We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights to visit Gettysburg. Clean and comfortable small hotel near attractions. This hotel was priced right for the area. Air conditioner blew cold air and excellent water pressure. Small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in room. Nice hot breakfast with a waffle maker. Staff was pleasant enough and toll house cookies in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! We take pride in what we do here at our hotel, and go over and beyond for our guest. Were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay along with our welcoming greet with our cookies in the evening. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    46
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
46
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We just had a single night at this property before our tour of Gettysburg, but it was great. The front desk was very helpful, there were carts to assist taking our luggage up. The room was new with plenty of space for our family of four. The area was quiet with no disturbances for sleeping. The pool (which we did not use) is small, about 1/3 the size of a normal hotel pool, but would have been enough to get wet, just not do laps. The morning breakfast which was included had you make waffles, bacon, and other cold breakfast choices. At one point the bacon ran out and the lady had more out within two minutes. I appreciated her quick attention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us an excellent review! Our staff go over and beyond to make sure you feel at home. I'm pleased to hear that your stay with us went great, and we value our guest! We hope to see you again when your back in Gettysburg visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really comfortable hotel, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated with many personal touches like fresh flowers & biscuits in reception, request cards in the suite and comment cards for suggestions. Suite was a good size, beds extremely comfortable and there was a nice sitting area.
Close to Gettysburg and all the historical sites. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved our hotel. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was awesome. I don’t know why it’s not ranked higher – maybe it’s just because it’s newer and doesn’t have as many reviews. Because it’s newer (not sure of date?), the rooms are clean and fresh and it’s nicely decorated. I would not hesitate to stay there again and I’d be happy if all my hotel rooms were like this one.

I will say that I heard a couple big rigs drive past in the early morning, but that kind of noise doesn’t really bother me and I think you’ll hear that at most of the other hotels located near the busier roads.

The continental breakfast was okay. The breakfast room is smallish, which I could see being a problem at certain times if the hotel is full. Everything is mechanized, which I guess is efficient – sort of. There felt like a lot of waiting and eating in stages. You can make little breakfast waffles, but there was a line-up for that…maybe invest in another waffle iron?

Overall, though, we were super-happy with our experience at this hotel.

$114 plus taxes (USD), 1 night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review!! Your compliments are very much appreicated. We have thought about getting a second waffle iron. And because of great guest like you who take the time to give us feedback we know where we need to improve to make each and every guest stay that much better. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you when back in Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

close driving distance to national military museum gettysburg and gettysburgh town centre. lovely clean hotel with friendly and understanding staff. very patient with us with one of those credit card hiccups we all occasionally experience when travelling overseas. breakfast adequate, wireless internet slow

Room Tip: very comfortable on 4th floor and bonus was guest laundry facility on 2nd floor with reasonable char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure working with you about your credit card situation, our staff love to go over and beyond to help our guests feel at home! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the Gettysburg area. We hope to see you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chose to stay at the Sleep Inn due to its proximity to Gettysburg and the reasonable room charge. I was pleasantly surprised by the recently renovated rooms. The beds were comfortable and clean. Our room included a small seating area complete with a loveseat and coffee table. My husband truly enjoyed the biscuit and sausage gravy at breakfast. I found the coffee to be somewhat weak, but otherwise found the continental breakfast to have a nice selection of breakfast choices. We stayed for one night and were pleased with the hotel. Although we did not use the swimming pool, we did notice that it looked like a very small triangular pool for children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We value all that our guests have to say. It's wonderful that you pointed out all of the things that you and your husband really enjoyed. It's our pleasure to make sure that you are comfortable during your stay so our team works very hard to keep our rooms extremly clean along with all areas of the hotel. From the entire team at the Sleep Inn & Suites Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a very clean and comefortable location. It is not a new facility but it seemed like it was. The free breakfast was very adequate and the staff was friendly and helpfull. It is located about two miles from the town center but there are plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. It was a good value for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We love hearing from our guests and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.