We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I visited Gettysburg on May 22/23, 2013, primarily to tour the Gettysburg Battlefield site. When we checked in we were greeted by Heather, who, we found out later, is the assistant manager. She was exceedingly friendly and helpful, making suggestions as to what course of action we could take to maximize our time there. She also recommended a few restaurants, which were spot on. The rooms were very clean and the rooms were made up punctually. The continental breakfast was very good and plentiful. I want to visit Gettysburg again and if I do, I'll definitely say here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for such wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. It means a lot to our entire staff. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    65
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
103
68
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were in Gettysburg for our grandson's college graduation. The room was spacious and clean. Our only complaint was the terrible breakfast the next morning. Terrible coffee, tasteless fruit, microwaved "scrambled" eggs cooked in a plastic bag. At least there was some yogurt and raisin bran.

The staff members we met were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not find our breakfast to be satisfying. We strive to please all of our guest and it seems we came up short on your stay. We are in the process of changing our coffee vendor and making some changes to our breakfast. Please except our apology. I am however glad to hear that the rest of your stay was a good one. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. That is the only way we can make changes and improve our guests satisfaction. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A friend and I spent the night at the Sleep Inn while on business in Gettysburg. We arrived around 12:30 AM and were greeted by a polite, young man who happened to be on his own for the first time. Even though he had to "check his notes", the service was great and we were in our room in a very short time. The hotel itself is beautiful; clean, new, and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was very good. It included eggs, bacon, and handmade waffles. The personnel was extremely friendly and helpful. The Sleep Inn in Gettysburg is definitely a place that I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your time. We appreciate when our guests review our hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, staff and even our newest team member, Wade. I happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent the night at this hotel after reading others reviews of it on Trip Advisor, and I would like to add my voice to those who praise this property as one of the best places to stay in Gettysburg. We used credit card reward points and got ourselves a king bed room with the whirlpool tub. The room was very good sized, and the bed and furniture were very comfortable. We only stayed one night so we didn't have much contact with staff, but those we did come in contact with were very friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back of the property, away from the highway, and it was very quiet. The free breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. We were expecting cereal, donuts, bagels, danish, and the like, but in addition to those items there was also a waffle maker and a steam tray with sausage and eggs. It wasn't a gourmet breakfast, but it was free, so...

While this hotel is very good, there were some minor things that could be improved upon. We weren't interested in swimming, but if you have kids and you want to stay somewhere where they can splash in a pool after a day of sight seeing this is not your hotel. I have stayed in places where the jacuzzi was almost as big as the pool in this hotel. We were on the second floor, and in the vending area across from our room there were a coin operated washing machine and dryer, but no drink machines, snack machines, or ice. You had to go downstairs for those things. The free wireless internet was nice, but the connection was so-so (at least on my Mac laptop) and in the evening when more guests were getting online it became dreadfully slow. I was also a little disappointed with the selection of tv channels. (No MSNBC, and no regional sports network, which in that area of PA should have been out of Baltimore/Washington. I wanted to watch the Orioles!) The lack of a restaurant wasn't an issue, as Gettysburg seems to be one of those places that has a ton of great places to eat.

Those minor negatives aside, this was a great place to stay. Clean and quiet are my main interests in a hotel, and on those counts this hotel earns 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the things that did not appeal to you. However its wonderful to know that you still had a pleasant stay with us here at the Sleep Inn & Suites. And we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights this past weekend. Everyone we dealt with was incredibly friendly. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet. We were in town for the marathon, and the employees made sure the breakfast was open earlier than usual so the runners could have bagels or oatmeal before the race. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us such a wonderful review. We were happy to have you stay with us and it was our pleasure to have breakfast ready for you a little earlier then we normally do. We will always do what we can for you and other guest to be sure that your stay is comfortable and that you are completely satisfied. On behalf of our entire team, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Like the title says, this place is always a good choice! Very nice accommodations and staff. Rooms are excellent, the breakfast is good, always a very pleasant stay. The last time my husband and I stayed there was because the Gettysburg Hotel basically said that they see we made reservations for a certain room and package but here's what's available, take it or leave it. We called the Sleep Inn and they got us right in to room that was much nicer than anything in the dump we had reservations for. We stay with confidence at the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and prefer us to the other hotel. We will always go above and beyond to make you and all of our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. You will always be greeted by a warm smiling face ready to meet your expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thanks to Heather at the front door who was my favourite front desk staff ever! Super friendly after a long drive. Small pool but the kids were thrilled, no hot tub for me but for the price not surprising. The room was a nice setup for a family of 4. 2 queen beds, a pull out sofa and the toilet/shower was separate from the sink area so when someone was using the facilities we could still brush our teeth and wash our faces. Quiet. Great air/heat system. Very Very comfortable beds/pillows. A great night on a long family road trip to Washington DC from Canada. Very close to the highway and everything in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel and staff. Our entire team strives daily to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable. And when we read such great reviews such as this one its wonderful to know that it does not go unnoticed. Thank you again and hope to see back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.