We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Clean, and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasant, Clean, and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent the night at this hotel after reading others reviews of it on Trip Advisor, and I would like to add my voice to those who praise this property as one of the best places to stay in Gettysburg. We used credit card reward points and got ourselves a king bed room with the whirlpool tub. The room was very good sized, and the bed and furniture were very comfortable. We only stayed one night so we didn't have much contact with staff, but those we did come in contact with were very friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back of the property, away from the highway, and it was very quiet. The free breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. We were expecting cereal, donuts, bagels, danish, and the like, but in addition to those items there was also a waffle maker and a steam tray with sausage and eggs. It wasn't a gourmet breakfast, but it was free, so...

While this hotel is very good, there were some minor things that could be improved upon. We weren't interested in swimming, but if you have kids and you want to stay somewhere where they can splash in a pool after a day of sight seeing this is not your hotel. I have stayed in places where the jacuzzi was almost as big as the pool in this hotel. We were on the second floor, and in the vending area across from our room there were a coin operated washing machine and dryer, but no drink machines, snack machines, or ice. You had to go downstairs for those things. The free wireless internet was nice, but the connection was so-so (at least on my Mac laptop) and in the evening when more guests were getting online it became dreadfully slow. I was also a little disappointed with the selection of tv channels. (No MSNBC, and no regional sports network, which in that area of PA should have been out of Baltimore/Washington. I wanted to watch the Orioles!) The lack of a restaurant wasn't an issue, as Gettysburg seems to be one of those places that has a ton of great places to eat.

Those minor negatives aside, this was a great place to stay. Clean and quiet are my main interests in a hotel, and on those counts this hotel earns 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the things that did not appeal to you. However its wonderful to know that you still had a pleasant stay with us here at the Sleep Inn & Suites. And we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    52
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
51
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights this past weekend. Everyone we dealt with was incredibly friendly. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet. We were in town for the marathon, and the employees made sure the breakfast was open earlier than usual so the runners could have bagels or oatmeal before the race. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us such a wonderful review. We were happy to have you stay with us and it was our pleasure to have breakfast ready for you a little earlier then we normally do. We will always do what we can for you and other guest to be sure that your stay is comfortable and that you are completely satisfied. On behalf of our entire team, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Like the title says, this place is always a good choice! Very nice accommodations and staff. Rooms are excellent, the breakfast is good, always a very pleasant stay. The last time my husband and I stayed there was because the Gettysburg Hotel basically said that they see we made reservations for a certain room and package but here's what's available, take it or leave it. We called the Sleep Inn and they got us right in to room that was much nicer than anything in the dump we had reservations for. We stay with confidence at the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and prefer us to the other hotel. We will always go above and beyond to make you and all of our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. You will always be greeted by a warm smiling face ready to meet your expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thanks to Heather at the front door who was my favourite front desk staff ever! Super friendly after a long drive. Small pool but the kids were thrilled, no hot tub for me but for the price not surprising. The room was a nice setup for a family of 4. 2 queen beds, a pull out sofa and the toilet/shower was separate from the sink area so when someone was using the facilities we could still brush our teeth and wash our faces. Quiet. Great air/heat system. Very Very comfortable beds/pillows. A great night on a long family road trip to Washington DC from Canada. Very close to the highway and everything in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel and staff. Our entire team strives daily to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable. And when we read such great reviews such as this one its wonderful to know that it does not go unnoticed. Thank you again and hope to see back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent a night in Gettysburg while touring colleges. The Sleep Inn is outside the city center by a couple of miles but had a great price, was modern, clean and comfortable and had a nice breakfast included. It borders some fields and it was fertilizer time in the Spring, so there was a "natural odor" wafting in the air outside, but it didn't affect our stay once inside the building. The room was large and very comfortable. It turned out to be a great choice for our overnight. The breakfast room was lovely and had a nice assortment of food, hot and cold.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel with only three floors -we were on the second, in the middle and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such a great review. We truly appreciate hearing from our guest and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay hear at the Sleep Inn & Suites. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a one-night stop for us after an afternoon visit to Gettysburg Military Park and Museum. Let me begin by saying the staff was wonderful - Heather was extremely friendly and we truly enjoyed chatting with her about Gettysburg and the surrounding area. Our room was okay - was clean, beds were somewhat comfortable, but the problem I had was with the layout of the room. I was traveling with my husband and two young teenage sons. The bathroom was quite small and only included the bathtub/shower and toilet. The vanity/sink was in the main room right when you walked in the entrance, so when I wanted to get ready before bed & in the morning, I had to drag all of my clothing into the cramped bathroom and there wasn't a lot of space to get dressed. This was my first time staying at a "Sleep Inn" - we usually stay at Comfort Inn's and we have always been pleased. Maybe this is just the way Sleep Inn's are designed, but for our family situation, it just wasn't the ideal layout. Also, the continental breakfast in the morning was pretty limited. I just had a cup of coffee, but it was fairly weak, so I ended up at a coffee shop later in the morning to get something a bit stronger. Nothing overly negative about this hotel other than it just wasn't the best layout for our family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the room was not efficient for you and your family. We do appreciate all the great comments that you mentioned about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. I wish the layout of room and the breakfast would have been better for you. We are in the process of making some changes with our breakfast so that we do not have any of our guests leaving unsatisfied. Thank you again for your feedback it is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay 2 months for a work assignment. The hotel was warm friendly and safe. The staff treated me like family. The free breakfast was always good. The staff accommodated anything I needed. I Even found a BFF!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We loved having you stay with us! We miss seeing you everyday. We are so glad that you choose our hotel for your long term stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.