We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Sleep Inn...so-so location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Typical Sleep Inn...so-so location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Checked into the Sleep Inn and Suites without incident. Front desk clerk wasn't too helpful when we asked her about local restaurants for dinner. Room was clean, comfortable bed, adequate lighting, quiet. This property is not located anywhere near downtown Gettysburg or the battlefield area, so pickings are slim as to dining near the hotel (we learned the hard way...stay downtown and enjoy a meal there). Breakfast selection was good (omelets, bacon, hardboiled eggs, toast, bagels, cereal, yogurt, etc.) except there was no fresh fruit---not a big deal. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Hotel! It's so great to hear such wonderful comments of our staff and the service that they provide. From all of us at the Sleep Inn & Suites Gettysburg Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    59
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
58
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pretty much the standard Sleep Inn in terms of rooms and facilities, very well presented but stands out from the crowd with help from its very friendly and helpful staff. Very good gravy and biscuits for breakfast. Very small pool and WiFi was dodgy but apparently under review. Great location for the National Park Battlefield and for Battlefield Harley Davidson. No food outlets within walking distance but a good selection within a very short drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! It so nice to know that all of our hard work is paying off. We are happy that you choose to stay with us at the Sleep Inn & Suites and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My group stayed at Sleep Inn for a quick trip to Gettysburg. The staff was superb in arranging a great price plus dealing with all the changes. The staff offered suggestions and went above and beyond in their service. When we returned from dinner there were a few cookies left and the receptionist said she would make more if we wanted. All were very helpful to us and provided outstanding service. You don't want to miss a stay here. You will be glad you did. General Manager Tamra, Heather, and Bree are superb. Thank you for your professionalism.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional. Ask for a king bed if available.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel is committed to the environment and participates in a eco-friendly practice of saving water and waste.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!!!! We really appreicate your kind words and giving us such a great review. We really enjoyed having your group stay us and we hope to see you back again! I'm glad you enjoyed the cookies :) From all of us here at The Sleep Inn & Suites Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellwood, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have to first say, the front desk personnel was spectacular. So was the breakfast in the morning. They kept it stocked and cleaned, but it also wasn't very busy. The front desk had cookies, which my kids kept going back. The front desk lady was so nice about it. The rooms were clean and comfortable. After touring the hot battlefields. We were ready to unwind a bit. The only not good (and I don't want to use the word bad) was the pool. It is EXTREMELY small. There is not a lot a room in the swimming area. Again, the hotel wasn't busy the weekend we went, so my kids enjoyed the 3 foot pool. But I could see how that may frustrate some families when they see that this hotel has a pool. It's not a 5 foot sit by and relax type pool. It's a 3 footer, small, no space to relax type pool. Besides that great place to stay, not far from the battlefields. There are restuarantes down the road and the outlets are also right down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback of our hotel. We do appreciate all of your wonderful comments and we do hope that when back in Gettysburg we will see you again. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We usually stay at higher end hotels but wanted an inexpensive getaway. Just as clean and updated as the more expensive hotels. Includes hot breakfast (which was just ok but does save time and money). Has a teeny indoor "pool" which is better than nothing if you're traveling with kids. Super convenient location for Gettysburg. Very nice people working there.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room and we were placed in a room on the fourth floor away from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Wow what a great compliment! We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your feedback and your kind words. It means alot to us to hear such great feedback from our guests. Our staff works very hard daily to ensure your stay is enjoyable. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We weren't sure why we were booked into a handicapped room, but it was clean, large, and worked well for us. (The shower was awkward but we made it work) Friendly staff. Would stay here again if we ever make it back to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you back again! Your feedback is very important to us and we really do appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked here because we saw it received high ratings on Trip Advisor, but we were disappointed. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - the best part of this experience. The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast each morning was below par compared to what we received in similar hotels on this trip. The worst part of the stay was the "high speed" Internet. The WiFi service was horrible. The speed was slower than the old dial-up service. Plus every time you logged on, you had to go through the slow, slow registration process all over again - very frustrating. We mentioned this during checkout and the lady behind the desk acknowledged this, and said that they were looking for a new provider, so maybe this will be fixed by the time you get there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back on your stay. I'm very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. I am sorry to hear about your disappointments. We are in the process of upgrading our Wi Fi because we have been having some issues and we understand how frustrating it can be. We are working on it. We hope that if you are back in Gettysburg we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.