We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for historical downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Gettysburg Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location for historical downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Gettysburg with no idea of hotel situation. Our criteria is a nice room within walking distance of good restaurants. This hotel hit both marks. Beautiful room in the upper level of the hotel overlooking the town square. Take note it can be noisy with traffic but it quiets down in late evening.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    158
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
141
171
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Do not stay here if you want to sleep. My husband and I stayed two nights expecting a relaxing and refreshing getaway. Both nights we were kept awake from loud music coming from below. Im not exaggerating even a little. It shook our room and could be heard over the television. We could hear every word the DJ was speaking. Also, the bed and pillows were the worst we've ever experienced. There was nothing restful about this room. Pick another place to stay if sleep is part of your plan.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at The Gettysburg Hotel for three nights as part of a Road Scholar program. The accommodations were first class. If I have the chance to go to Gettysburg again, I would hope to stay here. Excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Location,location,location, walking distance to histotrical sites, antiquing and restaurants. If you're there on Saturday don't miss the evening musical program Christ Church up the street. Rooms were nice with large comfy beds. The only thing I can say negatively about the hotel is the front desk service, polity but snobbish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haddon township
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was immaculate. We have returned here with all of our children ages 23 - 9. This is our 4th stay at the hotel. It is in a great location to all the sights. You can walk through the town, or take your car on a short drive to the Battlefield destinations. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We loved the corner suites with our boys. It is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a delightful hotel. Modern, but not too 'modern'. Spotless. Big room. Stayed on Square with no noise. People at hotel were very very nice. Gettysburg has a number of nice hotels in the downtown, and a Saturday morning market, so it was great being downtown to walk around both the evening and morning. Perfect!!

Room Tip: Choice of rooms with nice amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's always a gamble when you stay in an unknown town at an unknown hotel. I got it right when I picked the Gettysburg Hotel for my family trip. So right that I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else should we return. I'd toyed with some upscale motels in the Gateway Center, but when I saw them, I realized how far from the real town they are, and that they're like upstale motels anywhere in the country. Not the Gettysburg! The location is perfect--right on the central square, in walking distance of lots of restaurants and shops. There's an outdoor pool, which was great on balmy August days after seeing the battlefield. Happily, although we'd been warned in reviews not to be in one of the front facing rooms because of noise from the street, we didn't experience any! We were in the attached building on a right angle from the main hotel, and we looked directly out over the square, and perhaps they did some soundproofing during their renovation because it was wonderfully quiet to sleep there. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I couldn't get the computer in the business center to work for me, and the city does charge you for going in and out of the garage out back--it was $10 for 24 hours, but if you leave, and return and leave again, there are additional fees. One of the receptionists said they were looking into valet service, which would be more convenient, but in the end probably more expensive! These minor issues aside, the classiness of the hotel, the fact that it's part of Gettysburg history, combined with its location right in town make it a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor in the oldest building in the hotel, and overlooked the square. We loved w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#11 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,643 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#8 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.