We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OFF THE CHARTS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF W/PROMO CODE:TRIP
Ranked #14 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Cincinnati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OFF THE CHARTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I were In Lancaster, PA for a business trip. In making arrangements for the time in Lancaster we determined to add to our trip by staying in Gettysburg. It had been many years for me and my wife had never been in the area. We found the Gettysburg Hotel on line andI called and made our reservations. We planned to be in Gettysburg for three days in order to "soak up" the entire surroundings. Our stay at the Hotel was one of the most delightful stays we have experienced anywhere in quite some time. It really is an elegant hotel. It is on the square and is literally in the middle of everything. It has an "old world" charm that sets it apart. From the time of our welcome at check-in to our departure it was an amazing experience. We were in a fireplace room and certainly made use of it. BY being in the middle of town we were able to walk and experience the atmosphere of the town that made it a rich experience. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and very knowledgable of not only the history of the hotel but surrounding area.
My wife and I consider our trip to Gettysburg and the hotel to be a never forgotten experience and would heartedly recommend the Hotel to anyone traveling to this area of our country.

Room Tip: King room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    75
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
60
94
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location, recently renovated, but lots of corners cut. While the hotel is centrally located, it is located on the corner of the busiest traffic intersection in the area and ALL trucks have to pass by, all day, and ALL night. Windows seem flimsy and allows all the noise in -- if your room faces the front you may not sleep well. Bathroom exhaust fan, while a nice to have, was very loud and on the same switch as the light. You cannot turn on the bathroom light without hearing the fan --$20 would have fixed that during the renovation. Shower was a plastic bath tub insert. Staff was very friendly and helpful, but I probably wouldn't do this again unless I was sure I had a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, the location is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for the second time at the Gettysburg Hotel. The staff is always professional and the rooms are clean and inviting. The hotel has its own very nice bar/restaurant and is within waling distance to several others. For parking, there is a covered municipal parking lot behind the hotel. As I am writing this review (11/13), the hotel does not yet provide valet parking. Lastly, it is 5 to 10 minutes by car to/from the Battlefield. It is a very convenient and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: A room facing the side street was a more quiet in the morning than the Lincoln Square side. A bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Nothing stands above cleanliness and for this alone I see no need to try another hotel. We stayed in the new wing where the rooms seem to be larger. Located in the center of town it is convenient to everything. Ate breakfast in the reasonably priced restaurant and was pleased with the constant professional service. Front desk very helpful with suggestions and directions. Parking is on site and a maximum of $10 per day. Comfortable sitting room off the lobby.Two Queen beds $154 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing. Prices vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here two nights in early November with wife and 14 yr old son. Rented a suite with two doubles in one bedoom, pull out sofa w TV in separate sitting area, which was ideal for son. Got a very good special rate on their website. Was 1st time in Gettysburg, location is perfect for exploring the town as well as the battlefields and other nearby sites. Staff was super friendly, rooms were clean and beds super comfortable. Only drawback was road noise from the trucks passing by outside the window, which has been already mentioned and I knew going in. Light sleepers may want to request an inner room. Fortunately, we were very tired from being out sightseeing and hiking around all day so the noise was not a bother to any of us, and did not detract from our 5-star experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend here. It was renovated since we were there last approx 7 years ago and it is now more modern than colonial as it used to be. It was very clean and staff were friendly. Unfortunately my husband had his heart set on taking a whirlpool bath, but it didn't work. The fireplace in the room was nice and worked properly. It is expensive and we had to pay for parking. We will try one of the other hotels next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertson, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A beautiful hotel in the heart of Gettysburg. We stayed one night here. Linda at the front desk was wonderful and the room was great. Only caution is that most of the hotel is modern and not a historical space. It is however beautiful.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.