We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The local perspective of the war” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jennie Wade House

Jennie Wade House
548 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA
(717) 334-4100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 35 attractions in Gettysburg
Type: History Museums, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Jennie Wade House is a guided tour with the guides in period clothing taking you through the home where the only civilian killed during the battle of Gettysburg was tragically lost. As the story unfolds the guides take you room to room following the path of the family on July 3rd 1863.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The local perspective of the war”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I really enjoyed this stop because they told the story from the perspectives of the locals who lived through it. You can take endless tours about strategy, artillery and generals, but this tour talks about how the war affected the common person. I truly enjoyed it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    88
    55
    16
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
westwod,nj
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not much to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is where the only civilian in gettysburg was killed during the battle. Her name was Jennie Wade and was baking bread on the second day of the battle, when a stray bullit went through two doors and struck her in the back and killed her instantly. Other than the small room, where this took place; there is a gift shop and little else.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Civilian experience during the battle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Inspiring story of the only civilian killed (while baking bread for Union soldiers) and her family's surviving between the army lines. Our docent was knowledgeable and in period dress. The 30 minute tour covered all three floors of this historic home, and described Jennie's childhood friendships with both a Union and a Confederate soldier. Unique gift shop with friendly staff. Definitely plan to return during our next visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Must do while in Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nice little tour led by our guide Ben. This is the house where Jennie Wade died. She was the only civilian killed at Gettysburg during the battle. Its a sad tragic story that is best left for Ben and the other guides to tell but youll be cheating yourself out of a fun tour if you skip it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Cute house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Decided to pass on the $12 tour of the Wade House due to time constraints and just buy some souvenirs from the gift shop. But we did put our ring fingers inside the bullet hole outside the "kitchen". There is a legend that if a single woman puts her ringfinger inside the bullet hole of the Jennie Wade House, she will soon be married. Hope it works for my daughter. Unfortunately, nothing was ever mentioned about this legend...we just had to read about it beforehand. However, nice attraction and great gifts. Staff was friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jennie Wade House also viewed

 

Been to Jennie Wade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jennie Wade House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jennie Wade House to your Saves list