We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at a Sleep Inn very satisfactory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First time at a Sleep Inn very satisfactory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed on night for a day trip to Gettysburg PA. The hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the staff very friendly. We arrived after 10PM and had no trouble checking in. Because I am a member of their awards program, the front desk clerk upgraded us to a jacuzzi room. That was really great, but even without that it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Join the rewards program
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It is great hearing your stay started off wonderful with being upgraded, our staff love to go over and beyond to make your stay feel at home as much as possible. Again, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we hope to see you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    59
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
58
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a nice couple of days at Sleep Inn,everything was good including the price!only complaint we had a ground floor room and kids upstairs liked to run around but we would go here again just ask for upstairs room! was very central for getting to battlefields or into town!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel and it was convenient for you doing your battlefield touring. I apologize for any noise that was going on above your room, please let us know of any issue like this and we will do our best to fix the issue for you. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel appears to be fairly new. Very clean and modern. The room was spacious with a couch and two extremely comfortable queen size beds. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was sufficient. The pool reminded me of an oversized hot tub. The location was about a mile or so out of town but neither the pool or distance mattered to me. We were very happy staying here and will stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how well our staff is including your stay here! We take pride into what we do here and make sure our guests expectations are met greatly. Thank you again for staying with us, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight; spent less than 12 hours on the property. We had only minimal contact with the staff, but they were efficient and pleasant. We were looking only for a nice clean place to sleep on a Friday night during the middle of Summer. This meant that area hotel prices mere relatively high. This hotel delivered the basics, but were we to return to the area, we might look into alternate properties. There was nothing significantly wrong at the Sleep Inn, but it felt like a budget hotel experience at more than budget prices.

Everyone's #1 priority, at all hotels, is cleanliness; the Sleep Inn delivered this. There were a couple of little things that made our experience so-so. Beds were fine, pillows were not as comfortable, but this is an individual preference. Breakfast was consistent with what one would expect at a budget hotel - rubbery hard boiled eggs, cups of yogurt, juice, make your own waffles, some cheap "donut" type things. Nothing to get excited about or fret about if you miss it. The coffee was awful for my taste - the proverbial brown dish water. But I recognize that the hotel would never be able to provide coffee to satisfy all tastes; I just can't imagine this coffee satisfies too many people, but I suppose some people would be OK with it. To each his own.

As far as the room goes, we thought the construction and finish were of low quality and had a distinct budget feel, which is adequate for a one-night stay, as long as the price is consistent. A small observation - toilet was too low to the floor and the water level in the bowel was too high.

Overall, we had an short, adequate stay but were disappointed by the quality-price discordance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. I am glad to hear that our staff does an outstanding job with welcoming you at our property. As for the breakfast and value of our hotel, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience. The breakfast hot food changes daily, and we do put out donuts, fresh fruit, and many more every day along with the hot food. Our hotel has been remodeled and updated within the past year, there are still some things that are going to be updated in the near future as well. Again, thank you for your feedback, we highly appreciate your time and will use your opinions to help us in the future. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were two couples who recently stayed for 2 nights at the Sleep Inn in Gettysburg. After researching many places, including B&B's, we decided to stay in a hotel to take advantage of great prices, included breakfast, and room to spread out. We had a car so didn't need to be "in town" and were visiting the Battlefield as well as walking around the town.

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff is extremely helpful, both pre trip and while there, even greeting us with just baked chocolate chip cookies when we checked in! It is newly renovated, clean and modern, and the small swimming pool was immaculate. The exercise room was well appointed and the included breakfast was generous and varied and included a hot dish which changed each morning.

The hotel is on a commercial road just outside of the historic downtown, taking just a few minutes to drive there, as well as to the Battlefield sites. Any amenity you could want was very close, such as drug stores, ice cream shop, etc.

The rooms were enormous. Two queen beds, plus a love seat, separated bath facilities so two could be getting ready at once, a large closet, microwave, coffee maker, and fridge. Flat screen TV, ice machines on two of the four floors, and quiet. Our rooms were on the 4th floor away from the elevator, and very quiet.

Highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a friendly, clean, well appointed place to stay. We will definitely be trying their other locations as we travel. Great rates and they have AAA/Senior rates as well.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 4th floors - those have no ice machines, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: They use the towel re-use program to save energy which is always appreciated.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate your kind words. Our staff works very hard to ensure that your stay is enjoyable as well as helping with any pre trip phone calls. We recently remodeled our hotel within the past year and we absolutely love hearing guests compliment on it as well! Once again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was my 4th trip to Gettysburg and I have stayed at a wide range of hotels in the area. I actually found this Sleep Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews and decided to give it a try. I was very, very happy with what I found.

The hotel is located a little to the east of town on Route 30, outside of the downtown area, where a lot of more recent construction seems to be occurring (lots of newer hotels and stores in this area). There isn't much in the way of food around the hotels, but downtown is seriously no more than an 8-10 minute drive away so that wasn't a problem for us. Likewise, the hotel is very close to Route 15 which will drop you off right near the new National Park visitor center also in about 8-10 minutes (which is how long it would take you to get there from downtown as well with all the traffic and red lights). All told, the location as actually very convenient.

The room itself was very good.. plenty of towels, no issues with cleanliness, and comfortable beds. It was clear the property has recently been remodeled and the results are evident. We booked the room for $90 in the middle of summer tourist season, which is a value that I really don't think anyone in town can beat.

The only two minor complaints were had were that the pillows were a little small and the continental breakfast ran out of yogurt and the lady on duty wouldn't restock the cooler. Neither of those would stop me from recommending the hotel or staying here again... which I am sure I will do the next time I visit Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for ginving us such a wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from the location to the cleanliness of your room. We have recently remodeled the hotel and we are very proud of how beuatiful it is and we love to hear that our guests love it too!!!! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you when back in Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We last stayed here in 2011, when this location was under different management. Spotted a couple of dead silverfish at the time, which we couldn't really blame on anyone, as this location had previously been a field for several centuries previously, but other than that, there was something definitively "meh" about the whole experience.

Seeing that it had been taken over by a new team, and based on the good reviews since then, we decided to try it again, and are glad we did. A nice welcome, and a great room. I can't quite put my finger on it, but it felt like a completely different place from the one we stayed in two years ago! The room was super-comfortable, the air was ice-cold (a wonderful refuge from the 92-degree heat outside!) and the WiFi was blazing (I was on assignment for a newspaper this weekend, and as such needed to upload 29 large photo files, and was shocked at how quickly they went through!)

Didn't try the breakfast, so I can't comment.

My only minor hitch is that the TV seems to have VERY basic cable, with a lot of the non-received channels displaying a "Not Available" message. Could've been an issue with the cable company, though, and not a big deal.

Of course, the location may be off-putting for the first-time Gettysburg visitor, but you really don't need to be in the middle of town, and this weekend I preferred access to US-15 and the back-roads for ease of navigation what with the 150th anniversary congestion.

All-in-all, an excellent Sleep Inn, and one that I will gladly patronize again, which is something I'm surprised to be saying based on my experience in '11! Good job, New Crew!

Room Tip: The northeast quadrant was very nice, no road noise from 30 or 15, and the neighboring lawn and home...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review. We value you as our guest and value your opinion. We were very happy to have you as our guest. Our staff works works very hard to provide a comfortable clean enjoyable stay for all of our guest and we love hearing reviews like this! Thank you again and we can't wait to have you back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.