if you need to be somewhere. The restaurant was pretty empty, but our service was slow and food cold. 10.00 a night parking. It is right in the center of town which is great for shopping. I would come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed at the Gettysburg Inn for a meeting over a weekend. It is a beautiful facitlity. The staff is attentive and the food at our banquest was exceptional. I would indeed stay here again. The location on the Square in the middle of Gettysburg is ideal, and if you like to walk, almost everything is within walking distance, including parts of the Battlefield.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.