We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Cottages, just bring linens and possibly bed padding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg Campground
Save
You added Gettysburg Campground to your Saves list
2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Central New Jersey
1 review
“Cute Cottages, just bring linens and possibly bed padding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

My best friend and I went to Gettysburg last year during the off season. Because of this, we were literally some of the only people on the whole campsite. Gettysburg Campground has 2 cottages available year round for rent. When we got there, it looked abandoned...but it was mid-March, so what do you expect. The staff there was very friendly and let us in a few hours early without charging us.

We went inside the cabins and were happy with what we saw. There was a nice size living area with a full kitchenette, eating area and a queen size bed. There was also a full bathroom with shower and another bedroom with 4 bunk beds. The ceiling fan was a very nice touch and helped in keeping the heat circulating throughout the cottage. It should be mentioned, and they tell you before you go there, that you must bring your own linens (towels, bed sheets, blankets) and pillows.

The only negatives I could think of were the size of the refrigerator and the bed mattresses. The refrigerator was too small and could barely keep a 20 oz. bottle of soda in it. And the mattresses felt like you were sleeping on rocks. They were not traditional mattresses. The outside of the mattress was made of something like vinyl and the inner part was...well...I don't know. What I do know is that it was very hard.

Overall, my friend and I enjoyed this little cottage at the Gettysburg Campground. We had privacy and were able to save money by cooking our own food. I would highly recommend the campground. It is nice and quiet and located next to a long, peaceful creek.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Many of the camp grounds around Gettysburg are only set up for RV's. This camp ground has some of the nicest tent sites we have ever used. They are large, flat and well marked, and in the shade! We had a group of 30 young people and leaders, so they gave us five adjoining sites. Phone reservations were easy. Check in was easy. Showers were included in the price, which is not the case in some areas. There was also free volley ball, horseshoes and shuffle board. The pool was closed, but would have been free. The only extra charge was for mini golf and firewood. Staff were very helpfull. The only negative is that the bath house is a long walk from the tent sites, but they do have port-a-johns (very clean) in the tent area.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This was our third trip to the Gettysburg Campground and have found it to be consistantly friendly, clean and full of activities geared towards every age group. The owner and staff have a special place in our hearts, their kindness and warm smiles make us feel right at home. We have booked a stay for next season and look forward to squeezing in at least one more visit before the snows flies.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We have traveled all over the country and have stayed at numerous campgrounds. Never have we been treated so rudely by the office staff. In fact we have stayed here before. We made a reservation and a family emergency required that we reschedule and/or cancel our stay with 10 days notice. We called and the lady on the phone was terrible and rude. Ended up paying a nights fee. BEWARE of a ridiculous cancellation policy. Not at all co-operative in making alternate arrangements. Go somewhere else where they value your business

Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

This was only our second time camping at Gettysburg Campground and we will never camp anywhere else.The staff is very helpful and friendly.We had trouble checking in as my tow vehicle broke down in the check-in lane.The staff were EXTREMELY helpful in getting us help.They helped unload our gear into one of their trucks hooked up our camper and moved it to our site.By the time we got to our site they already had it set up and our gear was unloaded and they were happy to do it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwood new jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

we go to gettysburg once a month in the summer and fall,gettysburg campground is the only place we stay,they treat every cust as family,and it seems fitting since it is run by a family,who also live onsite.the owners are always there and their kids also work there.we consider it a home away from home our dog loves it too and has made many friends there.we cant wait for spring to go back again to see everyone..

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

We have stayed at Gettysburg campground before in one of there cabins and loved it.
We desided that we would tent this time around. We had a great spot near Marsh creek. And had some very nice people camping around us. Only one campsite was up a bit late being load. But there was always a guy that would drive down with a golfcart and check on the campers.
We had friends that stayed there a week after we did and came back to tell us they really enjoyed the campground and thanked us for letting them know about this campground.
We are planing are next camping trip to spend a week this coming Jul 09 and are looking forword to it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gettysburg Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Campground

Address: 2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Gettysburg Campground Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.