We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg Campground
Save
You added Gettysburg Campground to your Saves list
2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The BEST Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My kids and I stayed here for a few days while we were visiting Gettysburg Battlefield. It is perfectly located ... only a few miles from the center of town and the battlefield. The bathrooms are immaculate. They have a lot of fun amenities like a playground for the kids, a small store, an ice cream shop, an arcade, miniature golf and some other things I'm sure I'm missing. They also had a DJ and dancing (family fun) the Saturday night we stayed. Robert, his wife and all the staff were so nice and accommodating. Robert allowed me to choose our camp site and made sure we had everything we needed. I can't say enough about Gettysburg Campground. It is definitely a campground families come back to year after year to make great memories. A HUGE thank you to everyone at Gettysburg Campground for making our trip a perfect one.

Room Tip: Sites next to the creek are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty campground most of the sites with sewer are on gravel not just the pad the whole site hard on your carpet and your feet campground is large with a lot of sites very pretty and very well maintained. The main issue was the bathrooms while they were kept very clean they are very dated and there are not a lot of stalls and a lot of them do not have doors just a curtain which allows little privacy. The showers that do have doors do not have locks that work. They have a lot of sites without sewers and get a lot of units that are not self contained we were there in the middle of the week and there was lineups for the showers. The staff is very friendly the main reason I would not return was the dated bathrooms.
And watch out for the ticks our dogs were covered in them

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a great place to camp! Our creekside camp site was great. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We camped with our 2 dogs and the campground is very dog friendly. There is a dog walk and cleanup stations everywhere. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We always. enjoy our stay. We have stayed in one of the cabins and have camped in our tent. The shower rooms are always clean and fresh. Staff is friendly and there is always great stuff planed for the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The campground sites are very small and very close to the other campers. We were so close, I could almost hear them whispering. The site we were staying at was not level and we were washed out by the weather (not their fault) so we rented a cabin. It had room for 4 to sleep but nothing else. The campsite had a great view by a stream. The cabin faced RVs so the view sucked but it kept us dry. The staff was nice and really help me out when we were forced out by the storm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdMedic
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Family spent a week here in November. It was mostly off-season, so no crouds to speak of. Made a nice jumping off point for the battlefields. We had no problems with the staff (contrary to other reviews). All were more then attentive and courteous. My only complaint would be the lower showers could have used more attention. Other than that, clean grounds, nice ammenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a great stay at this campground. The internet connection at the site was very good, bathroom was kept clean and staff was friendly.

Most of the sites seemed a little on the small side but were level and taken good care of. Ours was a decent size - but had to park vehicle sideways so it was not hanging out of our site. Lots of trees on most sites which can make it hard for parking camper and vehicles.

They advertise a rv garage on campground property. Unless it is an emergency I do not recommend them. We broke our lock on camper door. There was a $58.00 charge just to come walk the 50 feet to our site. We decided to just have it fixed at our garage for much lower fees!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gettysburg Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Campground

Address: 2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Gettysburg Campground Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.