We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could re-enact this stay. Best Sleep Inn at which I have ever stayed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I could re-enact this stay. Best Sleep Inn at which I have ever stayed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked over a year ago in order to attend the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg. Knowing that the rate was inflated due to the event, I did not have high expectations. It turned out to be the Best Sleep Inn at which I have ever stayed. Furnishings were pretty darn good, beds were new, and the shower was perfect. Even a microwave and fridge in the room The included breakfast was OK, although the boxed coffee was just awful. However, they have coffee in the room. I asked Wendy in housekeeping if we could get a second pack for the room and she gladly obliged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for such a great review of our Hotel! We truley value our Guest's and the experience that you have at the Sleep Inn & Suites Gettysburg. So happy to hear that you would come back to stay with us. That means alot to us and we really do appreciate you taking the time to write such kind words. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    46
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
46
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very happy with accommodations (although very pricey during 150th Gettysburg reenactment weekend at $319 plus tax per night).
Very convenient to reenactment battlefield and modern amenities such as Ruby Tuesday, Subway, Walmart, and gas stations, and avoided the major traffic jams en route.
Would stay here again for the reenactment period.
Has a pool to cool off in after a hot day on the battlefield; includes breakfast in the AM.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review. We were very happy to have you as our guests and can't wait to see you again! Thank you again for the kind words and taking the time to post your review. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Sleep Inn and Suites. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was average. I didn't care for the eggs they were chewy and I would have liked to seen an upgrade on the pastry, but there was enough choices to get our day started. The staff was fantastic. Heather was very helpful finding us a nice place to eat and directions. All the staff we encountered was very friendly. The hotel is not too far away from anywhere you want to go. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay here again the next time we go to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! All 5 circles!!!! Thank you so much. We strive every day for our guests to give us reviews with all 5 circles. Thank you again! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even though you were not excatly completly satisfied with our breakfast. You will be happy to know that we have made some changes to our breakfast. When you are back in town we look forward to seeing you again and you will see that our breakfast has improved. From all of us at the Sleep Inn & Suites we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Checked into the Sleep Inn and Suites without incident. Front desk clerk wasn't too helpful when we asked her about local restaurants for dinner. Room was clean, comfortable bed, adequate lighting, quiet. This property is not located anywhere near downtown Gettysburg or the battlefield area, so pickings are slim as to dining near the hotel (we learned the hard way...stay downtown and enjoy a meal there). Breakfast selection was good (omelets, bacon, hardboiled eggs, toast, bagels, cereal, yogurt, etc.) except there was no fresh fruit---not a big deal. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Hotel! It's so great to hear such wonderful comments of our staff and the service that they provide. From all of us at the Sleep Inn & Suites Gettysburg Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pretty much the standard Sleep Inn in terms of rooms and facilities, very well presented but stands out from the crowd with help from its very friendly and helpful staff. Very good gravy and biscuits for breakfast. Very small pool and WiFi was dodgy but apparently under review. Great location for the National Park Battlefield and for Battlefield Harley Davidson. No food outlets within walking distance but a good selection within a very short drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! It so nice to know that all of our hard work is paying off. We are happy that you choose to stay with us at the Sleep Inn & Suites and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My group stayed at Sleep Inn for a quick trip to Gettysburg. The staff was superb in arranging a great price plus dealing with all the changes. The staff offered suggestions and went above and beyond in their service. When we returned from dinner there were a few cookies left and the receptionist said she would make more if we wanted. All were very helpful to us and provided outstanding service. You don't want to miss a stay here. You will be glad you did. General Manager Tamra, Heather, and Bree are superb. Thank you for your professionalism.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional. Ask for a king bed if available.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel is committed to the environment and participates in a eco-friendly practice of saving water and waste.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!!!! We really appreicate your kind words and giving us such a great review. We really enjoyed having your group stay us and we hope to see you back again! I'm glad you enjoyed the cookies :) From all of us here at The Sleep Inn & Suites Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellwood, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have to first say, the front desk personnel was spectacular. So was the breakfast in the morning. They kept it stocked and cleaned, but it also wasn't very busy. The front desk had cookies, which my kids kept going back. The front desk lady was so nice about it. The rooms were clean and comfortable. After touring the hot battlefields. We were ready to unwind a bit. The only not good (and I don't want to use the word bad) was the pool. It is EXTREMELY small. There is not a lot a room in the swimming area. Again, the hotel wasn't busy the weekend we went, so my kids enjoyed the 3 foot pool. But I could see how that may frustrate some families when they see that this hotel has a pool. It's not a 5 foot sit by and relax type pool. It's a 3 footer, small, no space to relax type pool. Besides that great place to stay, not far from the battlefields. There are restuarantes down the road and the outlets are also right down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback of our hotel. We do appreciate all of your wonderful comments and we do hope that when back in Gettysburg we will see you again. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.