We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Antioch
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Little Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel wasn't bad. Its easily accessible, the rooms are large, updated, and ours had a refrigerator and microwave, and it had a nice little continental breakfast with it. The only down side was that the bathroom door was broken and taped together and the pool was tiny, but compared to where we stayed next, this was a dream.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good pool, this is not your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykel S, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Brian N,


Thank you so very much for the feedback. We rely heavily on comments from our guests to help us continually improve our services. We sincerely regret you had to experience our broken door in your guest room. The door had been recently damaged and we are currently awaiting a replacement door. We have been diligently working on renovations to the property and find it disappointing you had to experience this room before we could replace the door. We are very excited by the continuing improvements to our property and take great pride in the services we provide. Ensuring our guests receive excellent service and value is always our goal. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we sincerely hope you will visit us again to see our improvements when your travels bring you back to the area.

Best regards,
Mykel Sunday
General Manager
Sleep Inn & Suites
1650 York Road
Gettysburg, PA 17325
P: (717) 334-3866 ext. 120
E: gm.pa373@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    60
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
60
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotel is located just outside town in a country setting. Our room was a generous size with a separate sitting area. Tastefully decorated with all new furnishings. Even the phone was new! Restaurants (Ruby Tuesday etc) close by as well as shopping (Wal-Mart etc). I chose the hotel based on previous reviews and was more than satisfied with quality and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykel S, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear wynberg,

Thanks for taking the time to tell the world about your stay with us! Our Sleep Inn & Suites is located 2.5 miles from the center square of downtown Gettysburg, within a 5 radius of our hotel you will find 30+ local, chain and fast food restaurants, we are minutes away from multiple shopping complexes including The Outlet Shoppes of Gettysburg, with a close proximity to many of the attractions, battlefield, and Gettysburg College. Are hotel is in the process of re-branding and has already gone through tremendous renovation of our guest rooms, lobby area, as well as our breakfast area. We are always looking to improve so continuous input from you, the guest helps!

With Thanks,




Phil Mack, Jr.
Guest Relations Manager (Dude at the Front Desk)
Sleep Inn & Suites of Gettysburg
sleepinnguestrelations@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel in Gettysburg during the summer, a seemingly impossible quest. I didn't want to repeat last year's 28 mile drive to and from Gettysburg at the "cheap" hotel I stayed at; that was sooo not fun driving the distance after a full day of battlefield hiking. After two days of searching the great internet, I found a very good price for the Sleep Inn on York Road. It was an advance pay, but the price was great. Ratings were mediocre, but what the heck, the price was good. When I arrived after a full day at Antietam, I was exhausted. Check in was no problem. The check-in dude was friendly, explained how to use the free internet and the hours of the free breakfast. My room was on the fourth floor across from the elevator. The room was outstanding! Clean, spacious (I had a two-queen bed room), there was a small sofa with coffee table, a small refig and microwave oven. The bathroom was clean, the bed sheets were clean and the carpet was clean. Flat screen TV, about 32inches, and a nice desk to set up my laptop. I didn't notice any noise from the elevator during my entire stay and I couldn't hear other guests in the rooms next to mine. The breakfast in the morning was very good; a do-it-yourself waffle maker, peeled hard boiled eggs, a couple selections of kid cereal, instant oatmeal, fresh whole fruit, juice, coffee, tea bags for tea, and milk. Also there was yogurt, bread, bagels and the condiments for all those things The breakfast area is small but adequate for the family. They had small trays available if I wanted to be unsocial or it was crowded, I could pile on the goods and cart it up to the room. But I enjoyed eating in the company of others and listening to their stories of surgical procedures and also what they were going to do at Gettysburg. It was fun. There is a medium sized pool which was in operation and the hotel has a nice little work out room. The hotel is about 3 miles from the Visitor Center, which is nice because it's close enough to the heart of Gettysburg, but I didn't have to deal with the hoards of folks and cars at night. The hotel is near a WalMart, Target, Subway, McDonalds and several other eateries. It's within a 1/4 mile of a movie theater and mall as well. I had no issues with the hotel and the price was right.

Room Tip: Ice machine is on the 3rd floor. I stayed on the 4th and they have a quiet elevator. But the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykel S, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear BrotherO,

Thank you for your fantastic (and verbose :)) comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad you were so pleased with your accommodations, and had a wonderful experience with us. I was so excited upon reading this to share your remarks our staff. They are very flattered and appreciate the testament to everyone 's hard work. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,


Phil Mack, Jr.
Guest Relations Manager (Dude at the Front Desk)
Sleep Inn & Suites of Gettysburg
sleepinnguestrelations@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a very clean hotel and only a couple of miles from the center of town. Front desk personnel very friendly. Breakfast is a bit limited and the breakfast area is very small - just a comment not a complaint - it saves money not having to buy another meal out. There are a few fast food places very near by as well. And just a quick aside - i'm pretty sure we might have had a paranormal experience, nothing scary - just unexplainable. Remember - the whole area was one large battlefield. I highly recommend this hotel - very nice place for the $.

Room Tip: we stayed in 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSunday_pa373, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear wolvesongs,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, each one whether is is positive or negative allows us to see things from the guests point of view, and helps us to continue improving or service, as well as our facility. I appreciate your positive review of our staff, as well as our cleanliness, two key points that we emphasize to all of our employees. They will be pleased to read your review. Further more, I apologize for your seemingly not so great experience at breakfast. We admit, to having a limited amount of space in our eating area. We do not discourage guest from taking breakfast in there room, and do provide trays. We are currently thinking of creative ways to use the space we have available to expand this area. We are also bulking up our breakfast selections, adding hot food selections such as sausages, and scrambled eggs, very soon! We must hear about your "paranormal" experience though sounds extremely interesting!

Phil Mack, Jr.
Guest Relations Manager
Sleep Inn & Suites of Gettysburg
sleepinnguestrelations@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This Hotel was Great !!! Very friendly staff and Super Clean . I will definately stay here again .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSunday_pa373, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear William M,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are continuously striving to improve every aspect of our hotel. I know our staff will be pleased to read your comments. We always make sure they have a chance to know that their dedication to providing exceptional service is appreciated. Thank you again for your wonderful review. Feel free to contact us at anytime.

Sincerely,



Phil Mack Jr.
Guest Relations Manager
Sleep Inn & Suites of Gettysburg
sleepinnguestrelations@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This property had a bad rap due to the previous ownership, but the new owners and staff have cone a complete 180. Attentive and extremely helpful all the time, all went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as any we've ever had anywhere, at any price. So, in terms of value, you can't do better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSunday_pa373, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear David M,

Thank you for your wonderful response regarding your recent stay. I am proud to say our staff is completely dedicated to offering spectacular service, and each one of us takes pride in satisfying our guest. I am happy you found your experience with us was a positive one. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.


Sincerely,



Phil Mack, Jr.
Guest Relations Manager
Sleep Inn & Suites of Gettysburg
sleepinnguestrelations@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmira, ny
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Sleep Inn at Gettysburg because there were no rooms available in town. This hotel is a few miles away from battlefield. Clean, comfortable, free breakfast (typical continental fare), and heated indoor pool. For just $80 with AAA rate, I will def come back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSunday_pa373, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear beckyspencer,


I would love to extend my thanks for your recent feedback. I can also say that although you may not have went out of your way to book us as your first choice, we are happy that you have had a chance to experience our hotel first hand, and that you had a positive stay with us. We are currently in the process of upgrading our breakfast menu to include hot food selections as well. Perhaps by your next visit that addition will be complete. We are also in the process of upgrading the entire facility, guest rooms, lobby and the breakfast area as well, a transition that is sure to bring a smile to your face the next time you get to stay with us. We look forward to your return, and we'll keep the pool warm for you.


Sincerely,


Phil Mack, Jr.
Guest Relations Manager
Sleep Inn & suites of Gettysburg
sleepinnguestrelations@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Address: 1650 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.