We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We usually stay at higher end hotels but wanted an inexpensive getaway. Just as clean and updated as the more expensive hotels. Includes hot breakfast (which was just ok but does save time and money). Has a teeny indoor "pool" which is better than nothing if you're traveling with kids. Super convenient location for Gettysburg. Very nice people working there.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room and we were placed in a room on the fourth floor away from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Wow what a great compliment! We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your feedback and your kind words. It means alot to us to hear such great feedback from our guests. Our staff works very hard daily to ensure your stay is enjoyable. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    53
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
52
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We weren't sure why we were booked into a handicapped room, but it was clean, large, and worked well for us. (The shower was awkward but we made it work) Friendly staff. Would stay here again if we ever make it back to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you back again! Your feedback is very important to us and we really do appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked here because we saw it received high ratings on Trip Advisor, but we were disappointed. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - the best part of this experience. The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast each morning was below par compared to what we received in similar hotels on this trip. The worst part of the stay was the "high speed" Internet. The WiFi service was horrible. The speed was slower than the old dial-up service. Plus every time you logged on, you had to go through the slow, slow registration process all over again - very frustrating. We mentioned this during checkout and the lady behind the desk acknowledged this, and said that they were looking for a new provider, so maybe this will be fixed by the time you get there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back on your stay. I'm very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. I am sorry to hear about your disappointments. We are in the process of upgrading our Wi Fi because we have been having some issues and we understand how frustrating it can be. We are working on it. We hope that if you are back in Gettysburg we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

With our AAA discount, we booked a 2 Queen room for a little over $100 a night - much more affordable than anything else we looked at in the area. It seemed as though the hotel had been recently renovated because everything looked very new and clean. The color schemes were modern and attractive, our room was clean and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was great, with options for everyone. There are both hot and cold items available, including waffles, bacon, and eggs. The pool is very small (the entire thing is 3 feet deep), but was empty the entire time we were there. We swam for a little over an hour and saw not another soul. It could use a little more attention to keep it pristine. Overall we were very happy with our experience and really considered it a great bargain. We would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value you as our guest and love to hear your feed back. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We wanted to tour Gettysburg, but the hotels in town seemed old and dingy. This hotel appeared to offer the most modern accommodations available.

Indeed, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location was great for getting in and out of town. Plenty of free parking, and friendly hotel staff.

Bonus: Free breakfast down in the lobby each morning - not the greatest, but good enough to start the day. (Bagels, muffins – you can even a make your own waffles!) Check out the excellent Perkins down the street if you desire a more proper meal.

Negatives: “new carpet smell.” Hard to describe, but there was this ever-present scent of new carpet or new paint in the room. Didn't really care for it, and it made us wish it were possible to open the windows. The only ventilation option in the room is an old wall unit air conditioner. Also, there was no programmable safe in the room. I feel a little more secure when a safe is available in which to temporarily store valuables while I'm away from the room. So many hotels have them nowadays, I was surprised when this one didn't.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We have been working very hard over the last year to upgrade the intire hotel. Our goal is for all of our guests to be comfortable and relaxed in our newly renevated hotel. I am sorry about the carpet smell. We do hope that you will come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Obviously it's not the Ritz but I didn't want to pay for the Ritz for one night in Gettysburg. The lobby is nicely appointed, the room was clean and big enough for our needs. There is a really small indoor pool and my kids were the only ones in it. Really not big enough for more than 4 and it's only 3' deep. No real swimming going on in there. There's also a small gym And the breakfast was adequate, what you'd expect (waffles, eggs, yogurt, pastry). Overall I'd stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Used the trip advisor coupon and saved 10% keeping the room just over $150 and that was the goal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We really love to hear from our guests so that we can see how we're doing and how we can imporve. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back again and that you would recomend us. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We arrived at the Sleep Inn and Suites around 9 pm and only stayed one night. Right when we arrived, we were told that since the hotel was booked, we'd be staying in a new room they were remodeling for future use. Turns out that room was the hotel staff's old break room. The keycard wasn't working so we had a physical key to use to get to our room. While the room itself was very large, it was in the basement of the hotel. There was a large kitchen/living room area which was nice except for the constant whirring sound of the refrigerator they had in the room. The bathroom was nice, but they hadn't stocked the room with tissues (a common amenity with any hotel room I've ever been in). Because the room was in the basement, we heard every footstep in the lobby and breakfast area above us, making it difficult to get a good night's rest. The room also lacked a phone so we weren't able to call the front desk if we needed anything. There was also this weird door that led to the outside and to a stairwell into the hotel's pantry area. We found that to be a little sketchy as well. The breakfast they had was ok, there was good variety but we never drink 2% milk and that's all they had there! Usually hotels will offer more than one type of milk for their customers.

Their "gym" consisted of a tiny room with no air conditioning, a weight training system, one very old rickety treadmill and one very very worn out elliptical. I used the elliptical for a quick work out but every time I moved the handlebars it felt like they were going to break off because the handles bent and squeaked so much. The treadmill was shoved next to the wall, so a person running would most likely injure their arm. The TV was placed up near the ceiling so it was a joke to even try using it.

The thing that really irritated me was that after we had checked in we asked if there were any other rooms for us to stay in. The lady at the front desk said no, but I watched as she checked in 2 other groups of people into rooms that weren't in the basement! That was after we had arrived! Overall, I was disappointed in our experience here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and service. I am sorry that your stay was not up to your standards or ours. You were in our new suite downstairs and we did still have a few kinks to work out. Which we have done. As for the noise we added carpeting upstairs to take care of that problem. As far as the other guests that checked in after you they had reserved a different room type that is why their rooms were on the main floor. Again I do aplogize that your stay was not that of what you expected. We do appreciate you telling us of all the issues so that we were able to address them. We do hope that you will come back again so that we can show you just how great we really are. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.