We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic hotel in the middle of Gettysburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gettysburg Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF W/PROMO CODE:TRIP
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
White Stone, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic hotel in the middle of Gettysburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for a symposium and battlefield tour. The staff was friendly, everything seemed clean and well-run, and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room was right on Carlisle Street, so the traffic noise was a bit bothersome, but the rooms on the alley side would probably be quieter. Great place to explore the town, since you're right in the middle of it all!

Room Tip: Rooms fronting on Lincoln square and the main streets have some road noise - if you prefer quiet, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Lisa, you’re comments are truly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. The tips you've provided will be very helpful for TripAdvisor members as they decide where to stay in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    59
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
72
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilbertsville,Pa.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the Gettysburg Hotel and it was just as good as our first time. The location is perfect (easy to find).The room was beautiful and spacious (we had a king w/fireplace) . We came for an anniversary getaway and was very pleased with our stay. The staff was very friendly, it was conveniently located in the center of town and walking distance to just about everything! I will definitely be staying here again, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!
Thank you for a great weekend and look forward to many more visits!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It’s wonderful to read your praises! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and the TripAdivsor community. We’re thrilled that you’ll be returning to visit us again. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here in October of 2012 for three nights when it was still associated with the Best Western Plus and we enjoyed our stay. I have been reading where it has been or is still being renovated because it was in need of such attention, athough I am sure the cost has gone up! The location was fanastic to enjoy all of what downtown Gettysburg has to offer for history, shopping, dining as well as nightlife.

It was amazing to stay right next door to where Abraham Lincoln completed his famous Gettysbugh address at the David Wills House. The old railroad station where he arrived is behind the building one block down which is now a visitor center is sooo cool. Although a slight charge, it was great always being able to park donwtown in the garage behind the hotel.

When we go to Gettysburg again we will stay in the Gettysburg Hotel if affordable

Room Tip: Upper floor if possible facing the circle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Greetings Steven! Thank you for sharing your comments from October with us. Because you enjoyed your stay with us then, we’re confident your next visit in our renovated hotel will be extraordinary! We’re very proud of our renovation and the updates, as you noted, were much needed. The history and locations that you commented on remain the main focus for Gettysburg visitors. Our refreshed hotel will transform a visit into an experience!

You mentioned cost a couple times, so we’d like to remind you and Trip Advisor members to visit our hotel website and look for deals and special packages or rates that may be available during a stay. We offer an AAA discount that is very popular.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the historic Gettysburg Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We chose a trip to Gettysburg for our 42nd Anniversary it was wonderful! Upon checking into the Gettysburg Hotel, things went very smoothly. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was a delight.I would recommend this Hotel without a second thought. The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of everything. You can walk anywhere. The battlefield is just a short distance on the edge of town. (Definitely get a personal guide to drive your car, it is well worth it.) Restaurants were great especially Dobbin House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Ruth – welcome to TripAdvisor and thank you for letting us know your Gettysburg Hotel stay was worthy of five stars all around! We’re sure the tips and insights you've shared will help future Gettysburg travelers. We also see that you've posted some candid photos of our hotel to share. If we’re not mistaken, your guest room photo was taken from the same spot in one of the rooms our professional photographer selected during our recent photo shoot. Kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of the town (but of course in Gettysburg the main attractions - the battlefield - are on the edge of town). This is pleasant place to stay with a good restaurant on site but you are surrounded by plenty of other places to eat.
The hotel is everything you want for a pleasant stay - courteous staff, clean and quiet. Parking is about $8 a day - not too bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It’s true; our hotel’s location can’t be beat! We’re so happy to read your positive comments related to your recent stay with us. Reviews like yours reassure us that we’re providing the best experience for travelers visiting historic Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a king fireplace room facing the square. Nice view by day, at night there was some noise (not much) from the bar across the square and traffic - delivery trucks start early! The room was nicely updated, the whole hotel looks freshly done. You park in the nearby garage but the walk is short and the hotel has negotiated a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We’re delighted to read your positive review and check out the pics posted from your recent stay with us. The experience of staying on Lincoln Square in Gettysburg can’t be beat! As you noted, there is a bustling historic town just outside the windows of many of our rooms. It’s that charm and unique downtown experience that many guests find so exciting and distinctive.

We hope you’ll return to Gettysburg, PA soon and enjoy another getaway with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Right in the center of all the attractions. The property is clean and updated. The bar/restaurant was very nice. Service was great. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for letting us know that your stay with us was an all-around great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western
Address: 1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.