We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF W/PROMO CODE:TRIP
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Elkhart
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice location, but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Gettysburg Hotel is an old hotel that was built before the Civil War. It has been updated in the past few years, but it still has an old hotel feel. Our stay here was nice, but it definitely not worth the price. Across the street from the hotel is Abraham Lincoln's statue where he penned the Gettysburg address. There are historical informative plaques in front of the hotel that tell of what happened there during the Civil War.
I will say that our room was pretty nice to be so old. We had a very good mattress and really had a good night's sleep for each night that we were there. If money is not an issue, it is a good place to stay. But you better book early. The front desk told us that they stay booked well in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    92
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
79
106
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely surprise to find this remodeled gem. The room was spacious with the best hair dryer, comfortable wingback chair and plenty of towels tucked away in the closet. How smart they are to have 2 luggage racks. The new bar and restaurant was a cozy retreat and the service at the desk went above and beyond friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We came to Gettysburg to tour the battlefields and do a little shopping. I have high expectations of hotels where I stay. The Gettysburg Hotel met them all. The bed was clean and comfortable. The room clean and fresh. Staff was amazing! The whole day I kept saying how much I loved it there! The price was right too! Our room faced the road and I did not hear any of the traffic at all and I am a light sleeper. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Gettysburg Hotel is THE place to stay when visiting Gettysburg. It is in such a perfect location -- right in the Square, which really isn't a square, its a circle...
I see that one reviewer mentioned truck noise but we didn't hear a thing from our King Suite -- except the train once but it wasn't a big deal, two whistle toots and that's it.
The Hotel is right across the street from David Wills House, where President Lincoln slept the night before he delivered the Gettysburg address. He slept in a bedroom on the second floor and put the finishing touches on his speech there. Its a nice little museum now and worth 30-45 minutes of your time.
The Hotel is clean and beautifully decorated. A few hallways are a little slanted and a creak or two in the floors will happen but the building looks great for its age.
We dined at One Lincoln which is the restaurant in the hotel and the food was GREAT !!! Maybe a touch over priced (not bad though) but the portions were quite large and we were able to take boxes back to the room before heading out for our Ghost Tour, which was a package purchased through the Hotel.
The Hotel is within walking distance to many of the most historic sites including Jennie Wade's House (both of them), the soldiers museum and even the Battlefield itself. Although if you are going to the Battlefield I recommend driving to the Visitors center and getting a feel for things there first. Walking from the Gettysburg Hotel down Baltimore Street is like walking back in time with all of the bronze plaques and historic places not to mention the damaged buildings that have bullet holes still in them from the fighting on that road 150 years ago. The best part is that you don't have to worry about driving around since the hotel is so conveniently located. There's a large parking garage behind the building and its a 30 second walk to the hotel.
There are lots of quaint eaterys around the hotel too, our favorite was the Blue and Gray Bar and Grill in the square. One word to the wise, DO NOT try the food challenge or the Gettysburg Ghost Wings youll be crying for your Mommy if you do, they make you sign a waiver if you order them. It is a small place so get there early.
We will definitely be returning to the Gettysburg Hotel, it has everything...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We just spent 3 nights here and enjoyed it. We had a lovely, large room on the 5th floor on the front of the building, The traffic is constant, however. Day. Night. Evening. Early. Late. No matter, it's LOUD and there is no getting away from it. The décor is in stark contrast to other places in town and what you might think to be appropriate for the area. I, however, enjoyed staying inside a Pottery Barn catalog. A relief from the 'period' style everywhere else. For my taste, the bar is waaaaay too bright. Ambiance, folks! Same w/the lobby areas. Too bright and there are 3 gas fireplaces and none of them were working. Bummer, for sure. Staff is professional and pleasant and breakfast (only meal eaten there) was very good.

Room Tip: avoid front of the building re the traffic noise.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I were In Lancaster, PA for a business trip. In making arrangements for the time in Lancaster we determined to add to our trip by staying in Gettysburg. It had been many years for me and my wife had never been in the area. We found the Gettysburg Hotel on line andI called and made our reservations. We planned to be in Gettysburg for three days in order to "soak up" the entire surroundings. Our stay at the Hotel was one of the most delightful stays we have experienced anywhere in quite some time. It really is an elegant hotel. It is on the square and is literally in the middle of everything. It has an "old world" charm that sets it apart. From the time of our welcome at check-in to our departure it was an amazing experience. We were in a fireplace room and certainly made use of it. BY being in the middle of town we were able to walk and experience the atmosphere of the town that made it a rich experience. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and very knowledgable of not only the history of the hotel but surrounding area.
My wife and I consider our trip to Gettysburg and the hotel to be a never forgotten experience and would heartedly recommend the Hotel to anyone traveling to this area of our country.

Room Tip: King room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location, recently renovated, but lots of corners cut. While the hotel is centrally located, it is located on the corner of the busiest traffic intersection in the area and ALL trucks have to pass by, all day, and ALL night. Windows seem flimsy and allows all the noise in -- if your room faces the front you may not sleep well. Bathroom exhaust fan, while a nice to have, was very loud and on the same switch as the light. You cannot turn on the bathroom light without hearing the fan --$20 would have fixed that during the renovation. Shower was a plastic bath tub insert. Staff was very friendly and helpful, but I probably wouldn't do this again unless I was sure I had a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, the location is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, TravelClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.