We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg Campground
2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Walkersville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and my brother in law stayed here on to sites last year. Me and my wife on one site and my brothers in law and sister next to us. Sites very small except the on my. Brother in law on. People have no respect for the site lines people behind us had there tent half on our spot and my brother inlaw had a guy behind him with his camper on the the so he exit his camper on his spot. People across from us got in a fight at 3am and woke up half the camp ground. We called the office no one answered. Then at 8 in the morning the owner showed up and said if we call leave a message he would have called back. Stupid if you ask me. Every employee that we talked to had a bad attitude. When we told them we where unhappy they did not care. Never will I stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this c/g for 3 nights in a travel trailer. Others in our party had an rv. Everything was neatly kept & clean. Camp sites were very small. If the c/g had been full we would not have had any space.
Our last night there we were harassed by the campground patrol person. He asked us to turn down music, which was not loud but we complied, and told 4 responsible adults with children to "behave ourselves". He then proceeded to drive by several times slowly watching us. He stopped again when he heard a tiny noise, a piece of firewood fell, and my sister-in-law proceeded to tell him to stop harassing us. He left us alone after that. I have never been to a campground where we were watched like that.
Also dont play with toys in the gift shop, if it makes a noise the staff all yell at you. We will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good campground. The staff and management were most friendly and helpful. Quick check in and very good sites. The campground was full but you did not feel
crowded. Good gate security and the facility was very well maintained.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We did a big 4th of July Party at Gettysburg Campground and had extended family and friends arrive for a big cookout this past weeked as well as a 2 week stay to check out some of the 150th Civil War Celebrations and Activities. Gettysburg Campground as usual had their activities as well as setting up shuttle services to get back and forth from the 150th Civil War Celebrations and Activities, a great conveience and help! The restrooms clean and the staff frendly and helpful.
Conveience store, snack bar, play ground, game room, etc. all were up and running!
You Should Visit Often! There is Plenty to do there and in the Gettysburg area!

Room Tip: Visit Often! There is Plenty to do there and in the Gettysburg area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect location for doing the battlefield and Visitors Center, then plenty more to do right at the campsite. Our girls loved catching crayfish in the creek and playing miniature golf. Weekend activities when we visited included Gettysburg battle encampment and reenactment, dance, and hayride. Sites are close, like most commercial parks, but our site 48 was on the end of a row and had lots of room for a tent, RV trailer and 2 cars (tenters note - no grass, only gravel to pitch your tent here; guess the separate tent area has grass). Good security at campground, showers were large, with private dressing areas; pool looked nice but we didn't use it. We would stay there on future trip to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Site 48 larger than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The c/g was a zoo! It's centrally located to the 150 year battlefield celebrations. There were pop up campers , primitive camping, travel trailers, & cabin camping. I got the impression some of these ppl had never camped before. They didn't respect the sites and walked right through them. They had a lot of activities for the kids right on the c/g. They arranged affordable transportation to the activities in Gettysburg. Very thoughtful. The pet walk has garbage cans & plastic baggies, nice touch. Getting back to the interstate involves cutting through town which can be challenging but doable.
We were told that the c/g is not generally this hectic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while we toured the battlefield. We were in a basic water and 30 Amp site. The facility is very clean, and we noticed that as soon as anyone left a site, attendants were there cleaning up the fire rings and picking up anything left behind. The restrooms were very clean, but could use an overhaul. We did not make use of any of the recreation facilities, but they looked nice and well-maintained. The staff was very helpful, cheerful, and friendly. We will stay there again on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Campground

Also Known As:
Gettysburg Campground Hotel
Gettysburg Campground Hotel Gettysburg
Address: 2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gettysburg Campground to your Saves list