We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and Reasonable - Very Pleased!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Quite and Reasonable - Very Pleased!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed a couple nights here back in April and felt that it was very reasonable for the price. The breakfast is sufficient with the basics of cold cereals and Danish's, ability to make waffles, and what seemed to be instant eggs... The sausage gravy and biscuits were pretty good... The room was clean and was located only a couple miles from the main drag... Didn't use the pool but we read reviews that stated it was small. I believe even the hotel website states just that. We really only slept in the hotel room! The rest of the day we were taking tours, visiting downtown, the local Harley dealership, etc., etc. If you want to be right downtown, this isn't right downtown. Funny how many people complain about the lack of restaurants and nightlife nearby when all they had to do was Google the location or even look at the Hotel website for distances to the sites. All in all we were happy with the hotel and would use it again! We do a lot of research prior to making our reservations so that we only rate it based on what we know.

We knew it was away from the city.
We knew it was not near the nightlife or walking distance to restaurants.
We knew it was a 2-3 Star hotel.
We knew it had both a small pool and gym.
We knew the price.

So we won't rate based on those attributes...

That said, based on the things we didn't know, quietness, cleanliness, etc... we thought this hotel provided great bang for the buck! Thanks Sleep Inn!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Wow what a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback and kind words. We take great pride in our hotel and we are so pleased to know that you noticed and found our hotel to be just what you needed. Thank you again and we hope to see you when back in Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    65
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
103
68
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed for four nights while visiting the area. Very Clean and Quiet. Breakfast was good and employees were very helpful with our questions about the area. Just far enough away from the center of town to make it enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms recently remodeled and are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your opinion and appreciate your kind words. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when back in Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We checked in very late. We had to wait before anyone came to desk. Kids were disappointed with pool It was very small and water was cloudy breakfast was not that great ended up at McDonald down the road hotel was away from the town Rooms were not large enough for our family

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In General our guest leave our hotel very happy and actually love our hotel, staff member and amenities. We have a wonderful staff that most of our guest comment on how friendly, pleasant and helpful they are. We are disappointed that you do not feel the same. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you would consider returning to our hotel so that we can have a chance to show you how great we really are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Last time we stayed at the Comfort Suites near visitor center. It was very nice hotel and Close to town. This one is away from the town. No place to eat nearby. Staff was kind of slow who handled check in and phone at same time. Pool was nothing but a hole in ground. Very small fitness room. Rooms were clean but small. I can tell some of the items in breakfast was from yesterday. I had a discount coupon but was told it is only valid some time. Price was not bad. Next time I would look for another hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and the service that we provide to our guests. To see such a low score is very disappointing to us. This is not typical for our hotel and again I do apologize for not meeting your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was a great place. Just on the outskirts of Gettysburg , it was ideal location. Minutes to downtown and all the entertainment. Several restaurants close by. Clean comfortable room and I will stay here again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for telling us about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return to Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, nj
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while in Gettysburg. It was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. My kids loved the tiny indoor pool!! The elevator was a bit slow, but nothing to deter us from staying there again. Breakfast was decent and the workers were all friendly.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We value your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We appreciate the wonderful review that you have given us and we will continue to go above and beyond to be sure that all of our guest are satisfied, welcomed and comfortable at the Sleep Inn & Suites Gettysburg. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family recently stayed here overnight while visiting Gettysburg. The hotel was small and clean, but certainly not in the high quality range. The biggest problem were the beds. We stayed in a double queen room and both beds were very "springy." Every time my husband or I moved in bed, the other person moved as well. Both beds were equally miserable. One of the kids slept in the pull-out sleeper sofa and all he could feel were the springs of the mattress. The continental breakfast was also disappointing. While some hot food was served and it was OK, the bagels, donuts and cereal were stale. Also, the website says the hotel pool is small - that is no joke. It is about the size of one corner of a normal hotel pool. We were only here overnight for this visit, but if we were to stay longer, we would definitely not choose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less then satisfactory. We take great care and pride to be sure all of our guests our well taken care of. Your experience is not typical of our hotel and I apologize for not meeting your needs. I do hope that you will give us another chance to show how great we really are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.